Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it PME Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon June 12, 2004
What are you waiting for? If you are or ever have been a fan of Rob Zombie or White Zombie, grab up this collection fast, it is well worth the price.
Literally, this is a fantastic compilation of Past, Present, and Future hits of the mega monster Rob Zombie. From his beginnings in White Zombie to the present, Zombie has always managed to stay in the slippery groove of industrial metal, and not only flow with the changes in the industry but present himself as a leader of it.
All but three of the songs on this CD have been released previously, but what's nice is having all these favorites together, along with the bonus material. And there is a nice array of guest vocals too, with Iggy Pop showing up in Black Sunshine, Alice Cooper in Hands Of Death, Howard Stern in The Great American Nightmare (Have $eXx With A Headless Body), and Brickhouse 2003 being mostly Lionel Richie with rap-artist Trina showing up for some fun. (and I don't like rap either, but this is a great remix!)
The new songs are Blitzkrieg Bop, Two-Lane Highway, and Girl On Fire; nice additions to the collection.
You get a full CD of tracks from Zombie's career, from White to Rob, and the three brand new songs to boot. You get a great video (and I am not a fan of music videos), including older White Zombie videos you will never see on MTV or VH1, including Demonoid Phenomenon, Return of the Phantom Stranger, and Spookshow Baby, which are not even on the Audio CD. Most music videos are boring, but not Zombie's; so plug the video into your DVD player and have some fun. The videos are inventive and, in my humble opinion, better than his movie, House Of 1000 Corpses.
On top of the audio and visual candy that Zombie holds out to us with his pale fingers, there is a nice visual offering also, in the form of a small booklet of pictures taken of Zombie over his career, from 1985 through the present. This is especially nice for the younger Zombie fans that have not witnessed his amazing visual evolution through the years, while still staying true to his metal-fused industrial rock core.
Whether you are a die-hard Zombie fan like myself, or just beginning to taste the decaying ear candy he offers, this CD will be either a great addition or a great starting point to your musical library. ENJOY!!
0Comment|64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2003
"Greatest Hits" and "Best of" compilations are always made with the casual fan in mind. After all, die-hard fans already own all the artist's albums. When it comes to Rob Zombie, I've always been a casual fan. I've liked what I've heard over the years on the radio, Mtv, and the goth clubs, but not enough to go out and buy his CDs. When I heard about "Past, Present & Future" and what it would come with, I knew that this was the purchase I had to make.
First of all, this collection is an INCREDIBLE value. For under $14 you get a 19-track cd, 10 video DVD, and a thick booklet of awesome photos spanning Rob's whole career. There are some praising but dead-on liner notes from Rob's idol and original shock-rocker, Alice Cooper. The tracks include all the album singles I've heard from both White Zombie and Rob Zombie's solo albums, plus his songs from the House of 1000 Corpses soundtrack and the "Hands of Death" duet with Alice Cooper from the X-Files TV soundtrack. It would have been nice to see more non-album tracks, like the cover of "Children of the Grave" from one of the Black Sabbath tribute albums, "I Am Hell" from the Beavis & Butthead Experience, etc. But I realize that no single compilation is going to please everybody.
The videos on the DVD are really fun to watch. I think even those who aren't fans of Rob Zombie could still appreciate how well they're made. They're a perfect blend of horror, evil imagery, and just the right amount of subtle and colorful humor. You'll cringe, you'll giggle. Rob has a presence that's strong without coming off as pretentious.
I've bought many "Greatest Hits" and "Best of" compilations from bands that I like but am not a die-hard fan of. But out of all of them, the price of this one gives it the greatest value in terms of both physical and musical content.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2003
I've been a fan of White Zombie and Rob Zombie for a long while now, and although I definitely planned on buying this CD, I was not expecting much, seeing as how I have all the CDs. When I purchased it, however, I was blown away.
This album features songs from all of his albums, including two never released, and a few you haven't heard in a while; and a dvd of some of his music videos.
The "music" CD has a good mix of all his work, and my one complaint is that I would've liked if he included a few more songs from White Zombie. But he makes up for it by including some songs that only appeared on movie soundtracks, such as Blitzkrieg Bop, and The Great American Nightmare.
The "videos" DVD has ten music videos including three that were never released, and is a great addition. It is rare to see a White Zombie music video on television, so this DVD is a real treat.
In addition to this CD, I would reccomend White Zombie's La Sexorcisto, if you dont already own it.
This CD is great for someone who wants to, or is just getting into White Zombie or Rob Zombie. It has a good mix of all of Rob Zombie's music, and for what is included in this album, the price is very cheap.
If you are a hardcore fan, then you probably already own this.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 16, 2008
Consider the horror/rock torch passed. Alice Cooper ain't getting any younger and as many bands and artists have tried, there is only one who has proved he has what it takes to take up the mantle. I speak of course of former White Zombie frontman Rob Zombie: heavy metal hero, horror filmmaker, master performer, and all around great guy. Having effectively stolen the musical style and persona of Ministry leader Al Jourgensen and twisted it into a horror-loving metalhead's wet dream, I assumed that the breakup of his talented band would be the last I heard of his harsh untrained vocals. Turns out that he needed White Zombie like Cooper needed his original band. This better-than-impressive career retrospective packs some of his greatest and most popular songs with some lesser-known gems and two never-before-released tunes that are at least as good as anything Zombie has done. As an added bonus, you get 10 must-own music videos full of all the ghouls, crazy beats, robots, psychedelia, heavy guitar, and old-school horror love you crave. It doesn't get better than this for horror/rock fanatics.

With masterpieces like "Black Sunshine" (which features vocals from Iggy Pop), "Super Charger Heaven", and "Superbeast" under his belt, it's pretty much impossible to doubt this guy. With songs paying homage to cult classic cinema like A Clockwork Orange ("Never Gonna Stop") and throwing dialogue samples from classics like Faster Pussycat Kill!..kill! ("Thunder Kiss '65"), The Haunting (Supercharger Heaven"), and Daughters of Darkness (Demonoid Phenomenon", here only in video form) and/or pornographic noises into nearly every song it's hard not to love him. Throw in some horror-fied versions of funk classic "I'm Your Boogeyman" and "Brick House" (a duet with Lionel Richie also featuring rapper Trina) and you've got yourself the perfect rockin' Halloween party album. There are mainstream hits like "Living Dead Girl" and "Dragula" (based on The Munsters car) and obscurities like his team-up with Howard Stern, "The Great American Nightmare", and the irresistably-titled "Pussy Liquor". This album is wall-to-wall quality and a perfect tribute to one of the best frontmen in metal.

The videos are an impressive bonus with only a few complaints. Complaint 1: why is "Demonoid Phenomenon" censored? BOOOOOOO! If you want to shoot a perverse live compilation video of girls flashing the stage: fine. But what is the point if we don't get to see? Complaint 2: the Clockwork Orangey mojo of "Never Gonna Stop (The Red, Red Kroovy)" is somewhat spoiled by the tie-in to the crummy remake of "Rollerball". Double boo! That's the end of the bad. The rest is pure gravy. The "Living Dead Girl" video is based on the film of the same name. Obvious, but cool.

So in spite of the fact that he really can't sing (thank Satan for studio effects!), Rob Zombie has risen to prominence as a legendary rock frontman. In spite of his uncompromising love of independent horror, he has succeeded in Hollywood not once, nor twice, but thrice. Not a bad resume for any career. A career that this set encompasses perfectly in a way that will give both hardcore and casual fans something to scream about. Zombie is arguably horror's first true renaissance man. Long may it continue.
1313 comments|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2004
Rob Zombie is probably the best example of the continuing legacy of Screaming Jay Hawkins, Lord Sutch, Alice Cooper, Black Sabbath, The Cramps, The Misfits, etc... today. These past artists knew that Rock and Horror belonged together. Rob Zombie took influence from them and re-defined Horror Rock his own way. With a Hardcore attitude, Metal riffs, Electro Industrial noise, Samples, Funk grooves, spooky atmosphere, and dance floor beats he created his own peculiar style of Rock. He's one of the very few artists that broke through to the mainstream simply through hard work and just doing what comes naturally. As a Zombie fan since 1992, I still can't understand how his music keeps getting compared to awful garbage like Godsmack, System of a Down, Korn, and rap-metal. Zombie has been around since 1985! Most people don't realize that. White Zombie started out in New York's No-Wave underground scene along with the likes of Lydia Lunch, The Swans, and Sonic Youth. Ever heard of those artists? White Zombie's mix of Punk attitude, and Metal power with Horror imagery got them noticed and signed to a major Label. Zombie was never a product of the music industry. He simply figured out how to appeal to the mainstream as well as the underground, all the while staying true to himself and his art. And to this day there is not one artist that came after Rob that is anything like him. He's his own monster. And no, Rob Zombie is not "Industrial." There is a lot of Industrial influence, but it's Rock & Roll. For pure Industrial music, check out Brighter Death Now, Throbbing Gristle, and Einsturzende Neubauten. Industrial isn't Rock. Most people would argue that it's not even music. Not in a traditional way... but I'm going off on a tangent here. This compilation is a pretty good introduction for those not that familiar with his work. There are some White Zombie tunes, some songs from sountracks and a couple of old school Funk covers. Boogey Man is wonderful, while Brick House would have been much better without the crappy rap section. I personally would have included some more White Zombie tunes, but there probably wouldn't have been enough room on the cd. Plus it's got 30-something pages of cool photos, brief liner notes by Alice Cooper, and a bonus dvd of some White Zombie and Rob Zombie videos. Most of which he directed himself. A great package that's not over-priced. The only problem I see is this: Why didn't they include the video for Electric Head part 2 and Boogieman? Those were two of White Zombie's best videos! Also I didn't care too much for the videos for Superbeast (boring), and Feel so Numb (Way too "typical MTV" for me). Many of the other videos are like short horror films and are fantastic, including wonderful tributes to The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari and Clockwork Orange.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2006
Listening to this album reminds me of flipping through the pages of an old "Famous Monsters of Filmland" magazine. When I hear Rob Zombie, I hear echos of a man enfluenced by Horror Films, Aurora Monster Models, Old "Creepy" and "Eerie" magazines from the 1970's, "The Munsters" and all the old stuff that pop culture threw at kids growing up in the 1960's and 70's. His music contains all those elements mixed up on his palet and comes up with some really interesting and entertaining stuff. The only way I can describe Rob Zombie's music is if you take: Kiss, ZZ-Top, Frank Zappa, Tom Waits and Alice Cooper, throw it in a blender, mix it up and then pour it into a skull shaped mug.
I consider Rob Zombie to be a really fresh and exciting talent that we are going to see alot of quality material come out of in the years to come. He is not only a musician but a film maker, comic-book writer and actually a gifted comic artist.
This album is a definite must for any Heavy Metal "Head Banger" or Horror Film "Geek".
I love the DVD included also. Rob is an outstanding Music Video director and is just bursting with imagination and creativity.
I cant recommend this album enough. Buy it and play it LOUD!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2004
This is a terrific compilation of Zombie works. Although Rob Zombie has not really released enough albums for a best-of, he has also included the best material from his days with White Zombie, so there's plenty of good material to pick from. Zombie's music is excellent industrial-metal, always having a very good beat and solid guitar riffs. The lyrics, of course, are B-horror inspired. They are generally on the repetitive side, but groove very well. Some Zombie songs include spoken audio clips or sound effects, but they fit in nicely. If you're into that style of music, Zombie is a top choice.
The CD is an excellent choice for a casual Zombie fan, as I am. It includes all the songs you're likely to be familiar with from the radio or videos, as well as some from soundtracks and other good tracks. In total, there is 73 minutes of music on here, so one can't complain about the length. All of the songs included are good or great. I use a pc as my primary entertainment system, as well as using a portable mp3 player, so copy protection is also important to me. I had no problems playing or ripping the cd with my pc.
The DVD includes about 40 minutes with 10 videos, including a few previously unreleased ones. The audio and video quality are generally good, with the audio being presented in stereo Dolby Digital. The menus are decent, using various video clips and keeping the B-horror feeling throughout. They allow you to play the videos in order with one option or jump to a particular video from a submenu. Considering it's basically a free extra, this makes the package a superb value.
The set is packaged in a digipak cd case, slightly larger than a standard jewel case. It includes a booklet that has several photos and pieces of Zombie art, including an interesting photo progression showing Rob Zombie's look over the years.
Taken all together, this is a must-buy for anyone interested in Zombie, whether a casual or diehard fan.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2003
Rob Zombie or White Zombie: However you look at it, it's all here. The choice cuts from Rob's career as a musician (well, since being signed by Geffen in '91 anyways) are all in their place. Every hit he had and everything in between, this compilation will satisfy anyone from the die-hard fan to the casual fan. Favorites such as "More Human Than Human," "Dragula" & "Thunderkiss '65" are all on here along with lesser-knowns such as "Supercharger Heaven" and "Black Sunshine." And for anyone who has completed their collection of Rob/White Zombie discs already, there are b-sides such as "Feed The Gods" ('Airheads' soundtrack), "I'm Your Boogeyman" ('Crow: City of Angels' soundtrack), the Howard Stern collaboration "Great American Nightmare" ('Private Parts' soundtrack) and plenty more. We are also treated to two brand new Rob Zombie cuts, "Two Lane Blacktop" and "Girl On Fire" which fit in perfectly with the rest of the Zombie catalogue and are hopefully a prelude to a new Zombie album. And, as if all of this wasn't enough, we get a bonus DVD with the greatest video hits and 3 unreleased videos from the 'Hellbilly Deluxe' album ("Demonoid Phenomenon," "Return of the Phantom Stranger" and "Spookshow Baby"). Nineteen tracks deep and a DVD with ten music videos, you just cannot go wrong with this collection. If you are or ever were a fan, you owe it to yourself to pick up this album. There is not one second of filler and for once with a Greatest Hits compilation, there is nothing that is left behind.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon September 23, 2003
A career retrospective of Rob Zombie? How could you resist? Throw in 19 tracks - some never released, and a bonus DVD that brings it all together. I never thought of Rob as radio friendly, and I was sort of skeptical of bringing in a hits collection. But with guest stints from Iggy Pop and Alice Cooper, and the videos it all makes perverse sense! Best of all most of the tracks are the album cuts - no annoying remixes anywhere. There's nothing quite like Rob Zombie! Many imitators, but he's this generation's true shock rocker. The songs are catchy as hell, the images are disturbing, and the ride is worth the price of admission! Even if you're like me and you have most of the albums the way they have engineered this album it progresses very well. And you have many tracks from soundtracks like "BRICK HOUSE" from HOUSE OF 1000 CORPSES and "THE GREAT AMERICAN NIGHTMARE" from PRIVATE PARTS. Unreleased tracks include "GIRL ON FIRE" and "TWO LANE BLACKTOP". In a word - AWESOME!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2003
It's not often that an artist delivers so much in a "hits" package, but "Rob Zombie" has done just that. It's ALL here. The "White Zombie" classics "Thunderkiss 65'" and "More Human Than Human". The "Rob Zombie" cuts "Dragula" and "Living Dead Girl". The soundtrack songs "I'm Your Boogieman" and "The Great American Nightmare". The covers "Brickhouse 2003" and "Blitzkrieg Bop". Plus, two NEW songs and more. All that music, AND a DVD full of 10 videos, and a picture book! I wish everybody put together a collection like this one. If your looking for your first, or only "Rob Zombie" disc, this should be the one. It will go great with your "Ministry", "Alice Cooper", and "My Life With The Thrill Kill Kult" cd's.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse