Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For More Than Dummies
Most of the pastel books I've read (and I've read quite a few) tend to be skimpy when it comes to technique. Essentially, you're shown one way of using the material, and that's about all. "Pastels for Dummies" takes the reader through a variety of applications, including the use of water with pastel, various blending techniques, layering methods, and so forth. In...
Published on February 13, 2010 by StudioFA

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for beginners.
It was ok. I wish it had covered the topic of framing pastels in more depth. Pastels have to be framed a little different than other mediums of art and the book didn't say much about it. It also didn't go into any depth about the different papers and what color of paper to use for different subjects.
Published 9 months ago by Becky J. Hubbard


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For More Than Dummies, February 13, 2010
This review is from: Pastels For Dummies (Paperback)
Most of the pastel books I've read (and I've read quite a few) tend to be skimpy when it comes to technique. Essentially, you're shown one way of using the material, and that's about all. "Pastels for Dummies" takes the reader through a variety of applications, including the use of water with pastel, various blending techniques, layering methods, and so forth. In addition, it covers important information about an effective studio setup when using the material - a subject which is poorly broached in many other texts.

The explanations in this book are clear, concise, fun, and easy to follow. The "fun" part is important...if you actually want to enjoy yourself while you're learning. However useful they may be, the majority of art-instruction texts I've read are written like product manuals. You get useful instructions, but you need coffee to stay awake while you're reading them. This book was refreshingly enjoyable and easy-going.

If you're looking to learn about this wonderful medium, or want to add to the knowledge you already possess, this book is sure to please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you!, July 2, 2010
By 
Atheen (Snowflake, Arizona) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pastels For Dummies (Paperback)
Oh boy! Finally a comprehensive manual on pastel drawing. Not only is this book easy to read, but it's practically delicious. The images are luscious with color and marks that are easily read.

Novices, if you want to be inspired and learn about art/drawing/color, check this little yellow book out. Adept artists, if you wonder what a "Dummies" book could have for you, prepare to be delighted.

After years of appreciating and producing art, I found myself chuckling at the writing style and being amazed how it fits so well into creating a real page turner. Prepare to hit the nearest art supply store if you start reading this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full Color, September 29, 2010
This review is from: Pastels For Dummies (Paperback)
I found this book to be an overabundant resource for, not only Pastels, but also for insights to apply to drawing with any medium. I very much appreciated links to websites, history of materials. Sharing knowledge such as resources for materials is like gold for artists. I appreciate the approach of simplicity, preparedness and then action. Even for myself, having much experience in drawing with pastels, the suggested assignments were extra thoughtful. The assignments cover all the basic elements of design, experimentation with the medium, as well as subtle actions that will have you looking at everything as either something you want to visually represent or use as source material for the next art work.

All in all, I feel deftly informed and no longer a DUMMIES®
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pastels for Dummies, February 22, 2011
By 
K. Bryson (Palmdale, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pastels For Dummies (Paperback)
A wonderful guide to using pastels. I've not used them before and this book certainly helped get me started. Thank you...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Complete Guide that is exactly that., April 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pastels For Dummies (Paperback)
As one only recently introduced to the art of pastel painting I need all the help I can get, and this book provides it! Written in easy to understand language, it covers all aspects and is arranged so that the beginner can access advice quickly and easily besides covering more advanced techniques and hints for those with more skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good for the technique, July 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pastels For Dummies (Kindle Edition)
Perhaps, it is one the "most" complete book for pastel techniques. When you have to realize that for only 20 dollars, a teacher will not disclose all the trick of the trade. Once you realize that truth then this book serves the purpose. The dummies series books cover decently the essentials of the topic discussed and this book is no exception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for beginners., December 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pastels For Dummies (Paperback)
It was ok. I wish it had covered the topic of framing pastels in more depth. Pastels have to be framed a little different than other mediums of art and the book didn't say much about it. It also didn't go into any depth about the different papers and what color of paper to use for different subjects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I'd hoped. . ., May 11, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pastels For Dummies (Paperback)
I had previewed this using Kindle and then purchased the full version as print based on that preview. The book does have some interesting tips for beginners and deals in some aspects of basic drawing as well as use of pastels, but I found the small page and half section on Oil Pastels to be quite poor in my opinion (puts them down and discourages use). . . I happen to love oil pastels and know some outstanding professional oil pastel artists. So be aware that it mainly only deals with chalk pastels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book is perfect for the beginner, July 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pastels For Dummies (Kindle Edition)
I am just beginning to draw and use pastels. This book is perfect for the beginner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, March 10, 2013
This review is from: Pastels For Dummies (Paperback)
I think one is nice to have, just not as your only pastel book. It does seem to have some information that I haven't seen in my other books, but not as good as far as pictures and visual examples go. I'm pleased with it overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Pastels For Dummies
Pastels For Dummies by Anita Marie Giddings
$13.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.