Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon $5 Albums Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Subscribe & Save Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer ctstrph2 ctstrph2 ctstrph2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 4, 2014
Many call this game the spiritual successor to Diablo II and I have to agree. With a skill tree that has upwards of 1,300 nodes, the potential for differing builds is near limitless.

PROS:
Microtransactions that don't give players any sort of advantage and help the game developers (even the stash tabs are a convenience item as players could create multiple accounts).
Unique items are well balanced and the economy / crafting system is pure genius.
he gameplay is beautiful, if a little demanding on graphics cards (you can tune down graphics to have it run on anything from +/- last five years).
Updates / developer involvement like no other game out there today.
Support that will make any other support you are dealing with seem inefficient and evil.

CON:
About the only con I can think of for the game is the desync issue. Grinding Gear Games have opted to have the game calculations be run server side to avoid hacking. This causes at times a disconnect between what you see on screen and what actually happened in game. At points like these, you could be taking damage when on your own screen there are no monsters around (when really, on the server, monsters are close enough to attack you). GGG has improved the desync but it has not been completely solved yet. However, this issue is at most worth -.5 stars.
22 comments|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2014
Path of Exile is the absolute best of all the hack and slash games out there right now... and it's completely free!

First of all, this is the best kind of free. The only things being sold do not affect gameplay at all. You can buy some alternate art for some weapons/armor/skills or a dance animation for your characters. You don't need to spend a dime to play the entire game forever (but once you realize how awesome it is you will want to give Grinding Gear Games your money anyway).

As far as the gameplay itself... it has the most incredible skill system I've ever seen. Every skill is on a gem that you socket into your equipment. This means any class can use any skill. On top of that you can link support gems to skill gems to modify the skill. For example, you can cast a fireball with a fireball skill gem and it will shoot out one fireball that explodes for area damage. You can support it with Greater Multiple Projectiles to shoot a spread of 5 fireballs that all explode for area damage. You could alternately support it with Fork so that you shoot a fireball that splits into 2 fireballs when it hits an enemy. You could combine all 3 to shoot a spread of 5 fireballs that all split into 2 fireballs when they hit an enemy... That's just a small example, there are dozens of skills that can be combined in all kinds of ways!

On top of that you have a giant passive skill tree (about 1350 passives) that let you customize your characters in any way you want. This includes anything from the simple +10 Strength up to the keystone passives that have drastic effects on your character (such as Blood Magic which removes the need for mana and makes all of your skills cost life to use instead). Building a character in this game is incredibly fun and offers a ton of options.

One of my favorite things is the race system. Several times a day there are races in which players create new characters and have typically an hour or so (races range from 12 minutes to 1 week with 1 hour being the most common) to reach the highest level they can. Players earn points based on the level they achieve with bonus points awarded to those in the top 20 overall/within their class or for being the first to complete specific objectives like the first to kill certain bosses. The points accumulate over a full season (about 2 months) and earn you Unique items as rewards.

The final thing I'll mention is that there is no money/gold in the game. There are currency items that you use for buying/selling/trading. These items all have different uses ranging from identifying items to modifying the stats on items to changing sockets on items and more. It's a very interesting way of handling currency in a game.

If you enjoy hack and slash games at all, you owe it to yourself to play Path of Exile.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2014
I've been dying for a game with this much darkness and depth ever since Diablo2 started fizzling. I've been playing this game for over a year now, and I see no signs of slowing down. Unlike most games, it is getting much, much better with age. If you're on the fence about trying it, just do it! It's free and it isn't pay to win! Keep it going, GGG!
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2014
if you were a fan of diablo 2, your missing out if you dont already play this. dont waste anymore time reading reviews, just GET IT.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2014
Since the game is free to play I think buying points is the perfect way to appreciate the outstanding work GGG has done here.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2014
This game has incredible depth and the potential for hundreds of hours of fun. I have many characters at end game stats and haven't used half of the skills the game makes available. There are literally thousands of viable build combinations! The gameplay is fun and challenging for an ARPG. There's nothing more satisfying than seeing 40 enemies sprint towards you on screen and laying down a massive wave of fire to burn them to a crisp as they try to reach you. GGG is a wonderful company with good customer service and great responsiveness to player wants and needs. The game's free, so try it out. I would recommend a look at the forums if you want to have a successful first character, but pretty much any build can make it into merciless (think ng++) without too much issue.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2014
This is absolutely THE action RPG to play at the moment and in the near future. Vast passive skill tree, innovative active skill system, some items made by the legendary Brother Laz (Median XL fans unite!)... Just play the game, decide GGG need your support and buy some points to spend on awesome swag items ingame!
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2015
I played all versions of Diablo and Guild Wars and really like PoE a lot. I found Diablo III a bit limiting in what you could do and was disappointed that you really couldn't do much to decide how to play your character or what skills you wanted to develop further. In PoE, I feel like it takes many of the best features of the Diablo games and adds in its own flavor. You still have a choice a of different types of characters, but you don't choose gender. I really liked the customization of the PoE skill tree and the ability to add and remove gems to completely customize how your character plays out. You can choose which attributes to develop, like dexterity, strength, etc. and you can choose what spells/customizations you want to your weapons and armor. You have 2 different weapon sets and you can choose what spells/attacks you want on your hotkeys. You can play the game completely solo or join in a group to complete missions and gain more XP. Unfortunately the game isn't all that long just yet, but I believe the game developers are continuing to work on it. If you like Diablo or Guild Wars or both, I would highly recommend trying PoE. It's free and you can't advance by buying your way to victory. It's really free!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2014
Must play for anyone who enjoys AARPG games. Depths of build customizations, interesting visuals, and micro transactions are ethical and do not give any in-game advantage. The work the developers put in this game is ridiculous and they care about the community. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2014
I have been playing this game on and off since the closed Beta. I have loved all the updates, community, and the developers. I think this game is the closest we get to an ARPG in the current generation. While the game is intense and deep, I found it takes a long time to get really good at building and playing. The points packs are worth the money because you can get more stash space. You always need the stash space in this game. I will come back to the game at some point in the future when another act arrives.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.