Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Path of Thunder
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 29, 2010
CIA analyst James Marshall is given some startling news: long time friend and former Naval Academy classmate Steve Kranzer has been killed while on a mission in Eastern Europe. The CIA sends Marshall to the small breakaway province of Azerbaijan to find out what happened. While there, he makes uncovers a conspiracy to capitalize on oil found in the Caspian Sea along Azerbaijan's coast. Marshall makes contact with the daughter of the man Kranzer had been in communication with at the time of his death: an archeologist who had discovered oil in an isolated cave. China and Iran had both gotten wind of this discovery and were planning to take the oil from themselves. As if that weren't enough, the largely Muslim population is struggling to become independent and democratic. Marshall must find away to preserve the oil for the people of Azerbaijan and prevent war.

Path of Thunder is the first installment in Mike Green's Peacemaker series. The novel features CIA analyst James Marshall in search of the person who killed a long-time friend. The author uses his own background as an intelligence officer to create a very realistic picture of the current cultural and political climate of Eastern Europe. The plot is an engaging blend of greed and cultural discontent, all revolving around the discovery of one of the most valuable substances on earth and what countries are willing to do to control it. I love to read novels like Path of Thunder which involve international conspiracies and this book reads as if it could have been pulled straight from the headlines of the WSJ. I look forward to the sequel and give this book two thumbs up.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2009
Like action?
Get Path of Thunder.

Path of Thunder could easily stand-in for a current, hard-news newspaper series exposing international greed between competing world powers. Although China and Iran seemingly are acting in concert to exploit a massive underground oil reserve, it quickly becomes apparent that each is striving to dominate the world economic stage by reaching the reserves first.

Fueled by revenge for the brutal killing of his best friend and fellow CIA analyst Steve Kranzer, James Marshall's mission is to discover why Kranzer and an obscure Italian archeologist were attacked and murdered in the streets of Baku, Azerbaijan.

Pursuing leads, Marshall forms improbable alliances with several remarkable characters; a Japanese Special Forces officer with samurai-wielding skills, a larger-than-life ex-patriate Texan whose cache of artillery matches his braggadocio, a Gung-Ho marine with a die-hard attitude and the beautiful Aria, who unwittingly holds the answer to why Kranzer and her archeologist father were brutally murdered.

Fast-paced with crisp dialogue, Mike Green has written a first-rate, compelling story woven against a backdrop of U.S. Defense and CIA operational capabilities, action-oriented villains and heroes, imperialistic world powers and historical, political and legal issues that continue to challenge modern-day Azerbaijan.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2010
The story involves China trying to advance its interests by securing access to a new oil source, Iran trying to advance its interests by expanding the domination of radical muslims, and their "pawn" trying to use his dubious political status to use them for his own ends before usurping the power and profit afforded by the situation. Along the way a few good guys are killed which introduces the protagonists. It was good to see the bad guys go down. The story is a pretty good thriller and the story is essentially believable. I was a bit surprised by the ending which I felt undermined much of the premise of the tale. I also did not like the way the book was physically presented. But all in all I enjoyed reading it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2009
PATH OF THUNDER by Mike Green

This is an intelligence thriller that I suspect is autobiographical in many ways given the author's years in the intelligence community. It is a gripping story and certainly a topical one given the Iranian striving for nuclear weapons, China's expanding economy and desperate need for petroleum products, and the Muslim desire to re-establish a world caliphate. Green does an excellent job of telling his story. It is a good read and in my opinion think he will soon equal Clancy and Griffin in his appeal to readers. I eagerly await the sequel.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2009
I have just finished reading Path of Thunder, and literally couldn't put it down! Author, Mike Green, expertly moves the plot along using all the weapons in his writing arsenal. His background in Naval Intelligence and time spent in the Middle East provide a solid foundation for this tense and exciting first book of a planned trilogy. The subject matter is not only exciting but timely and thought-provoking. If you like action and adventure, you will love this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2009
Mike Green's first book "Path of Thunder" is a real page-turner based on his career as a U.S. Navy captain in Middle Eastern countries. It's colorful and rich in history and generates awareness of things going on in the mid-east, including the refugee situation. The timely thriller has intriguing elements, such as a global oil conspiracy involving China and Iran,a Saddam Hussein-like bad guy, and of course, a beautiful woman for a romantic note.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2009
Mike Green had me hooked in the opening chapter. His years of service to his country are apparent in the details of his writings. The story line and different sub plots are intriguing and vivid. This book is an absolute must for all associated with the military and intelligence community. At the same time, if you are a fan of action adventure you will be on the edge of your seat as well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2009
Found the book to be well written and enjoyed the up's and down's of the various charaters and sometime the suspense of the action to come. Liked this book very much and do recommend it to one and all, however, I believe Military people will find much to excite them as places and people mentioned are those we see and meet in our active duty status.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2009
The two things I like best about the book are the characters and the settings. Mr. Green has the uncanny ability to shape and weave the character's into a plot that seamlessly holds your interest as you turn page after page.

Exhilarating story of sacrifice for a friend and a found new love. A great read, I'd recommend it to everyone I know.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2009
In his debut novel, Path of Thunder, career intelligence office, Mike Green, has created a fast-paced spy novel that leaves the reader wondering what is real and what is fiction. I read it cover-to-cover...twice and then determined that I need to learn more about the geopolitics of this region. Path of Thunder is a great read!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.