Dr. Patrick Walsh's Guide to Surviving Prostate Cancer
 
 
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.

Used - Very Good | See details
Sold by B. R. Media.
Access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.
 
   
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Tell the Publisher!
I'd like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Dr. Patrick Walsh's Guide to Surviving Prostate Cancer [Hardcover]

Patrick C. Walsh , Janet Farrar Worthington
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (48 customer reviews)


Available from these sellers.


Best Books of 2014

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover --  
Paperback --  
Hero Quick Promo
12 Days of Kindle Book Deals
Load your library with Amazon's editors' picks, $2.99 or less each today only. Learn more

Book Description

August 28, 2001
In 2001 an estimated 31,900 American men will die of prostate cancer, and more than 184,000 will be diagnosed with the disease. But now there is earlier diagnosis and better treatment as the medical establishment makes progress towards defeating this illness. This guide covers every aspect of prostate cancer, from potential causes, including diet, to tests for diagnosis, curative treatment and innovative means of controlling advanced stages of cancer. It also addresses the sensitive issues of impotence and incontinence after surgery, tells men what to look for in a surgeon, and features a section on alternative medicine.


Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

Walsh, professor of urology at Johns Hopkins University, and Worthington, a medical writer, offer a thorough guide to one of the most frightening diseases for men. Starting with an explanation of how the prostrate works surprisingly, it's not an essential organ Walsh then discusses why prostate cancer is prevalent in the U.S. and other developed Western countries, but not in Asia. He also detail the reasons men develop prostate cancer, including age, race, family history and diet. The book describes a variety of symptoms, some of which indicate ailments other than cancer, and what steps should be taken to get a proper diagnosis. Complete with diagrams and charts detailing the results of biopsy, the book provides an exceptionally complete (albeit worrisome, for squeamish readers) overview of the disease. Many of these details not taking aspirin prior to a biopsy, taking antibiotics ahead of time should obviously be included in the information doctors routinely provide to patients, but given the state of today's medical system, having such information available in this ready guide is useful and reassuring. Similarly comprehensive and easy-to-understand explanations are provided for surgical and other types of treatment, side effects, postsurgical complications and more, as well as a glossary of medical terms, along with a brief resource section. While people shouldn't use this book as a substitute for a medical check-up, it is one of the best all-inclusive books on this subject. All men and their loved ones battling or concerned about prostate cancer should read this book.

Copyright 2001 Cahners Business Information, Inc.

From Booklist

Urologist-surgeon Walsh has long striven to improve the prostatectomy, so that men undergoing it run the least possible risk of postoperative incontinence and impotence. Worthington is well acquainted with prostate cancer because of her previous collaboration with Walsh, The Prostate (1993), and the illnesses of her late father-in-law and her father. In this hefty updating of the earlier book, they speak with authority as well as with ordinary reader friendliness. Each of 12 long chapters treats one aspect of the prostate, its diseases, and their treatments, and each begins with a summary of its contents entitled "Read This First." Fully expecting the book to be browsed, Walsh and Worthington also list each chapter's topical subheadings at its offset. More prostate cancer is being reported every year, thanks to rapid recent progress in detecting the disease, and many more men are being cured of it, thanks to rapidly improving treatments. Those bits of breaking news mandate adding the book to any collection patronized by men and the women who care about them. Ray Olson
Copyright © American Library Association. All rights reserved

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 488 pages
  • Publisher: Warner Books; 1st edition (August 28, 2001)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0446526401
  • ISBN-13: 978-0446526401
  • Product Dimensions: 6.2 x 1.5 x 9.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.7 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (48 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,461,609 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
5 of 0 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surviving Prostate Cancer April 18, 2007
Format:Paperback
This book was recommended by our doctor, as my husband had been diagnosted with prostate cancer. We found it to be the best information on the subject. It gave us a comprehensive explaination of the procedures and results to be expected. It filled in questions even the doctors did not cover.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read book! August 25, 2003
By A Customer
Format:Paperback
This book is a must-read for anyone who has a prostate or knows someone who does! It provides complete, up-to-date information on all aspects of the prostate. The chapters are organized so that you can read the material that is most applicable to your situation. It answers any type of question that you may have - from prevention to the treatment of common prostate problems. The material is presented in a compassionate, caring way by a doctor who has dedicated his career to saving lives and to helping patients maintain their quality of life.
Dr. Patrick Walsh is urologist-in-chief at Johns Hopkins whose urology department was ranked #1 in the country in a recent U.S. News & World Report analysis. Dr. Walsh is also known for his pioneering work in the development of the anatomic approach to radical prostatectomy, which involves nerve-sparing techniques that have reduced the possibility of impotence and incontinence. This procedure is widely regarded as the "gold standard" for prostate cancer treatment. So, the information in this book is simply the best available material on this subject.
Does the book always recommend radical prostatectomy surgery? Definitely not! It offers useful information on radiation -- both external-beam and radioactive seed treatments. It discusses the use of hormone treatments. It helps you sort out which procedure is right for your situation. It also covers basic information about the prostate, prostate enlargement and prostate infections.
Perhaps most importantly, it provides tips on maintaining a healthy prostate and testing procedures for detecting prostate cancer. And if prostate cancer is caught early enough, the book emphasizes that it is completely curable.
A must-read book for all men and for the people who care about them!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
81 of 92 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Read with careful consideration October 26, 2004
Format:Paperback
Be aware that there are essentially equal but very different approaches to treating various stages of prostate cancer. You will find dramatically different points of view (all well supported with nearly equal pros and cons in the medical literature). The major treatments are surgery, radiation therapy, and hormone therapy. This author is a surgeon and this book is biased toward surgical intervention. Please be aware that radiation therapy (either IMRT external beam or brachytherapeutic seed implants) is a popular choice and that serious advanced prostate cancer can often be shut down with hormone therapy. To be fair to yourself, you need to consider ALL options and become well informed on all of them before you choose because you only get one opportunity to choose. What is done is done and cannot be undone or revised.

I have prostate cancer myself, so this is a first person review of this book. I won't tell you what my choice was because your choice needs to be what is right for you, not what someone else convinces you was right for them!
Was this review helpful to you?
31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
Format:Paperback
When my significant other announced that he had prostate cancer, the shock and fear riveted through me. I decided that we were at war with cancer and every step we took would determine Tom's fate(not his real name for his privacy.)My next step was to learn everything I could about the disease and available treatments. Tom was ready to follow any direction his urologist advised without any research. I believe that anyone facing cancer, owes it to themselves to understand the type of cancer they have, their options, and the consquences of the treatment course they choose. Dr. Walsh's book provides all of the above.

His book was by far the most detailed, current, and progressive of the dozen that I reviewed. Key points included nerve sparing techinics to prevent impotence and incontinence, clear explanations of all present treatment options, with objective listings of pros and cons. By the time we started the interviewing process, I was armed with advanced information that allowed me to ask key questions which helped us decide if the Dr. being interviewed was up-to-date enough to get the results we wanted and had a successful track record, which included - Complete cancer removal,as well as Tom remaining continent and potent(able to have/maintain an erection at the level he had prior to surgery). We selected Dr. Bradley Thrasher, at KU Medical Center, because he uses Dr. Walsh's surgical techinics. Without, Dr. Walsh's book as a guide, Tom, would have elected seeding, because it was the least invasive procedure and was recommended by his urlogist. Instead, Tom, went for the gold standard, had his prostate and glands removed, and has had a complete recovery.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have for PCa Victim November 30, 2002
Format:Paperback
At 46 I was diagnosed with prostate cancer (PCa), a disease that grows in men my age at an accelerated rate, and a disease that took my father at 50. The shock was tremendous. I opted for radical prostatectomy and denial. My wife, on the other hand, read Dr. Walsh's first book "The Prostate: A Guide for Men and the Women Who Love Them." I cured my denial in time to read his newer book "Guide to Surviving Prostate Cancer." Both books are extremely informative and have gone a very, very long way in helping me with coping with this disease and understanding that it does not have to be terminal and that even if it is, I can live a much longer life than I fretted over. In the newsgroups I now attend, it is considered by most to be THE definitive work on prostate cancer.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars
Well written and informative. Friends with prostate problems have borrowed it.
Published 1 month ago by John Hart
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Great deal
Published 2 months ago by robert storm
5.0 out of 5 stars One of every two men will need to read this book
If your Urologist does not recommend you to read this book when you are diagnosed with prostate cancer, get a new urologist. Read more
Published 10 months ago by John P Harkins
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative
My husband has been diagnosed with prostate cancer. His urologist recommended we pick up this book. It has a lot of good information. The service was also excellent. Thanks.
Published 15 months ago by M. dianne Brant
2.0 out of 5 stars Dr Walsh's Guide to Surviving Prostate Cancer.
Dr Walsh is a very good doctor and probably an excellent surgeon. He suggests surgery as the "gold standard" for prostate cancer. Read more
Published 16 months ago by Arthur C. O'Neil
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought 3 copies
Every middle aged may needs to read this book - I gave it to people I love because this is written by the guy that the best prostate surgery procedure is named after. Read more
Published 18 months ago by Jeffrey H. Taylor
5.0 out of 5 stars It's what I was looking for.
My doctor advised me to purchase it.
It is what I needed, given that I had prostate cancer.
So I'm satisfied.
Published 19 months ago by Roger Smith
5.0 out of 5 stars Dr. Patrick Walsh's Guide to Surviving Prostate Cancer
Very pleased with purchase - excellent book - but - at this point needs to be updated to meet 2013 guidelines.
Published 20 months ago by Stan Freeman
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Dr. Patrick Walsh's Guide to surviving prostate cancer
This book is great, I would recommend it to anyone who is facing issues with being diagnosed with prostate cancer. Very informative and concise.
Published 22 months ago by FD
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Helpful when Facing Prostrate Surgery
A must for anyone who is facing prostate surgery----Dr. Patrick Walsh will get you through a very difficult time. Read more
Published 22 months ago by Cookie Berger
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only





Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 



Look for Similar Items by Category