Customer Reviews


187 Reviews
5 star:
 (158)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


122 of 126 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It Just Keeps Getting Better
Although there are more Patsy Cline remasters and compilations than you can count (over 200 with Amazon), this one has the best sound. Maybe because it has the newest technology, but remastering is as much art as science, and Doug Schwartz is one of the best. Compliments to him for a terrific job. The voice track stands out better from the music tracks and has an...
Published on October 10, 2004 by W. Patch

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Patsy Cline-The Definitve Collection
Liked song selection, but audio quality is lacking. Sounds flat, and I played it on good CD Player! Would not recommend!
Published 23 months ago by Wayne Hughes


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

122 of 126 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It Just Keeps Getting Better, October 10, 2004
This review is from: Patsy Cline - The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Although there are more Patsy Cline remasters and compilations than you can count (over 200 with Amazon), this one has the best sound. Maybe because it has the newest technology, but remastering is as much art as science, and Doug Schwartz is one of the best. Compliments to him for a terrific job. The voice track stands out better from the music tracks and has an amazing amount of detail and reality.

And the voice, of course, is the standard of what country music is all about. Whether it's the lament of "Leaving on Your Mind" or the oldest standard, "Always", no one could wrap around a song and put more into it/get more out of it than she did. Simply and without anything extra. No matter how many or few of her albums you have, buy this one to discover a new presence to her voice and fall in love with her again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Patsy made female country singers acceptable, September 27, 2004
This review is from: Patsy Cline - The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Patsy set the standard for female country singers, with many of those that followed trying (or so it seemed) to be the next Patsy Cline - even today, over forty years after her death in a plane crash. Many compilations are available but most of them seem to miss something important. Not this one - all of Patsy's classic songs can be found here.

Crazy was a top ten pop hit in America and (in 1990) a top twenty hit in Britain. Heartaches was Patsy's first American top forty pop hit. Don Gibson wrote Sweet dreams and had a big country hit with it, but once Patsy recorded it, it became much more popular and will be forever thought of as a Patsy Cline song. She's got you was an American top twenty pop hit and was also Patsy's first British hit, albeit only a minor one I fall to pieces was yet another top twenty pop hit in America. Walking after midnight is the song that began it all for Patsy in the fifties. Poor man's roses, Back in baby's arms and Leaving on your mind are other Patsy classics included here. Faded love, a cover of a Bob Wills song that, like Sweet dreams, is regarded as a Patsy Cline classic despite being a cover.

Also here are Patsy's fine interpretations of Lovesick blues, Half as much (Hank Williams), True Love (Bing Crosby), San Antonio rose (Bob Wills), Always (written by Irving Berlin) and many other fine songs.

If you just want one CD of Patsy's music, make it this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It Doesn't Get Better Than This, November 16, 2004
This review is from: Patsy Cline - The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Whether you love classic country music or hate it, whether you were there to hear Patsy sing "Walkin' After Midnight" in 1957 or saw the movie "Sweet Dreams" OR just discovered her, this is a compilation that will not let you down. This Winchester, Virginia, native thrilled the music world like no other and continues to do so, long after her untimely death in a plane crash with country singers Hawkshaw Hawkins and Cowboy Copas. Patsy could make her voice break and thus break our hearts with her soulful rendering of songs written (and often recorded) by some of country music's greatest. Consider "Sweet Dreams" (Don Gibson), "Crazy" (Willie Nelson), "I Fall to Pieces", "She's Got You", "Why Can't He Be You?" (Hank Cochran), "Back in Baby's Arms" (Bob Montgomery whose life has been rich in "country", including a pre-Crickets duo with Buddy Holly), "Faded Love" (co-written by Bob Wills of Texas Playboys fame), "Leavin' On Your Mind" (co-written by country/honky tonk great Webb Pierce) and "Always" by one of the all-time great composers of American standards, Irving Berlin. If you want just one Patsy Cline CD, this is probably the one for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Timeless Treasure, August 26, 2004
By 
Scott Logan (Dallas, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Patsy Cline - The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
The Definitive Collection if definitively great!!! I have heard Crazy and Walking after Midnight occasionally during my life and always enjoyed them, but recently decided to find out more about this incredible lady. To say her voice is mesmerizing would be an understatement! It's obvious after hearing her songs on this cd why she continues to win new fans today and will continue to do so for many years to come.

Floyd Cramer on piano and the Jordanaires singing back up help take you back to a classic time in music.

This cd is so refreshing when compared to what we have to choose from the modern music scene.

For those of you who don't listen to country music ( that would be me! ), don't let that deter you from buying this cd. These tracks are much more than any simple music categorization. Take a walk back in time. You will be glad you did!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Collection, August 29, 2006
This review is from: Patsy Cline - The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
This is a terrific collection with a wide range of songs from one of the most spectacular voices the music industry has ever heard. Patsy Cline's gorgeous voice and the emotion she put into her songs makes them heartbreaking to listen to, or if an upbeat song, especially fun to listen to. She just can't be topped. I only wish there were a Patsy Cline Christmas album available. I highly recommend this CD to any Patsy Cline or country music fan. Great selection of hit songs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than today's queens of country., April 25, 2005
By 
H3@+h "Over 1500 reviews!" (thanks for the helpful review votes) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Patsy Cline - The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Her couple 12 track "Greatest Hits" albums are indeed great, but this is truly the definitive collection of Patsy Cline. 22 remastered tracks in all, that sound even better than you remember. If you're searching for THE female voice in classic country, search no more. I enjoy every song here, but the stand-outs surely are "I Fall To Pieces", "Walkin' After Midnight", "Back In Baby's Arms", and of course "Crazy". If today's country radio sounded this good, I might still listen to it. These songs are wonderful to play around the house, with your kids, and especially with your "True Love". Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great collection!, November 9, 2006
By 
Alvin Bragg (Frewsburg, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Patsy Cline - The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
I looked for awhile to find a colllection that included almost all the songs I remembered from my younger days. This CD pretty well does that. I have heard a lot of imitators over the years, but no one has come very close to her great style and sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFUL!!!, January 16, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Patsy Cline - The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
This collection is "wonderful". Also, try to see the live show, "Always....Patsy Cline" when it comes to your area. The show is much more than just singing as a "fan" tells the story of her supposed "involvment" with Patsy. Both this CD and the show are "the greatest!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh all right it's fantastic!, July 27, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Patsy Cline - The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Bearing in mind I absolutely and passionately love Patsy's Greatest Hits album, this one comes a very close second. You will need Greatest Hits for the ideal version of "Walkin' After Midnight", an improvement on the original included here.

Patsy's vocal persona was one of wounded, obsessional devotion. "Crazy" is indeed her theme song. With ten more tracks to share her unbalanced dedication, all of which are well worth inclusion, you just have all that much longer to enjoy her. Bear in mind I have only listened once, I feel confident the entire contents will form an essential part of my listening regime.

As a vehicle for demonstrating Patsy's incomparable communicative powers, this CD is probably the best you can get. Greatest Hits is pure refined gold, this one is an entire gold mine. Start digging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great buy, February 11, 2006
By 
Jess "Jess" (Coal Country, PA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Patsy Cline - The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Here's 22 songs by one of Country Music's greatest women. While not as traditional as Kitty Wells or the younger Loretta Lynn, noone could deliver a song quite like Patsy. This album contains 22 ORIGINAL Patsy recordings, and there's not a bad one in the bunch. Best of all, the price cannot be beat. Break out your wallet and grab this one while you can. A+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Patsy Cline - The Definitive Collection
Patsy Cline - The Definitive Collection by Patsy Cline (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.