Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Visual Feast
This book is a visual feast of contemporary pattern design. It provides inspirational information about contemporary design trends divided into five style categories including "Conversational, Abstract, Retro, Geometric, and Organic Patterns." I especially like the book's cover featuring the blue and black butterflies contrasted against the vibrant yellow background...
Published on June 14, 2009 by Carol L. Borst

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
The cover is fun. It's a great size, but the content leaves a lot to be desired. The reproductions are poor. Many of the images are so small I can barely make out what they are. Some are not even patterns, just pictures. Although the book is full of images, there are only a few artists represented and their work is shown over and over (not the kind of pattern I was...
Published on May 7, 2008 by Helen Brown


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, May 7, 2008
By 
Helen Brown (Boston, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The cover is fun. It's a great size, but the content leaves a lot to be desired. The reproductions are poor. Many of the images are so small I can barely make out what they are. Some are not even patterns, just pictures. Although the book is full of images, there are only a few artists represented and their work is shown over and over (not the kind of pattern I was seeking). And the commentary is useless at best. This is not a book of the great work that is being done out there in the design world. Having said all that, there are some lovely patterns and interesting ideas here. I just wish I didn't have to work so hard to find them and learn from them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful images, more text please!, May 4, 2008
This book has few words and many patterns. There are five sections, each devoted to a different type of pattern. Although I found I only really consistently liked the conversational, retro and organic patterns, I thought the range of different patterns and different mediums (digital, textile, hand-drawn, etc) was great. It would have been nice to have a little more information on how each subset of patterns has been developing, what the patterns themselves are used for, who some of the major players are and other relevant information.

The physical package itself is very attractive, compact, has a good weight and feel and lovely paper stock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Visual Feast, June 14, 2009
This book is a visual feast of contemporary pattern design. It provides inspirational information about contemporary design trends divided into five style categories including "Conversational, Abstract, Retro, Geometric, and Organic Patterns." I especially like the book's cover featuring the blue and black butterflies contrasted against the vibrant yellow background.

Patterns: New Surface Design
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD JOB!!!, December 3, 2007
Loved this book! Tons of images and references for inspiration! Every time I see it, I discover something new!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Patterns, May 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Patterns (Paperback)
Anyone who loves patters, graphic arts, design will love this book. It is an amazing lovingly well-thought-out book of inspiring pattern designs from around the globe.
I open it up and immerse myself in it frequently.
The only possible improvement that I could think of is to have it in a spiral form so that the pages could lay flat! I would like to leave it open sometimes and it's not possible in its present form!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational patterns, December 5, 2007
This is a fantastic book full of wonderful pattern designs in many different styles... very inspirational! Great for textile or surface designers, or anyone interested in design. Also love the textured cover!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disaapointing Book, February 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book is poorly done and the surface designs featured are poorly printed. I do not think this book represents modern pattern design at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Patterns: New Surface Design
Patterns: New Surface Design by Drusilla Cole (Paperback - May 10, 2007)
Used & New from: $1.87
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.