Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensational
There are few books I would buy a second copy of just for archival purposes, books that are so phenomenal that you know an extra copy would make a great last minute gift to someone or well just to satiate the obsession the original provoked.

In recent years Bocuse, Roux and Robuchon all wrote books in which they try to translate their experience with haute...
Published on December 3, 2012 by Samhara

versus
3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bocuse Chef of the Centuary
The book is fine, but unless your French ,or a professional cook/chef this is not the book for a home cook.

Paul Bocuse is a talented, amazing Chef. Named Chef of the Century by the Culinary Institute of America, and I agree, but if this book is for the home cook in America, they will be over whelmed.
Published 21 months ago by Nancy Hall


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensational, December 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paul Bocuse: The Complete Recipes (Hardcover)
There are few books I would buy a second copy of just for archival purposes, books that are so phenomenal that you know an extra copy would make a great last minute gift to someone or well just to satiate the obsession the original provoked.

In recent years Bocuse, Roux and Robuchon all wrote books in which they try to translate their experience with haute cuisine into the context of a home kitchen. I own all three as well as works of modern chefs like Thomas Keller and Blumenthal. Honestly of the traditionalists as well as the the modernists' works combined, this still stands stridently above all of them.

The recipes are well constructed, they take from not only classical and modern French but to a degree they incorporate global cuisine (Spanish, Turkish etc). The balance of seasoning in the recipes that I have made is great but the fact that it allows you to make excellent food should not come as a surprise.

The fact that it allows you to do this easily, reducing the chances of making errors but not being text heavy or condescending is a fundamentally miraculous feat.

The tome is divided into 2 major sections, savoury (12 chapters, some of which include Meat, Vegetables, Fish, Crustaceans, Game, Poultry etc) and sweet (dessert, doughs and batters, choux etc).

Each chapter has colour coded tabs on the pages so it is easy to move through the book without any issues or (after one is a bit more familiar with the text) looking at the table of contents. Almost every third recipe has stunning photography and by stunning I mean Thomas Keller and Michel Roux quality. Flammarion doesnt really cheap out on the quality of their prints and by in large make really good books.

This book is a marriage between Joy of Cooking and French laundry - all the basic knowledge to succeed is there and practical, palatable yet still very sophisticated food is made accessible to the home cook. I really have enjoyed making the 30-40 or so recipes from the book and look forward to plenty more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this review, cure your Cookbook Aquisition Syndrome, and save $, April 6, 2013
This review is from: Paul Bocuse: The Complete Recipes (Hardcover)
If you are reading this review you may have C.A.S.
You know; you'd like to learn some new techniques, you have feelings of inadequacy because you are not on top of every known recipe, you see a cookbook with the most amazing pictures. The last cookbook you bought was great, but for some reason it doesn't get opened a real lot. Because of the unusual combination of ingredients, or because it was too complicated, or because it was all over the place, or because you just never really integrated into your style.
......
In fact the cookbook industry depends on this. Someone did a survey and found that the average cookbook sold has 2 recipes made out of it.
:)
Excuse me for toying with you.
I used to have C.A.S. I bought over a hundred cookbooks. I'll never make every recipe before I die. I decided to update my French department so I researched amazon reviews and bought a stack of books direct from Amazon France, in French, mostly from Larousse. I gave my Peterson away. I decided I didn't want to be punctuated by Child, or lectured by Olney. But unfortunately the Larousse books perpetuated my syndrome. They had lots of good recipes, lots of modern innovations, but no essential core of repertoire and technique.
And then Bocuse arrived in the mail. I had avoided it because I thought something from the most celebrated French chef of the twentieth century must be intimidating.
How wrong I was. This book is THE condensation of French classics. It is conservative in that sense, yet every recipe is cut down to its essential ingredients, sensible elegant cooking techniques, and simple precise instructions.
I now have a core basic reference for French recipes.
......
For Bocuse you do need to already know your way around the kitchen, to already know basic techniques such as skinning tomatoes and whipping eggs. You need to know how to shop for good fresh ingredients, and you need a reasonable range of heavy bottomed pots, whisk, bowl etc. You need to be the sort of person who enjoys a bit of time in your kitchen. You don't need the microwave. Putting in some plants of parsley and thyme would help.
.........
Of course you will still like a few other books - for variation, for healthy light food, or for food from other countries - but no longer will you be a lost soul, looking for the core of cooking....
No longer will you have to buy a heap of books.
.........
I might also mention here another simple small cookbook that has given me delicious meals - the Australian Womans Weekly 'French Cooking Made Easy'. It is slimmer and more anglisized than Bocuse, but it is a great start for confidence and reliable results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Value for Your Money, October 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paul Bocuse: The Complete Recipes (Hardcover)
You won't believe it when you get it, but this book is THICK -- 2 1/2" thick (that's about the thickness of 2-3 other cookbooks) -- there's A LOT of good stuff in here, especially since it purportedly compiles all of Chef Bocuse's recipes from his other books and beyond into this one. That's a super value, especially considering its author was named Chef of the Century by the Culinary Institute of America in 2011.

The range of what's covered is impressive too, and beyond that, scanning through it looks like most recipes are easy to follow and fit on a single page. Some have photos, others not. Versions of all the French classics seem to be here as well.

This is nothing like the intricate (and exhausting) detail of Julia Child, but just about anyone interested in cooking, regardless of experience level, can follow these recipes and get good results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best culinary book I waited for, January 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paul Bocuse: The Complete Recipes (Hardcover)
Paul Bocuse doesn't need to be introduced - Chef of the Century, that's it. His cuisine is easy and simple to prepare though it has all French charm and sophistication. I have his previous books (one of them with Paul Bocuse's autograph), but this one - reviewed and updated - is one of the most valuable. Would recommend everyone who is serious about food and loves French cuisine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bocuse: the complete recipes, November 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paul Bocuse: The Complete Recipes (Hardcover)
This book is massive and very beautiful. The crepe recipe turned out good. All the french basic dishes and more are included in this book. The price is high but after looking through the book, I don't feel so bad. There is no stories, just recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A FANTASTIC BOOK, January 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paul Bocuse: The Complete Recipes (Hardcover)
This is a book that combines a super content with a technically and artistically almost perfect presentation. Even if you don't cook food like this (I do), the photo presentation will teach you what to expect, when you go to a good restaurant, both in terms of food and in terms of presentation. It may also help you to decide what you want to order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book, February 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paul Bocuse: The Complete Recipes (Hardcover)
It is all recipes, lots of them. They are fairly simple to do, and they work. Straight forward and good to eat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VEAL SHANK WITH BABY VEGETABLES, January 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paul Bocuse: The Complete Recipes (Hardcover)
MY WIFE PREPARED A MEAL FROM THIS RECIPE JUST LAST NIGHT AND IT WAS EXTREMELY GOOD. WE ENJOYED IT VERY MUCH AND WILL NO DOUBT HAVE IT AGAIN. I AM SURE SHE WILL BE PREPARING OTHER MEALS AFTER BOCUSE. MAITRE POINT FROM THE PYRAMID IN VIENNE IS WIDELY CONSIDERED THE CREATOR OF NOUVELLE CUISINE AND THE INSPIRATION FOR BOCUSE AND OTHER RENOWNED FRENCH CHEFS. I HAVE HAD THE PLEASURE OF EATING AT THE PYRAMID ON TWO OCCASIONS, BOTH QUITE FABULOUS. ON THE SECOND OCCASION I WAS RETURNING FROM NICE ON A BUSINESS TRIP AND STOPPED FOR LUNCH WHICH TOOK A FULL THREE HOURS EVEN THOUGH I WAS EATING ALONE.. IT WAS A MARVELOUS EXPERIENCE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing basic recipes., May 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paul Bocuse: The Complete Recipes (Hardcover)
I know this great Chef and I have already other books from Bocuse, this one has lots of interesting recipes from France, most of them really basic, but simple and easy to follow. Definitely a must have cooking book as a reference or to get some good recipes.

There are some recipes that I don't think they work, like pasta pan cakes or pasta crepes, anyway I love this book over others.

Don't expect to read a lot of information of each recipes like his other books, in this one, he focused more on the quantity, he is sharing over 500 that's a lot...

Overall, this is the book to have from one of the best Chefs of all times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Have, March 13, 2013
This review is from: Paul Bocuse: The Complete Recipes (Hardcover)
This wonderful cookbook from the master of French cuisine is a must-have. The breadth of recipes covering just about all of the simple classics of French cuisine-- revered dishes that will never be dated-- is very comprehensive. The effort in presenting these dishes for the home cook is admirable, the production value of the book is nothing less than quality, and the wonderful manner by which the food was photographed makes each item mouthwatering.

I have been in the food business for many years and I am glad to have this volume in my cookbook collection. It's what makes French cuisine so approachable. I will use this book for reference and more important, use it to inspire me at home what to make today, tomorrow night, and on the weekend.

This is real food the French eat, and have eaten for a long time. Bravo chef Bocuse. Merci pour le libre formidable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Paul Bocuse: The Complete Recipes
Paul Bocuse: The Complete Recipes by Paul Bocuse (Hardcover - October 30, 2012)
$49.95 $36.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.