Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A marvelous surprise for those who don't like KOTB
I saw the abbreviated version of LIVE KISSES on PBS. I hadn't expected to enjoy it as I didn't care much for KISSES ON THE BOTTOM, thinking Paul's voice was weak and any real energy lacking.

Much to my surprise and delight, LIVE KISSES is a highly enjoyable experience. Paul's voice sounds a lot stronger in these sessions, and he's clearly enjoying himself, as...
Published on September 10, 2012 by Chris McKenzie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars well produced
mc cartney needs to stick with what he does best......rock. all the fawning over him by his guests was naciating. i know he is great.
Published 15 months ago by T. Carter


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A marvelous surprise for those who don't like KOTB, September 10, 2012
By 
Chris McKenzie (St. Louis, MO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Paul McCartney: Live Kisses (DVD)
I saw the abbreviated version of LIVE KISSES on PBS. I hadn't expected to enjoy it as I didn't care much for KISSES ON THE BOTTOM, thinking Paul's voice was weak and any real energy lacking.

Much to my surprise and delight, LIVE KISSES is a highly enjoyable experience. Paul's voice sounds a lot stronger in these sessions, and he's clearly enjoying himself, as are the band. Their performance is also much more energetic and loose. I thought the bass player, John Clayton, excelled in particular.

The interviews between songs were interesting and delved into the history of Capitol Studios, as well as Paul's love for the material. It really came through in his performance. I'm certain the unedited version on DVD will be even better. The bonus material--the videos of "My Valentine" and the interview about the making of the album--are icing on the cake.

Highly recommended for all McCartney fans, as well as lovers of standards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 70 Year Old Sir Paul Still Giving His Fans Gifts Of Love, September 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paul McCartney: Live Kisses (DVD)
On February 9, 2012, 69 year old Sir Paul McCartney filmed and recorded LIVE KISSES at Capitol Records Studios in Hollywood- a collaboration of some of the most beautiful old American classic love and hope songs that Sir Paul recalls from his childhood family gatherings. I don't know if this is a co-incidence or not, but these heavenly songs were recorded and filmed exactly 48 years since The Beatles first U.S. appearance on The Ed Sullivan Show in 1964. It's a wonderful co-incidence as these songs are just as wonderful to listen to as those early Beatles hits.

Of all the Beatles, for me, Paul was totally and completely about love, and this latest beautiful achievement of Paul's is a testament to that. I always felt that John was more political, George spiritual, Ringo very rhythmic and Paul was pure love. I know Paul's voice at 70 is not as powerful as when he had to out scream thousands of fans back in the sixties, but his voice is softly powerful, as it should be for these beautiful classic songs. His voice is so beautifully strong, you wish he would have recorded about a hundred more of these old favorites for this dvd. I am a child of the fifties, but my mother had a piano and sang many of these 1920's and 1930's songs to me, that she learned as a child, so I know many of these lyrics and can't help but sing along.

Live Kisses is produced by grammy winning producer Tommy LiPuma, conducted by Alan Broadbent, with the talents of Al Schmitt in the control room, Diana Krall at the piano, John Clayton, Karriem Riggins, John Pizzarelli on guitar, Anthony Wilson and Mike Mainieri. Paul strictly sings on this dvd and the harmony he creates with his drummer Abe Laboriel Jr. on three of the songs including I'm Gonna Sit Right Down And Write Myself A Letter, is simply pure magic. The talented Joe Walsh (James Gang, Eagles) outdoes himself with his beautiful guitar work on McCartney's MY VALENTINE and also on GET YOURSELF ANOTHER FOOL. Included, besides these beautiful heavenly songs, are interviews with Paul, Diana Krall, Tony LiPuma, Eric Clapton and Stevie Wonder. There are more extras as well.

The 13 Classic American Songs Included Are:
01.) I'm Gonna Sit Right Down And Write Myself A Letter (1935 Ahlert/Young)- Fats Waller hit
02.) Home (When Shadows Fall) (1932 Van Steeden/Clarkson/Clarkson)- Rudy Vallee hit
03.) It's Only A Paper Moon (1933 Arlen/Harburg/Rose)- Count Basie hit
04.) The Glory Of Love (1936 Hill)- Andrew Sisters hit
05.) More I Cannot Wish You (1950 Loesser)- Guys & Dolls hit
06.) We Three (My Echo, My Shadow & Me) (1939 Cogane,Mysels, Robertson)- The Ink Spots hit
07.) Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate The Positive (1944 Mercer/Arlen)- Andrew Sisters hit
08.) My Valentine (Paul McCartney)
09.) Always (1925 Berlin)- The Ink Spots, Frank Sinatra hit
10.) My Very Good Friend The Milkman (1935 Spina /Burke)- Fats Waller hit
11.) Bye Bye Blackbird (1926 Henderson/Dixon)- Gene Austin, Eddie Cantor hit
12.) Get Yourself Another Fool (1949 Haywood/Tucker)- Charles Brown, Sam Cooke hit
13.) My One And Only Love (1952 Wood/Mellin)- Frank Sinatra hit

With Paul using only his voice, and not his other instruments of his bass, guitar and piano, he really focuses on the beauty of the sentimental lyrics, and what you get is pure magic beautifully sung with the gorgeous music accompanying him. I first heard Paul singing these classics in the kitchen while cooking and asked my husband what he was watching on tv- when he said Paul McCartney- I almost fell over, as I would never recognize Paul doing these American classics. He is simply amazing!

As much as I love all these old 20's, 30's depression, 40's war years and 50's songs, I adore Irving Berlin's ALWAYS. You can feel the love in the words, as Irving Berlin wrote this song for the woman he wanted to marry, but whose father forbid it. Because Irving was a struggling poor Jewish writer and was in love with a wealthy Christian woman Ellin Mackay, Ellin's father forbid she see him, so he sent her overseas to Europe. Irving didn't let an ocean stop him from telling his beloved Ellin that he loved her, so he wrote ALWAYS and it played on the radios all over the world. When Ellin heard it, she couldn't believe how much Irving loved her and married him against her father's wishes. The words are so fitting- I'll Be Loving You Always- as I have always felt that Paul McCartney's music has always said the same thing to not only his girlfriends or wives, but to his fans. From the first time I heard The Beatles sing, Til There Was You, Paul was the Irving Berlin of my 60's generation. He just knows how to make you feel love.

If you are a McCartney fan or simply love the old American Classic Songs from the 20's, 30's, 40's and 50's, you will love LIVE KISSES, and I guarantee you will not be able to keep from singing along and wish there was much more of this beautiful music from Sir Paul! And to Sir Paul who just keeps on giving us fans such beautiful unexpected gifts- I say to you from your fans- We'll Be Loving You Always And Thank You Sir Paul For Yet Another Gift Of Love!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well-done tribute to the American Songbook by Sir Paul. Nice packaging too!, November 29, 2012
This review is from: Paul McCartney: Live Kisses (DVD)
As a fan of the Great American Songbook, I was curious to hear Paul McCartney's "Kisses on The Bottom" CD when it was released last year. I though he did a credible job in the covers though I thought his voice was a bit off. Still, I felt, he gave new exposure to songs I still play on my 78rpm records. I missed the live stream and the PBS special of this "studio concert" version of the songs from the album so the DVD package was my first viewing.

To make things clear, though the 75-minute centerpiece of this DVD was taped in the studio, with Paul wearing headphones, this was not the actual recording session for the KOTB CD. This was a re-creation with most of the original musicians. While Eric Clapton and Stevie Wonder were on the CD, they are not performing here, though there are interview clips.

The package gives a running time of 127 minutes but be aware that this includes the FIVE versions of the "My Valentine" music video as well as two promo videos for KOTB. There is a 15 minute interview with McCartney and Producer Tommy LiPuma by music journalist Robert Hilburn , from which many sections were included in the 75-minute core program.

I found that WATCHING McCartney sing the songs often covered the age in his voice. Honestly, at 70 his voice is showing its age.

I'll defer to my fellow reviewer, Tante Maren, for the details of the program - though he/she had not seen the DVD at the time of his/her review since it wasn't released until two months later. The packaging should also be mentioned. The DVD is inserted in the back of a 5x7 HARDBOUND book which includes a six-page Introduction by Elvis Costello (whose wife, Diana Krall, is the pianist and music director for the performance) and a 26 page "conversation via Skype" between Costello and McCartney which discusses the albums concert and pop music in general. (Costello has always been a great interviewer of other performers.). There are six pages of musician credits and a number of "session photos" to fill out the book.

Overall I liked the set a lot and McCartney fans will certainly want this for their collection. While the 75 minutes of studio performances were engaging, the multiple versions of the McCartney-penned "My Valentine" are a bit of overkill for the casual buyer. Hence the four, rather than, five stars.

I hope you found this review both informative and helpful.

Steve Ramm
"Anything Phonographic"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beyond Vintage Clothes, December 10, 2012
By 
Bill (Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Paul McCartney: Live Kisses (DVD)
Let's get a couple of things out of the way first: If you're the kind of music fan who would prefer Paul McCartney to just keep belting out Get Back and Band on the Run for the rest of his life, then keep walking - there's nothing for you here. Likewise, if you don't think it ever got better than Bing Crosby or Frank Sinatra, then you're going to find little to love in this show. If your tastes allow for some exploration, then read on.

Doing and album and/or show of old standards has become almost as much a rock cliché as stint in rehab. Over the years, the quality of such albums has ranged from the sublime (Harry Nilsson's A Little Touch of Schmilsson in the Night) to the ridiculous (Robbie Williams' Swing When You're Winning). The fact is that any idiot can buy a hat, hire a decent arranger and sing into a microphone once used by Sinatra. So why should we follow Macca down this well-worn path?

Well, there are a few good reasons. Firstly, McCartney is old enough to remember some of these songs when they were current, and to have sung them around the family Johanna so his fondness for these tunes has not been confected from a lot of received wisdom. He has also revealed an ongoing fondness for the style since the early days of the Beatles, from covers of 'Til There Was You and A Taste of Honey, through When I'm Sixty Four and Honey Pie to Warm and Beautiful and Baby's Request with Wings, he's already done plenty of dabbling in the genre. Thirdly, as one of the people who made Abbey Road "da place," he has no need for the reflected glory of working at Capitol Studios in Hollywood.

He's also well aware of how many artists have done this before and has taken pains to set this collection apart from them by choosing lesser known songs and going for quiet, subtle versions of the songs where many before him - including some of the originals - preferred to go for bombast. It's this approach that makes Kisses On The Bottom and this companion DVD more than just the obligatory standards album.

The film intersperses the songs with interviews discussing the making of the album and the show. On a regular concert film this would be a pain but on this one it works fine. This is mainly because Live Kisses isn't so much a concert as a live run through of some songs. As always with a McCartney show, he shares a great camaraderie with the band, led by Diana Krall and featuring Joe Walsh sitting in on Eric Clapton's parts. This is another departure from similar albums, where there could be a bit of a master/servant relationship between singer and players.

What really makes this a unique McCartney performance is that for once, it's entirely about Paul the singer. Although everyone knows he has one of the greatest voices of the last half-century, that fact has always been parallel to his talents as songwriter, composer, multi-instrumentalist and producer. And with every song, you can tell he's chosen it because part of it speaks to him. This is not a case of the singer putting on an act. He does present his own interpretations of the songs but never do they deviate from the song's original meaning. It's been said that Paul's voice is not what it used to be. Two points on that topic: Firstly, duh! The man is 70 years old. You should sound as good at that age. Secondly, while his voice is considerably weaker than it was in 1967, it does lend itself very well to his intention of bringing out the vulnerability in the songs. This is not an album he could have made when he was 30.

The arrangements occasionally veer a little too close to hotel lobby music but for the most part, they are tasteful and understated, neither being too reverential to the originals, nor interpreting them within an inch of their lives. The one place it doesn't quite work is on Bye Bye Blackbird which almost becomes a dirge. They do, however, almost manage to redeem The Glory of Love for me after Beaches pretty well ruined it.

Most of the film is presented in black and white with a slightly harsh contrast that is less 1940s film and more like early 1960s television. It suits the music very well though. One rather annoying aspect is lots of jump cuts early in the piece. In a show like this, a shot should last for at least one bar of music.

There's no denying this DVD has a pretty limited market. You couldn't even call it a fans-only release because there will be thousands of fans who will hate him for not making a proper rock album, whatever that means. There will be others who laud it purely for being McCartney with no other reason. This show can only be judged for what it is and McCartney, Diana Krall and producer Tommy LiPuma have managed to create a set that strikes the right balance of familiarity and originality, authenticity and playfulness. If you don't like it, then you don't like it, but it's better than you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Best, December 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paul McCartney: Live Kisses (DVD)
Paul sings great, as expected. Beatle fan or not, everyone will love it. He deserves a grammy for this effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars live kisses are best, May 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paul McCartney: Live Kisses (DVD)
paul mcCartney does it again with a great band to play these old classics hes able to pump new life into these songs just give these songs a listen and driftaway
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Live Kisses" - One of my favorite music DVD's ever!, December 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paul McCartney: Live Kisses [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
One of the best music DVD's I have ever watched! The music, the musicians, and the editing were close to perfect. You will love watching great musicians like Diana Krall, John Clayton, John Pizzarelli, Eric Clapton, Stevie Wonder, and others backing Paul up. I almost felt like I was sitting in the Capitol Recording Studio last February watching this being recorded live. Be sure to buy this one on Blu-ray!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, February 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paul McCartney: Live Kisses (DVD)
I always loved the old classics sung by Sinatra and other artists. I grew up in the 80's as a HUGE Beatles fan but always loved that classic style of music of the 1940's. Paul McCartney does a great job on these songs. Paul only sings the vocals and leaves the music to several of the best musicians around. Linda Krall is just fantastic on these recordings. The dvd shows a live version of these recordings done so well....sounds great.....just a treat if you'ew a fan of music of the 1940'sand 50's...and can appreciate some excellent musicias playing some jazz and old classics. A++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it. ., January 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paul McCartney: Live Kisses (DVD)
Good songs and the whole process of recording the music was most interesting. Loved Dianna Krall and her group who did a top job in backing up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect buy for any Beatle Fan, January 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paul McCartney: Live Kisses (DVD)
Amazing documentary...wonderful music....such a sweet inside look!

A mixture of the live recording, behind the scenes interviews, and history on the studio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Paul McCartney: Live Kisses [Blu-ray]
Paul McCartney: Live Kisses [Blu-ray] by Paul McCartney (Blu-ray - 2012)
$34.98 $25.79
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.