Customer Reviews


1,002 Reviews
5 star:
 (636)
4 star:
 (203)
3 star:
 (78)
2 star:
 (27)
1 star:
 (58)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


103 of 110 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Close Encounters of the Pegg/Rogen Kind
I was a bit hesitant about seeing Paul from the critical reviews and from the trailer, but found myself enjoying it quite a bit when I took a chance and saw it. There's a lot to see in Paul, and much like Galaxy Quest (1999), Paul both mocks its subject matter while at the same time treating it with both understanding and great affection. A lot of talent went into Paul...
Published on March 20, 2011 by Whitt Patrick Pond

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The truth is out there, and it's wearing flip flops
What had happened was, I got spoiled by Simon Pegg, Nick Frost, and director Edgar Wright's three prior screen excursions. Spaced: The Complete Series, Shaun of the Dead, and Hot Fuzz [Blu-ray/DVD Combo + Digital Copy] all featured characters who - no matter how bizarre the stuff going on around them was - were likable enough and believable enough that you got invested in...
Published on May 23, 2012 by H. Bala


‹ Previous | 1 2101 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

103 of 110 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Close Encounters of the Pegg/Rogen Kind, March 20, 2011
By 
I was a bit hesitant about seeing Paul from the critical reviews and from the trailer, but found myself enjoying it quite a bit when I took a chance and saw it. There's a lot to see in Paul, and much like Galaxy Quest (1999), Paul both mocks its subject matter while at the same time treating it with both understanding and great affection. A lot of talent went into Paul and it shows. Directed by Greg Mottola (Superbad, Adventureland, TV's Arrested Development) and written by Simon Pegg (Hot Fuzz, Shaun of the Dead, TV's Spaced) and Nick Frost, Paul hits all the right comic notes, skewering its target audience knowingly and lovingly.

What makes Paul work is that, at its heart, it's the ultimate scifi road trip. Graeme (Simon Pegg) and Clive (Nick Frost), two major scifi/comics/UFOs fanboys from the UK, are visiting the US on a pilgrimage of sorts, hitting the biggest scifi/comics/gaming convention on the West Coast and making the grand tour of all the famous UFO-lore sites (Area 51, Roswell, 'The Black Mailbox', etc) in a huge honkin' RV. While on the road out in the desert, they witness a car spin out of control and crash. When they hurry to see if they can help, they come face to face with the classic little green alien with huge head and enormous oval eyes. Except that he's smoking a cigarette, introduces himself as 'Paul', and talks like Seth Rogen (mainly because he's voiced by Seth Rogen, absolutely the perfect choice for this role). Paul tells Graeme (Clive's fainted) of his need to escape the government people coming after him and the road trip is on.

The cast is great. Pegg and Frost are perfect in their roles as fanboys who've been buddies since childhood and have never really grown up, Frost's Clive hoping to finish his breakthrough novel and Pegg's Graeme doing the illustrations for it (the triple-breasted alien woman on the cover is a running gag that keeps getting funnier). Rogen gives Paul his personality, quite literally, making him a fairly unique creation: the stoner/slacker alien who's gone native in a lot of ways but has decided it's time to phone home (largely because the powers that be have apparently decided to quit merely picking his brain and remove it instead). Jason Bateman is great as the deadpan Agent Zoil, the 'man in black' hot on Paul's trail. Bill Hader and Joe LoTruglio are excellent comic foils as his low-grade backups, Agents Haggard and O'Reilly. Jeffrey Tambor is a scene-stealer in his role as the arrogant fanboys' icon, Adam Shadowchild. Kristen Wiig adds a lot to the comic mix as Ruth Buggs, a repressed Christian fundamentalist (she wears a t-shirt with Jesus shooting Darwin through the head) whose close-encounter with Paul ends up liberating her in a completely over-the-top way (think Jessica from True Blood, just with aliens instead of vampires). And there's a major cameo that's held in reserve until the climactic scene, but once it's revealed, your reaction will be "Of course! Who else?"

Another fun part of Paul is picking up all of the movie references, and Paul contains a _lot_ of them, sometimes in lines that are either quotes or parodies of quotes, sometimes in scenes or visuals, from just about every major scifi movie imagineable. Star Wars, Star Trek, Close Encounters of the Third Kind, Raiders of the Lost Ark, Aliens, Back To The Future, E.T., Predator, Starman. You name it, it's probably in there somewhere. My personal favorite is a scene with a country & western band in a biker bar, playing their version of about the last thing you'd ever expect to hear in that context. I really want to get the DVD when it comes out so I can go back and catch all the ones I missed the first time.

There are a few places where things do drag a bit, usually where the toilet/grossout humor (it's Seth Rogen after all) goes on a little too long. But for the most part Paul keeps things going fast and furious, and the cast are so into their roles that even when you can sense the joke coming, it's still funny when it hits you.

Highly recommended for anyone who loves sci-fi/alien films and for anyone who's ever been a fanboy of anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


142 of 167 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heads up on this one, June 4, 2011
By 
This review is from: Paul (Unrated & Theatrical Versions) (DVD)
So heads up
If your christian faith in god is so weak that you cannot handle a computer generated alien making jokes and presenting logical facts regarding your faith and its almost complete lack of science.... this movie is not for you.

If you cant handle a smart ass little alien who drinks, smokes dope, and tells dirty jokes...this movie is not for you.

If you have no humor at all and find things in a "comedy" offensive...this movie is not for you

if you find two gross British nerds taking the trip of a lifetime and doing what they love un funny or offensive...this movie is not for you

If you find large explosions or the men in black overly scary and offensive... this movie is not for you.

However,
If you enjoy crude humor, atheist overtones, large explosions, smoking dope, telling dirty jokes AND some nerdtastic adventures... this movie is for you.
I went into this flick not expecting much but I left happy and I cant wait to buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hot Fuzz and E.T. had a baby and its head popped off!, February 22, 2011
As of writing, this film isn't out in Canada, however a CAM version of the UK release is out, so I am reviewing it based on the version I saw.

When it comes to Brit comedy, nobody does it quite like the Frost/Pegg duo. Both are phenomenal actors and seeing them on screen is a charm. So when I saw the trailer for "Paul" with The Green Hornet,, I must say I was very excited. And I must say, the film didn't disappoint. Is it quite on the same level as the Blood and Ice Cream movies? Definitely not, but it's a great piece of brain popcorn and I believe you will definitely love it.

This movie is basically the plot of E.T. with the humour of Hot Fuzz and Shaun of the Dead, and it works! Of course you can't go wrong with that combination. Although Edgar Wright didn't direct the film, and the film feels very different from the mentioned two, this film actually manages to have the same level of charm and entertainment as those two. Also, the film has a wide range of good actors- including Jason Bateman, Jane Lynch, and even David Koechner!

Two British nerds, Graeme and Clive, are on a road trip across the US, which they have been dreaming of as kids. They've been dreaming of this as kids, and the highlight so far has been Comic Con San Diego. They
even have met Adam Shadowchild. One night, while in Area 51, Nevada, they witness a car crash, and come across the foul-mouthed alien slacker Paul. But this ain't no District 9 or E.T. Paul is, as mentioned above, is a slacker, and a loud/foul mouth. He is being chased by US government agents, and Graeme and Clive have no choice but
to take them with him. Along the way, they pick up a religious chick, an old lady who was wronged by Paul, and it all becomes one wacky and zany adventure.

This is definitely an adults-only version of E.T., and one that manages to entertain all the way through. Tonnes of gross moments and WTF moments as well as belly laughs and crude humour. Seth Rogen is
surprisingly great as the said alien Paul, his voice is surprisingly fitting. He was great in his past year's The Green Hornet, and he does amazingly well here. Pegg and Frost are their usual charming selves,
and manage to make a great team. But the highlight of the movie was Kristen Wiig- she was HILARIOUS!!!! Every line from her mouth was gold, and she definitely stole the show. This movie also had lots of heart too, and there is a VERY touching scene near the end I will not spoil.

Overall, this definitely is not Wright material, but if you go into it with an open mind, you will enjoy this movie like I did. Definitely recommended for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love these guys, August 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paul (Amazon Instant Video)
I love this movie, the witty, dry, silly comedy from Hot Fuzz and Shawn of the Dead were back in full force. A great no brainer movie with a lot of heart, just like summer movies should be. Although I agree that if you are offended by movies that question religion, steer clear of this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fun Summer Movie, August 11, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paul (Amazon Instant Video)
Suspend disbelief and judgement and just enjoy this great movie written by Simon Pegg and Nick Frost, Paul starts off at the San Diego Comic Con and goes on a spoof filled ride across UFO land. Irreverantly written, it is filled with nods to landmark scifi films of the past and glorifies convention geeks of all kinds. LOL! sums this film nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inside nerd humor, good for those of us with a sense of humor!, August 22, 2011
This review is from: Paul (Amazon Instant Video)
Well, I am a self-proclaimed, self-titled, very proud, nerd, lover of all things SF and fantasy (Trek, Star Wars, Tolkien - you name it), and this movie had me howling with laughter. So many inside jokes, and a loving/joking tribute to those of us who are part of this world.

Does it contain "R" rated language? Well, yeah. Hence the rating.

Is every moment funny? Of course not. This type of movie is always risky in that respect.

Does it bash God? Please. I'm a Christian, and a) I don't cling so rigidly to my views that I can't see someone else's POV. and b) if we can't laugh at ourselves, well -- oh, my.

"It's not like I set my phaser to 'faint.'"
"You have a phaser?"

Classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The truth is out there, and it's wearing flip flops, May 23, 2012
By 
H. Bala "Me Too Can Read" (Recently moved back to Carson, California, or as I call it... the center of the universe) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paul (Unrated & Theatrical Versions) (DVD)
What had happened was, I got spoiled by Simon Pegg, Nick Frost, and director Edgar Wright's three prior screen excursions. Spaced: The Complete Series, Shaun of the Dead, and Hot Fuzz [Blu-ray/DVD Combo + Digital Copy] all featured characters who - no matter how bizarre the stuff going on around them was - were likable enough and believable enough that you got invested in them. SHAUN OF THE DEAD and HOT FUZZ were this trio's take on, respectively, the zombie sub-genre and the cop buddy film. The TV show, SPACED, was their nerdgasmic homage to pop culture. With PAUL (but without Wright), Pegg and Frost take on the sci-fi genre and fail to soar. I'm rating PAUL a better than average 3 out of 5 stars. I liked it. I didn't love it. PAUL doesn't have the smarts of their other collaborations. Or the brilliant, irrepressible sense of humor.

Clive Gollings (Frost) and Graeme Willy (Pegg) are two affable Brits who've crossed the waters on holiday. The film opens with their having a grand time of it at the San Diego Comic Con, after which they embark, via RV, on a leisurely road trip with pit stops to various UFO landmarks along America's heartland. Life imitates nerdy wishful thinking when, one evening, Clive and Graeme stumble onto Paul, a little green extraterrestrial what had done a bunk from a top secret government facility, wherein he had been kept prisoner for the past sixty years. And them relentless government agents are in hot pursuit. Paul doesn't want to probe anyone as much as he desperately wants off this God's little rock. Clive and Graeme become his unwilling accomplices.

If Paul and Spielberg's E.T. had attended the same school, Paul would've been the one chillin' in the back of the class and playing the fool, while E.T. would've been seated in the front, conscientiously jotting down test notes from which Paul can later copy. Paul is the sort of "hip" alien we see more of nowadays, the alien with attitude. He wears flipflops, he smokes, he swears amiably... he is, God help us, a wisecracking slacker alien, and impeccably, digitally rendered. Today, I miss E.T. and his unassuming grace more than ever. And everytime I heard Seth Rogen's deep voice coming out of Paul's beak, I just kept getting thrown off.

It would've been okay, though, if that had been the only bother. But it's not. I dunno. Is the secret ingredient Edgar Wright? Does he have to helm a Pegg and Frost picture in order for it to float our boat? PAUL is a surprisingly lackluster film. It's pretty concerning that the screenplay credits go to Pegg and Frost, because the quality of the writing falls several tiers below what I expect of them. Is this their stab at a mainstream audience? Or did Universal coerce them to cater their comedy to what's safe? I smiled occasionally, but laughed rarely. PAUL goes for the obvious gags. There's a particularly brutal running bit with Kristen Wiig's one-eyed, uber-religious character evolving into a rampant potty mouth. Maybe a scene or two with a naive soul letting rip with the cusswords may be funny. But the movie goes to this well time and again. I miss Kristen Wiig's deadpan sarcasm. What I don't miss is Sigourney Weaver's cameo in the third act. She isn't good here.

The stuff that works, it's because of Simon Pegg and Nick Frost and their buddy chemistry. They make the film watchable. It's a pleasure watching these two long-time pals playing off each other. You sense the high comfort level there. And the few times that the film - or Universal Studios - allows them to be themselves, the results are a riot. I enjoy the shift in dynamics. This time out, Nick Frost expands beyond the idiot sidekick role. There's even a chance that his writer character may be the smarter of the pair. For his part, Simon Pegg is so self-deprecating and down-to-earth that you can't help but like him. PAUL has its moments, except that these guys have set their standards so high that you have to call them out when they submit mediocre work. And PAUL is far from their best. I frankly can't wait for Pegg and Frost to reunite with Edgar wright for THE WORLD'S END, the third of their "Three Flavours Cornetto Trilogy," projected to be released sometime in 2014. Edgar Wright, look at you, dude, suddenly an indispensable cog. As far as PAUL, I say catch it when it's on cable. Alf has a lot to answer for.

This DVD gives you the option to play the film's theatrical version or the unrated version. It has the following bonus stuff:

- Audio Commentary on the theatrical version only, with director Greg Mottola, producer Nira Park, and actors Simon Pegg, Nick Frost, and Bill Hader
- Bloopers (00:10:53 minutes)
- Evolution of PAUL - the process of animating Paul (00:15:06 minutes)
- "Simon's Silly Faces" - this is pretty self-explanatory (00:01:22 minutes)
- "Who the Hell is Adam Shadowchild?" - a bit of the spotlight on Jeffrey Tambor's scene-stealing sci-fi author character (00:02:12 minutes)
- Galleries: Photos, Storyboards, and Posters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Was kinda scared, August 16, 2011
By 
Darryl (Idaho Falls, Idaho, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paul (Amazon Instant Video)
These types of movies are always a hit and miss with me, sometimes I love them and sometimes I'm wishing I never started it. There are some 'saw that coming' type things but overall I really liked this movie.

*NEWSFLASH* the show is rated R and my contain content you don't agree with!
If you are religious you may not want to watch this movie
If you don't like swear words you may not want to watch this movie
If you hate aliens you may not want to watch this movie
If you don't have a sense of humor stay away from this movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Campy Sci-fi, August 24, 2011
By 
This review is from: Paul (Unrated & Theatrical Versions) (DVD)
Even though this is a very commercially aimed film, I really enjoyed it. It's got witty dialogue, a wonderful ensemble cast, including Pegg and Frost but also Jason Bateman (I just laugh looking at him at this point and I mean that in the best way possible) and one of my all-time favorites, Kristen Wiig, who is slightly underused in this movie, yet she shines. The bonus features alone are worth the money. This being the unrated version, many scenes are fleshed-out much better than in the theatrical version as well. Fun little weekend dvd to have around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Paul' is an excellent comedy with a healthy dose of adventure thrown in for good measure, November 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paul (Unrated & Theatrical Versions) (DVD)
Two geeky Brits on holiday in the United States, a stranded - sometimes rude - car-stealing alien with mind-blowing powers, secret agents and religious fanatics: Oh yeah, if you like broad comedy you're going to like "Paul."
Simon Pegg and Nick Frost are the Brits who have come to America to attend a convention of people who share their love of graphic novels and all things weird. They have some time on their hands so they also plan to visit famous sites where aliens might have landed. Renting a giant motor home to see the sights, they set off on their adventure only to have it go wildly off course when they meet "Paul," a diminutive alien trying to escape from the government that has held him captive for a good many years.
I won't spoil what plot there is by revealing any more of it. Suffice it to say that with Kristin Wiig, Jason Bateman and Sigourney Weaver also in the cast you're in for a fun night when you watch this over-the-top adventure/comedy.
There are also some subtle messages buried in the slapstick, messages that make this film occasionally poignant.
"Paul" reminds us, for example, that friendship is important, that love sometimes comes along when you least expect it and that not everyone who at first appears to be bad is, well, bad.
This movie is a bowl-of-popcorn-and-two-soda romp that blends classic British comedy with broader American humor and it is a winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2101 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Paul (Unrated & Theatrical Versions)
Paul (Unrated & Theatrical Versions) by Greg Mottola (DVD - 2011)
$14.98 $5.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.