Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two Spoons Up for This Book!!
My family needed something new and creative for dinner. I have been watching Paula on the Food TV Network and have enjoyed her true southern cooking and hospitality. In this book she shares personal stories and the meaning behind several of her ideas and recipes. It's nice to know how the idea was created. I ordered this book because it stated it was a combo. of the other...
Published on December 5, 2005 by J. Smyth

versus
131 of 136 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reprinting of Paula's First and Third Books
'Paula Deen's Kitchen Classics' combines between one pair of covers, all the material in her earlier 'The Lady and Sons' cookboods, but not including her desserts book. I give this volume only three stars as a warning to all readers who already own one or both of Ms. Deen's earlier works. I may have been just a bit more generous if the editors had merged the two books'...
Published on November 4, 2005 by B. Marold


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

131 of 136 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reprinting of Paula's First and Third Books, November 4, 2005
This review is from: Paula Deen's Kitchen Classics: The Lady & Sons Savannah Country Cookbook and The Lady & Sons, Too! (Hardcover)
'Paula Deen's Kitchen Classics' combines between one pair of covers, all the material in her earlier 'The Lady and Sons' cookboods, but not including her desserts book. I give this volume only three stars as a warning to all readers who already own one or both of Ms. Deen's earlier works. I may have been just a bit more generous if the editors had merged the two books' recipe by type, but they simply smacked the two books together with no matching up soups with soups and veggies with veggies and so on.

I am also sort of fond of the earlier publications, as they have the classic 'church cookbook' binding which neatly lays flat on the table as you have both hands full with spatula and measuring spoon.

So, let the buyer beware of this REPRINT! To Paula's credit, she is not hiding this fact, but, as with Mark Bittman's reprinted volumes, it is easy to be too eager for a new volume from a favorite author and leap before looking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two Spoons Up for This Book!!, December 5, 2005
By 
J. Smyth "Nursehug" (Tyner, NC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paula Deen's Kitchen Classics: The Lady & Sons Savannah Country Cookbook and The Lady & Sons, Too! (Hardcover)
My family needed something new and creative for dinner. I have been watching Paula on the Food TV Network and have enjoyed her true southern cooking and hospitality. In this book she shares personal stories and the meaning behind several of her ideas and recipes. It's nice to know how the idea was created. I ordered this book because it stated it was a combo. of the other 2 books. With limited space, I like the idea of less books. My family has truly enjoyed ALL of the recipes served so far. The Mac & Cheese is the BEST I have ever eatten in my life. Several of my son's friends have eatten at my house and ask when they can come back. What a variety of recipes in this book. Simple instructions and common household products. You don't have to go out and spend a small fortune for one dish. This is a Must Buy. Two spoons up!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just plain good cooking, June 10, 2006
By 
This review is from: Paula Deen's Kitchen Classics: The Lady & Sons Savannah Country Cookbook and The Lady & Sons, Too! (Hardcover)
If you're into gourmet cooking, don't buy this book. If you love plain old down home cooking, and you're not afraid of a little butter, then this is the book for you. I'm buying two as gifts for summer brides, because Paula includes some very basic recipes (like Gooey Butter Cake) as well as some more detailed recipes. I haven't tried anything that hasn't come out terrific, and I've been cooking for 35+ years. A lot of my old favorites I knew as a kid are in there, and it's just nice to have them written down. I keep this cookbook handy on my counter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paula Deen, June 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this for my wife as a gift and to show support for a gracious lady who is unfairly crucified in the media. I have made several of her recipies in the past and have immensely enjoyed every one.

Mrs Paula....."illegitimi non carborundum"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good combo book of 2 of Paula's best books, April 26, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paula Deen's Kitchen Classics: The Lady & Sons Savannah Country Cookbook and The Lady & Sons, Too! (Hardcover)
This book combines two of Paula's best books together. Thus, this book is packed with loads of information.

**Please note that there are not any photos...But then , when combining two volumes, I doubt that Paula had any room or money left to fit-in tons of photos too!

Recipes are very easy to duplicate. Paula's writing style if fun to read.

PS: Please note that Paula loves butter. Those of us that watch her TV show know this, as she is very open about her "love of butter". So plz do expect that many of Paula's recipes include butter. However, if you are watching your weight and counting your fat intake, I would advise to just cut the butter portions ,and that Paula's recipes will still hold-up well.(I've tried this method and it works).
For those of you that love butter and are thin enough to be able to eat it often, then this cook-book will not alter your regular cooking style.
Either way I think that any cook will find this cookbook helpful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A show of support, June 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Paula Deen's Kitchen Classics: The Lady & Sons Savannah Country Cookbook and The Lady & Sons, Too! (Hardcover)
I'm not a Paula Deen fan - I avoid cooking mostly but she needn't apologize for telling the truth. I sent this off to a friend who will use it - bought it to show my support. This is just another shakedown - people looking to get their hands on her money.

Checked out the table of contents and the introduction - the recipes look delicious and I'll enjoy eating them while someone else prepares them! The best of both worlds!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love Paula, June 28, 2013
This review is from: Paula Deen's Kitchen Classics: The Lady & Sons Savannah Country Cookbook and The Lady & Sons, Too! (Hardcover)
Paula's recipes are to die for! I cannot believe all the bad press she's getting over admitting to saying ONE bad word 27 or 37 years ago. Show me one human that is better. I will buy every book she's ever written AND boycott anyone that continues to trash her! This world is getting evil and twisted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good everday cookbook, August 14, 2006
This review is from: Paula Deen's Kitchen Classics: The Lady & Sons Savannah Country Cookbook and The Lady & Sons, Too! (Hardcover)
i own this and have given many as gifts. east to follow great recipes you expect from paula.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delectable!, March 14, 2006
By 
B. Wright (Alexandria, AL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paula Deen's Kitchen Classics: The Lady & Sons Savannah Country Cookbook and The Lady & Sons, Too! (Hardcover)
Fannie Flagg said it best "I could have eaten the book". I am Paula's biggest fan and have all the books. This one is the best one yet! I spent days reading every page. In the narrative pages, you can just hear her voice as you read the pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great everyday cooking, January 31, 2006
By 
C. Ward (Plainfield, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paula Deen's Kitchen Classics: The Lady & Sons Savannah Country Cookbook and The Lady & Sons, Too! (Hardcover)
I love this cookbook. Paula has a way of making everything just taste great. All the recipes are made with items that you shop for on a weekly basis. You won't go wrong with this book...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Paula Deen's Kitchen Classics: The Lady & Sons Savannah Country Cookbook and The Lady & Sons, Too!
$29.95 $19.86
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.