Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating portrait of stellar minds
Wolfgang Pauli and Carl Jung were among a handful of geniuses who transformed the physical and psychological landscapes of the 20th century. Their thoughts about the nature of mind and matter, and the dark side of Western science's "will to power," are especially meaningful today given the material and psychosocial challenges of the 21st century.

I found...
Published on April 9, 2006 by Dean Radin

versus
7 of 73 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "No Great Expectations, just Great Disappointments"
"Pauli & Jung: The Meetings of Two Great Minds," David Lindorff, IL, Quest Books, 2004 ISBN: 0-8356-0837-9, HC 299/244 pgs., Notes 28 pgs., Apps. 8 pgs., Index 17 pgs., 9 1/4" x 6 1/4"

This Ph.D. author worked & taught eletrical enginnering, later a Jungian analyser for 24 years in New England. No previous books.

Chapter I stands alone to provide a...
Published on March 7, 2006 by Russell A. Rohde MD


Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating portrait of stellar minds, April 9, 2006
This review is from: Pauli and Jung: The Meeting of Two Great Minds (Hardcover)
Wolfgang Pauli and Carl Jung were among a handful of geniuses who transformed the physical and psychological landscapes of the 20th century. Their thoughts about the nature of mind and matter, and the dark side of Western science's "will to power," are especially meaningful today given the material and psychosocial challenges of the 21st century.

I found especially interesting Pauli and Jung's interests in parapsychology and the mind-matter interface. When intellectual giants seriously entertain controversial topics that confuse lesser minds, I pay close attention.

Lindorff's recitals of Pauli's dreams, and Pauli and Jung's symbolic analysis of them, will probably not appeal to readers expecting ordinary biographies. But for those of us who are interested in rational, intuitive, and symbolic ways of knowing, this is a magnificent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Response to Dr Russell Rohrde's review., March 10, 2006
This review is from: Pauli and Jung: The Meeting of Two Great Minds (Hardcover)
This is a response by the author to a review of Dr. Rohrde, who apparently formed a judgement of my book without attempting to digest its contents. Pauli was a serious thinker who happened to believe in the collective unconscious. With Jung's help, he sought to understand his dreams, which he saw as opening his mind to the relationship between psyche and matter. Pauli saw this as having far reaching importance to him personally as well as to the future of scientific exploration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A shot in the arm for a PhD candidate, April 30, 2009
By 
Elizabeth R. Lusczek (Minneapolis, MN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pauli and Jung: The Meeting of Two Great Minds (Hardcover)
This book is a detailed, faithful chronicle of the correspondence between Wolfgang Pauli, father of quantum mechanics, and Carl Jung, father of modern psychology. The product of their correspondence is as profound as one could imagine. Thank you, Dr. Lindorff, for telling this story. I started reading it at a time when I was feeling overwhelmed and out of my element in my research. This book has helped me find enthusiasm and wonder for the scientific process again. This is a fascinating book, and well worth reading for those of us who ask fundamental questions about human perception and the universe around us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better scholarship than I expected, February 19, 2009
By 
Donald McLeod (Antioch, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pauli and Jung: The Meeting of Two Great Minds (Hardcover)
I wasn't expecting the author to have the expertise in physics and psychology to do a decent job of writing about these two men. I also feared that the writing would be dull and plodding. Wrong on both counts. Lindorff's writing and scholarship are impressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Physics and Psychology, September 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pauli and Jung: The Meeting of Two Great Minds (Hardcover)
Most people would have trouble thinking of two academic disciplines more diverse than physics and psychology. This book describes the relationships between two of the greatest exponents of each field. They were close personal friends and great students of each others work. They each saw similarities between the two fields. Now I know more about psychology than Pauli did and more about physics than Jung did. I would say that the things they said were correct as far as they went but they did not go very far. The relationships between physics and psychology are best described by studying the relationships between the work of two neighbors, Jung and Einstein. They probably knew of each other but did not know each other, nor did they study each others writings. On a theoretical levels the writings of these two, i have read the works of both of them very extensively, are in many ways identical. I know of no one who is well versed in the works of both of these two great scholars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 73 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "No Great Expectations, just Great Disappointments", March 7, 2006
By 
Russell A. Rohde MD "Owl" (West Covina, California USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pauli and Jung: The Meeting of Two Great Minds (Hardcover)
"Pauli & Jung: The Meetings of Two Great Minds," David Lindorff, IL, Quest Books, 2004 ISBN: 0-8356-0837-9, HC 299/244 pgs., Notes 28 pgs., Apps. 8 pgs., Index 17 pgs., 9 1/4" x 6 1/4"

This Ph.D. author worked & taught eletrical enginnering, later a Jungian analyser for 24 years in New England. No previous books.

Chapter I stands alone to provide a meaningful chronology of the life & times of Wolfgang Friedrich Pauli (1900-1958), a child prodigy born in Vienna of Jewish parents but raised as Catholic. He studied at Univ. Munich, did physics research at Hamburg & later at Zurich's ETH. He soon became acquainted with renowned physicists as Bohr, Rabi, Born, Planck, Heisenberg, Fierz, Oppenheimer (visiting) & Einstein. At ETH he sought help in 1932 from C.G. Jung, psychologist, for despondency. When the Nazi anti-Semitism intensified, he left Europe for a position at Princeton's Institute for Advanced Studies in 1940, Einstein already arrived in 1933. Pauli received the 1945 Noble Prize in physics for discovery of the "exclusion principle."

MAJOR FLAW to my mind: - more than half of the treatise, nay 75%, deals with Pauli's recital of dreams spanning sme 25 years (periodically from 1932 - 1957) for Jung to analyze. So now we have embarked on a phantasmal supernatural & primordial journey into the imaginary discarnate world of apparition, archetypal imagery bearing a host of titular Greek names as 'manadala', "acausal connecting principle" of 'synchronicity' embracing ESP, anima/animus, where basic treatment involves introducing the Ego to the "collective unconsciousness." etc. For mythologists this could be a precious piece of prose, but frankly I'd expect readership to be severely wanting. The book is not about God nor about religion, but much closer to an ideology embracing magic, mystery, palmistry, phrenology, & peeking at Peking tea leaves. Speaking of leaves, I'd leave this one alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Pauli and Jung: The Meeting of Two Great Minds
Pauli and Jung: The Meeting of Two Great Minds by David P. Lindorff (Hardcover - November 1, 2004)
Used & New from: $10.93
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.