Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Winner From The Charming and Witty Dot Frank
Wonderful characters who spout witty dialogue, the luscious South Carolina setting she is famous for, and hefty helpings of the food and manners bred as only the South can breed, make this latest offering from Dot Frank a true gem for lazy summer days. Even if you're not reading it on the beach, you will smell the salt air and experience the sand between your toes. The...
Published on June 11, 2005 by Antoinette Klein

versus
24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unjust Southern Caricatures
I was terribly disappointed by this latest effort from Dorothea Benton Frank because I enjoyed her earlier stories about the Lowcountry. Being a resident of this area myself, I wanted to like the book, but the implausibility of the initial domestic relations situation was my first clue that I wasn't going to buy into this story. The complete bias of the court decision...
Published on July 25, 2005 by Susann D. Giilbert


‹ Previous | 16 7 811 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, April 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Another one great read by one of my FAVORITE authors! So glad I'm catching up on all her books! Can't wait for her new one in June 2013!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, April 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
All books by Dorothea Benton Frank are great. The way she writes just makes me want to pack up and go to the beaches in South Carolina.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, March 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It was Interesting, but the book had a Predictable plot and ending. It has a good message. Would recommend it to someone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spellbinding ..., March 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I felt like I had sand between my toes while reading this book... yet again from my new fave author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pawley's Island, March 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
We vacation here every summer so all the places that Ms. Frank mentions is dear to our hearts. It was a wonderful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pawleys Island, December 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am loving the lowcountry tales. Love all the southern charm. Good story lines. Good character development.I feel like I am there the way she describes the Island.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Parleys island, December 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Love the author it's my second book ....love the scenery and the characters .....makes you feel like you're there !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, November 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
DBF sure knows how to get you to relax, and read. The Lowcountry tales are the best. I love her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pawley's Island, September 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It was very enjoyable, a nice relaxing read. The characters were fun, with some interesting twists. I enjoyed the stance the mother took with her children, it was very bold and nontraditional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Memories, August 6, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I enjoyed this book because I've been to Pawley's Island several times and still have wonderful memories of time spent there. I thought the characters were very well developed and very likable. I had no problem getting into the book. It captured me right away. I would definitely recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 811 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Pawleys Island (A Lowcountry Tale)
Pawleys Island (A Lowcountry Tale) by Dorothea Benton Frank (Paperback - November 7, 2006)
$16.00 $13.16
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.