Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Review From The Peanut Gallery
Peanuts specials are timeless classics with wonderful moral lessons and clean/clever humor that you can't find presented the same way nowadays. The peanuts will always have a more adult sense of awareness but still never lose their innocence. This 1970's Volume 1 Collection is being released October 20th and will contain the following remastered six specials, two of which...
Published on August 21, 2009 by Reconnecting To My Childhood

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good except disk on did not work!
Its great to see the old gang again and share them with my kids but disk one does not work. That was disappointing. I did not know how to return it and so I did not bother, still...
Published on May 27, 2012 by J. E. Metcalf


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Review From The Peanut Gallery, August 21, 2009
This review is from: Peanuts: 1970's Collection, Vol. 1 (It's a Mystery Charlie Brown / Play It Again / A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving / It's the Easter Beagle / There's No Time for Love / You're Not Elected) (DVD)
Peanuts specials are timeless classics with wonderful moral lessons and clean/clever humor that you can't find presented the same way nowadays. The peanuts will always have a more adult sense of awareness but still never lose their innocence. This 1970's Volume 1 Collection is being released October 20th and will contain the following remastered six specials, two of which have never seen DVD before:

-Disc 1-
Play It Again, Charlie Brown (Aired: 3/28/1971)
In her continuing attempts to get Schroeder's attention Lucy arranges for him to play at the PTA Program. Unfortunately they don't want to hear Schroeder's choice of Beethoven.

You're Not Elected, Charlie Brown (Aired: 10/29/1972)
Linus is running in the school election but another speech about The Great Pumpkin may ruin his chances.

There's No Time For Love, Charlie Brown (Aired: 3/11/1973)
A favorite of mine where a school field trip finds Charlie Brown, Linus, Peppermint Patty and Marcy mistaking a supermarket for an art museum. At the same time Charlie Brown deals with disappointment.

A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving (Aired: 11/20/1973)
Somehow good ol' Chuck winds up hosting Thanksgiving Dinner for the rest of the gang after Peppermint Patty invites herself over. With help from Snoopy and woodstock Charlie Brown might make enough popcorn and buttered toast for all.

-Disc 2-
It's A Mystery, Charlie Brown (Aired: 2/1/1974)
Snoopy tries to find Woodstock's missing nest. Meanwhile Sally worries about a science project.

It's The Easter Beagle, Charlie Brown (Aired: 4/9/1974)
The perennial classic in which all are dying eggs and celebrating Easter. Everyone can remember the sight of Snoopy gleefully running about Easter morning passing out colored eggs as the Easter Beagle.

Also contained on Disc 2 is an all new featurette, Woodstock: Creating Snoopy's Sidekick. These specials are being presented remastered in their original Full Frame video format with English Mono Audio. Other audio soundtrack options will include Spanish, Portugese and Japanese. Subtitles will be available in English, Spanish, French, Portugese, Japanese and Thai.

These specials are all classics and are perfect for parents looking for suitable programming for their children or for adults who grew up watching them and want a chance to reminisce on past days and simpler times. I can't wait to own them in this DVD set and am certainly excited to collect the rest of the 70's era Peanut specials in Volume 2 (which should collect 6 more specials from Be My Valentine Charlie Brown to You're The Greatest, Charlie Brown). Thanks For Your Time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleased to see WB releasing Peanuts in this way, August 18, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Peanuts: 1970's Collection, Vol. 1 (It's a Mystery Charlie Brown / Play It Again / A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving / It's the Easter Beagle / There's No Time for Love / You're Not Elected) (DVD)
Hopefully, Warner does as good a job with this collection as they did with the Peanuts 1960's [sic] collection. The six specials on that collection look great. Sadly, they removed all the extra featurettes from the original releases, but included a very good new featurette. I hope that former trend doesn't continue. So this collection will have six specials as well. If current trends continue, can we expect to see the following?

1960s: (* denotes currently released single WB DVD release, ** denotes previously released Paramount DVD release)
A Charlie Brown Christmas*
Charlie Brown's All-Stars**
It's the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown*
You're In Love, Charlie Brown*
He's Your Dog, Charlie Brown
It Was a Short Summer, Charlie Brown

1970s, vol. 1:
Play it Again, Charlie Brown
You're Not Elected, Charlie Brown*
There's No Time for Love, Charlie Brown**
A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving*
It's a Mystery, Charlie Brown
It's the Easter Beagle, Charlie Brown*

1970s, vol. 2: (conjecture)
Be My Valentine, Charlie Brown*
You're a Good Sport, Charlie Brown*
It's Arbor Day, Charlie Brown*
It's Your First Kiss, Charlie Brown*
What a Nightmare, Charlie Brown
You're the Greatest, Charlie Brown*

1980s, vol. 1: (conjecture)
She's a Good Skate, Charlie Brown
Life is a Circus, Charlie Brown
It's Magic, Charlie Brown*
Someday You'll Find Her, Charlie Brown**
A Charlie Brown Celebration (this is a one hour program--wonder how they'll handle that?)

1980s, vol. 2: (conjecture)
Is This Goodbye, Charlie Brown?
It's an Adventure, Charlie Brown (another hour-long program)
What Have We Learned, Charlie Brown?
It's Flashbeagle, Charlie Brown*
Snoopy's Getting Married, Charlie Brown

1980s, vol. 3: (conjecture--would have an extra half-hour of programming)
You're A Good Man, Charlie Brown (hour-long)
Happy New Year, Charlie Brown(* announced)
Snoopy: The Musical (hour-long)
It's the Girl in the Red Truck, Charlie Brown (hour-long)

1990s: (conjecture)
Why, Charlie Brown, Why?
Snoopy's Reunion*
It's Spring Training, Charlie Brown**
It's Christmastime Again, Charlie Brown*
You're In the Superbowl, Charlie Brown (there may be rights issues on this one, the "Holy Grail" of Peanuts specials)
It Was My Best Birthday Ever, Charlie Brown (DTV)

2000s: (conjecture--would have an extra 17 minutes of programming)
It's the Pied Piper, Charlie Brown** (DTV)
A Charlie Brown Valentine**
Charlie Brown's Christmas Tales** (17 minutes only)
Lucy Must Be Traded, Charlie Brown**
I Want a Dog For Christmas, Charlie Brown** (*announced) (hour-long)
He's a Bully, Charlie Brown*

In all, it would fit nicely into eight boxed sets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Use caution before starting a Peanuts DVD collection..., April 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Peanuts: 1970's Collection, Vol. 1 (It's a Mystery Charlie Brown / Play It Again / A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving / It's the Easter Beagle / There's No Time for Love / You're Not Elected) (DVD)
This is a nice set of episodes if you don't already have most of them. I have the first 3 volumes (60's, 70's 1, 70's 2) and almost all the individual releases trying to get every available episode. I really don't like it when the DVD companies release complete seasons/volumes and then just stop releasing. I assume we won't see them continue into the 80's or it would have been out/announced by now being a year since this release and that we only went six months in between the other.

Now I'm stuck with duplicates of almost all these episodes. A. From buying them previously, and B. now from starting to purchase more individual discs since I've realized they won't be releasing the rest in a comprehensive format anymore.

Just beware...is all. Plus the fact that the Peanuts Specials have been liscenced to 2 different companies for release, there are 2 versions of most specials out there and alot of them carry different "bonus" episodes, so it can be tricky to keep track of it.

Just do some research before you buy if your just starting out collecting...not saying there's anything wrong with this set, just beaware of what's out there to avoid buying the same episodes twice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peanuts transcends time..., October 18, 2009
This review is from: Peanuts: 1970's Collection, Vol. 1 (It's a Mystery Charlie Brown / Play It Again / A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving / It's the Easter Beagle / There's No Time for Love / You're Not Elected) (DVD)
... but I guess you have to chop these sets into affordable sizes somehow. There really isn't a 60's Peanuts versus a 70's Peanuts. Peanuts will always exist in middle class mid-century America. It's exclusively a child's world that is presented, with all adult voices just coming across as a "mwah mwah mwah mwah" sounding drone, which is no doubt what you heard when adults spoke and you were a child and no doubt what your own children really hear when you speak.

Charlie Brown is a child everyman with dreams who exists in a world with a sometimes cruel pecking order. Lucy is always besting him, but Charlie Brown's own dog bests Lucy with nothing more than the threat of a slobbery kiss. The episodes teach lessons that in many cases, sadly, could not be taught today. For example, from the 60's specials, A Charlie Brown Christmas has Charlie Brown wondering what Christmas is all about. In the end, as an answer, Linus presents the simple Biblical tale of Jesus' birth. The moral comes across as "Christmas is not about getting more stuff", and in the 60's did not ignite a firestorm - as it would today no doubt - of people claiming they were offended by the "exclusivity of the message" so that you had to water down the message to the point where there is no message at all.

The only complaint I can offer is that we are getting only one extra feature in this set on the subject of Woodstock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Add The *70s* Set To Your Collection!, November 24, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Peanuts: 1970's Collection, Vol. 1 (It's a Mystery Charlie Brown / Play It Again / A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving / It's the Easter Beagle / There's No Time for Love / You're Not Elected) (DVD)
I really can't add too much that hasn't been covered already. If you grew-up in the 60s-70s, "Peanuts" is such a big part of our growing experience that watching them now brings back those found and happy memories!

The only two shows that I've seen from PEANUTS: 1970'S COLLECTION was "A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving" and "It's The Easter Beagle, Charlie Brown" so the other four specials were brand new to me (I might have seen "There's No Time For Love, Charlie Brown" on another DVD or special because I remember the store scene).

Each of the shows have that special Peanuts' charm and many of the child actors--or those that sound similar to them--from the 1960's "Peanuts" specials, appear here. Stephen Shea/Chris Shea voice of "Linus," Jimmy Ahrens voice of "Marcie," and Christopher DeFaria voice of "Peppermint Patty" (who is the only PP voice for me, LOL) all show up on several episodes on this set. I don't know why but those three had such distinct voices, which matched their animated counterparts so well, that the characters wouldn't seem like themselves (to me) unless the voices were similar to those actors.

Anyway, the only aberration from the "Peanuts" formula happens on "Play It Again, Charlie Brown." As far as I know, this is the only instance where you can hear adult voices clearly...but they are coming from a can. The air dates aren't mentioned but PIA,CB has a copyright date of 1971.

The special features include:

***12:42-minute Featurette "Woodstock: Creating Snoopy's Sidekick"
Lee Mendelson (ex prod of Peanuts specials, Jeannie Schulz (widow of Charles Schulz), Phil Cousineau (author), Derrick Bang (author, "Peanuts" historian), and cartoonist Alexis Fajardo discuss how the character "Woodstock" came about. Fun little short about Snoopy's best friend and Charles Schulz was inspired by the actual "Woodstock" concert that took place in 1969.

Trailer for "Harry Potter" DVD-Game and iTunes Code for two free downloads of the instrumental songs--"Thanksgiving Theme" and "Charlie's Blues."

For iTunes, just open iTunes, log in, go to store, click on "Redeem," enter the code and the download will start automatically.

Add PEANUTS: 1970'S DVD SET to your collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uh...its Peanuts..., November 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Peanuts: 1970's Collection, Vol. 1 (It's a Mystery Charlie Brown / Play It Again / A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving / It's the Easter Beagle / There's No Time for Love / You're Not Elected) (DVD)
All I can say is that it is Peanuts. As far as the prodcut itself, buying these are the only way to get all the shows. It would be nice if you could just buy it all at once instead of seperate volumes, but who am I to complain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bought this DVD set for the Mystery Episode, but ended up enjoying ALL of the episodes., February 5, 2015
This review is from: Peanuts: 1970's Collection, Vol. 1 (It's a Mystery Charlie Brown / Play It Again / A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving / It's the Easter Beagle / There's No Time for Love / You're Not Elected) (DVD)
Note: My philosophy on cartoons/comics is that they should be humorous, yet also serve as social commentary.... revealing the truth around us in a way that challenges our thinking and societal accepted norms. I therefore look in each of these episodes for strong story lines that anyone can follow, humor that will connect to a wide range of ages, and something profound under the silliness.

Each of the episodes is reviewed below:

Play it Again, Charlie Brown -
This episode focuses on Schroeder and Lucy. Lucy likes Schroeder and wants him to return her affection, but he is focused on playing piano and his hero Beethoven. So Lucy signs Schroeder up for his first concert in order to win his favor, but it does not work out as planned. Overall this episode earns 3 stars. It is not a strong story line nor particularly charming... and nothing profound. I skip over the episode to get to the others.

You're Not Elected, Charlie Brown -
This episode focuses on electing a student body president. Linus goes through all the ups and downs of campaigning and makes grand promises to the school body. However, being elected does not mean Linus has any true power over school policies. Overall, this episode reveals the truth of politics and can be used a great teaching opportunity for kids. I appreciate the strong story line and the humor. I give this episode 4 stars. Very glad to own it.

There's no Time for Love, Charlie Brown -
This episode focuses on education. Students are struggling in school and need to make their next field trip report count in order to bring up their grades. However, they get lost and end up in a grocery store instead of an art museum. I like the irony that a stack of soup cans is pop art and does look the same as a grocery store.... so in the end they get A's on their reports even though they went to the wrong place. As a teacher, I find many parts of this episode extremely humorous, but it also reveals some truths of our current education system and how art is in the eye of the beholder. I appreciate the strong story line and the humor, but i feel the start of the episode drags on a bit with school jokes before getting to the main storyline. I also think Peppermint Patty's rude comments about Charlie Brown and how she regrets them is a good teaching lesson with kids. I give the episode 4 stars. Very glad to own it.

A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving -
This episode focuses on the true spirit of Thanksgiving. Peppermint Patty invites herself and others over to Charlie Brown's for Thanksgiving dinner. The meal that Charlie and Snoopy prepare however is not the caliber of what Patty envisioned. With only popcorn, buttered toast, pretzels, and jelly beans, her temper rises and she is rude to Charlie Brown. Marcie helps Patty apologize and in the end, everyone is reminded that we need to be grateful for what we do have and our friendships. Thanksgiving is about each other and not the food being eaten. Overall, the lesson is good, but I am just not as fond of this episode as others. I give it only 3 stars and it will not be a Thanksgiving staple in our family.

It's a Mystery, Charlie Brown -
This episode focuses on finding Woodstock's missing nest. Snoopy dressed as Sherlock Holmes is on the case. Finally, the nest found displayed at school and labeled as a prehistoric bird nest. Sally and Woodstock then end up in court to determine who is the real owner of the nest: the one who made it or the one who found it. Its the classic issue of finders keepers. Overall, this is one of my favorite Peanuts episodes of all time. I find it extremely entertaining, humorous, and grabs my attention from start to finish. I also love the opportunity to teach kids about considering their impact on nature, that finding something does not mean its theirs, and about how a court case works (in a very basic sense.) I give the episode 5 stars for all those reason. The truth is I bought the Peanuts 1970's Collect Volume 1 DVD box set BECAUSE it contained this episode.

It's the Easter Beagle, Charlie Brown:
This episode focuses on the Easter holiday and it religious in any way. There are a number of story lines interwoven. My favorite is story is: Peppermint Patty wants to teach her friend Marcie how to make colored eggs. However, Marcie is ever creative in ways to cook the eggs the wrongly and they run out of money to buy more eggs... in the end they never make any colored eggs. In the end, the Easter Beagle saves the day by pillaging the horde Lucy stashed up for herself. Overall, the episode is cute, but its missing something to hold it all together. I give it 4 stars because i laugh so much at Marcie's creative destruction but the episode will not be a staple Easter ritual in my family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easter Beagle, Joe Cool, Beethoven, a Thanksgiving lesson, and more!, January 29, 2015
This review is from: Peanuts: 1970's Collection, Vol. 1 (It's a Mystery Charlie Brown / Play It Again / A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving / It's the Easter Beagle / There's No Time for Love / You're Not Elected) (DVD)
All of these Peanuts specials are "must-see's." It seemed like Charles Schulz and animators Bill Melendez and Lee Mendelson really put their hearts into something special on each of these. And it came alive with Vince Guaraldi's jazz scores. Here's the specials and one extra.
Play It Again, Charlie Brown (1971): Lucy longs for a warm gesture from Schroeder, who just wants to be left alone to play Beethoven on his piano. Peppermint Patty suggests "Lucille" book him for the PTA. He gives Lucy a "thank you" but has 2nd thoughts when he's told he must play with a rock band (with Charlie Brown on electric guitar!) and not play his beloved Beethoven.
You're Not Elected, Charlie Brown (1972): Linus decides to run for student government president. With Lucy as his campaign manager, it looks like the election is in the bag... until he brings up the Great Pumpkin. Joe Cool makes his debut here.
There's No Time For Love, Charlie Brown (1973): Charlie Brown needs a good grade for his report about the school field trip. However, he gets lost with Peppermint Patty and Marcie (this is her animation debut) and makes a detour for the supermarket!
A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving (1973): Peppermint Patty invites herself to "Chuck's" house for Thanksgiving. So he, Linus,and Snoopy make a Thanksgiving feast all their own (albiet unconventional)
It's A Mystery, Charlie Brown (1974): Woodstock's nest is missing, and winds up as a science project at school. So it's up to Sherlock Holmes Snoopy to solve this case.
It's The Easter Beagle, Charlie Brown (1974): Linus tries getting the gang excited over an Easter Beagle coming on Easter.
The extra on Woodstock is a real treat as it points out animation was the best way to get the yellow bird appreciated as a part of the Peanuts gang.
I hope they continue this tradition and gather all the 1980 specials together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Peanuts 1970's collection Vol. 1, February 14, 2010
This review is from: Peanuts: 1970's Collection, Vol. 1 (It's a Mystery Charlie Brown / Play It Again / A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving / It's the Easter Beagle / There's No Time for Love / You're Not Elected) (DVD)
From Mrs. Broadfoot, *Tic Tac Lady*>>Peanuts are always a "go-to" video for when you want something light and entertaining for any age. I bought this video to have in my *emergency* teacher bag for 6th graders, but have had other teachers borrow it...and the teachers enjoy it as much as the kids! You can always feel safe with the dialog, and there is always a bit of a lesson to be learned. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Grief. Another great purchase, January 17, 2011
By 
Levi Thomas "WWW.BYLEVI.COM" (Studio One Tree in the USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peanuts: 1970's Collection, Vol. 1 (It's a Mystery Charlie Brown / Play It Again / A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving / It's the Easter Beagle / There's No Time for Love / You're Not Elected) (DVD)
A must have for your collection! It amazes me how the Charlie Brown "Peanuts" series still holds true today. Still one of the best and I know at my house we still are excited when the holidays come and charlie brown is on tv. I would have bought this for any price. The packaging is very well put together and looks good in my collection. Great for a gift or for yourself. Cant wait to get vol. 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.