PEARL MOON and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Pearl Moon Mass Market Paperback – May 1, 2005


See all 13 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Mass Market Paperback, May 1, 2005
$5.31 $0.01
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"
$0.70

"Barbecue and Bad News" by Nancy Naigle
"Barbecue and Bad News" by Nancy Naigle
Welcome to Adams Grove, where the barbecue isn’t the only thing that sizzles. Check out Nancy Naigle's newest romance. See the Adams Grove series
Available from these sellers.

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

Contemporary Hong Kong is the exotic backdrop for Stone's (Happy Endings) romantic story of two sisters separated by fate but reunited in the construction of a sumptuous hotel. As Maylene Kwan lavishes her architectural skills on the Jade Palace's design, she skirmishes with its builder, an arrogant chauvinist who has more than a business interest in Maylene. Elsewhere, photographer Allison Whitaker is handed a golden opportunity to escape her smothering Texas family-an assignment to decorate a new Asian hotel with her murals. (That the hotel is the Jade Palace, and that Allison and Maylene are the long-separated siblings, will hardly surprise readers.) While Maylene struggles with her conflicted past and romantic present, Allison is falling for the hotel's developer, who is still consumed with thoughts of his dead wife (the Jade Palace will be a monument to her memory). Lurking in the shadows, meanwhile, is a madman set on destroying the Jade Palace and all who stand in his way. Stone's vivid narrative and glamorous settings energize this melodramatic tale, though her somewhat superficial characters seldom strike any real sparks. 100,000 first printing.
Copyright 1995 Reed Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to the Hardcover edition.

From Library Journal

Pearl Moon begins with an account of a young Chinese girl and an American flyer on leave from the Vietnam War and their week of wondrous love. Because of their different backgrounds, they conclude that a relationship is impossible. A female child is born of this union. The flyer returns home, marries, takes over the family business, celebrates the birth of his baby daughter, and dies. On to the present day, when two girls meet in Hong Kong in connection with the building of Hong Kong's newest luxury hotel, the Jade Palace. They soon discover that they share the same father, our flyboy. They each meet the other parent; find true loves; survive a car bombing, an evil villain, and a typhoon; and live happily ever after. This is light and fluffy formula reading in the vein of Danielle Steel and Sandra Brown. If you have trouble keeping these authors on the shelf, then this makes a good purchase.
Dawn L. Anderson, North Richland Hills P.L., Tex.
Copyright 1995 Reed Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to the Hardcover edition.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Mass Market Paperback: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Mira (May 1, 2005)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0778321851
  • ISBN-13: 978-0778321859
  • Product Dimensions: 6.8 x 4.2 x 1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 5.6 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (13 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #3,336,017 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Bestselling Seattle-born author Katherine Stone set about plotting her life's journey at a very young age. At age five she knew she hoped to become a doctor. Then, after writing her first short story at age 11, she realized that she'd love to be a writer, too.

In pursuit of that youthful dream, Katherine attended Stanford University, where she completed her premed requirements while majoring in English. She received her M.D. from the University of Washington. Following her internal medicine residency in San Francisco, she accepted a fellowship in infectious diseases in Los Angeles.

What remains one of the world's largest outbreaks of Legionnaires' disease coincided with her fellowship, which gave her the opportunity to write and lecture on this mysterious new disease. But it was not all work and no play. There was also romance in L.A. It was there (during a spinal tap!) that she met her future husband, physician and novelist Jack Chase.

While she had accomplished the first half of her young-life goals, Katherine never really got around to the second part--being a writer--until Jack bought her a word processor and urged her to "Just do it." The result? Bestselling books in the distinctive Katherine Stone style: a marriage of lyrical prose, evocative emotion and, above all, romance.

"There's nothing wrong with incurable romanticism," the physician asserts. "I love writing about nice people, who are giving life their best shot despite the sometimes monumental obstacles I place in their paths and who discover, despite those obstacles, the splendor and power of love."

Although Katherine has hung up her stethoscope for the moment and is writing full-time at her home near Seattle, her medical background is often evident in her books. "I very much enjoy sharing my passion for medicine--its drama, its emotion and yes, its science--with my readers."

The author of 21 novels, including Twins, Bel Air, Love Songs, and Pearl Moon, Katherine's books have been translated into 20 languages and sold worldwide. She is in the midst of converting all her novels into e-book formats (and thinking about her next book!)

Please visit her website at www.katherinestone.com.

Customer Reviews

The book was better than I expected but could have been tighter.
Sarah Sammis
I have read and enjoyed all of K.S.'s books.... and this one I'll reread before I return to Hong Kong again this spring.
E. R. L.
The depth to each story creates a realism unlike most romance novels.
Marina Kushner

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on October 9, 2002
Format: Mass Market Paperback
I don't see how anyone could find this book lacking in any way. It was great, the characters were great, very memorable, and the plot was fantastic. ALL the characters were very well-written, very real, very well-described. Not to mention the setting of Hong Kong, a place wherein the author made you feel like you were there. I could read this one over and over. James was my favorite character. (Although this author used the name James in Rainbows also.) So classy, handsome, and gentle. This is a wonderful read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By E. R. L. on February 7, 2004
Format: Mass Market Paperback
After my second trip to Hong Kong, I read this book. I knew exactly the places mentioned in the book. I so enjoyed the book that I called the author in an attempt to find the location of the real "Pearl Moon". (She's my next-door neighbor's sister!) And I was disappointed to find that the shop was a wonderful figment of her imagination. I have read and enjoyed all of K.S.'s books.... and this one I'll reread before I return to Hong Kong again this spring.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By "laylasop1" on May 18, 2004
Format: Mass Market Paperback
At first, when reading this book, I thought that there were too many plots, and that once one actually started to care about one character, the author would jump to someone else. However, as the book moved along and I saw how beautifully all the characters and plotlines came together, I couldn't put the book down. Despite the fact that I guessed who the "bad guy" was way before the end, it was an amazing book--one of my favorites!!!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Mass Market Paperback
iN THIS WORLD FRAUGHT WITH TRASHY NOVELS OF VIOLENCE AND DISGUSTING LANGUAGE AND FILTH EMERGES A BREATH OF FRESH AIR. THIS IS A SENSUAL,(LEFT UP TO THE READERS IMAGINATION WHICH IS MUCH MORE DESIRABLE) EXCITING, MOVING, AND BEAUTIFUL READ. I CAN'T REMEMBER WHEN I LAST ENJOYED A BOOK SO MUCH. IT MAKES ONE WANT TO TRAVEL TO HONG KONG AND RETRACE THE STEPS OF THE CHARACTERS. THE GRANDEUR AND BEAUTY WOVEN SO MASTERFULLY. THEIR IS SUSPENSE LEAVING YOU ON THE EDGE OF YOUR SEAT. ROMANCE, THAT WARMS THE HEART OF STAR CROSSED LOVERS WHO ARE REUNITED AFTER 28 YEARS. IN ONE OF MY RARE INSTANCES I DIDNT WANT THIS BOOK TO END. MS. STONE I THOROUGHLY ENJOYED YOUR BOOK AND WILL BE LOOKING THROUGH MY SEARCH ENGINES HOPING TO FIND MORE.IT'S BEEN YEARS SINCE YOU PUBLISHED THIS ONE. I STUMBLED ACROSS THIS BOOK IN A USED BOOK STORE MUCH TO MY GOOD FORTUNE. THANKYOU FOR SUCH A GREAT READ.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By "j_nguyen5" on January 11, 2002
Format: Hardcover
Well, to tell the truth, this is the very first romance novel I had ever read- several years ago that is. This novel left me with a good feeling at the end because the plots and subplots just tie all together in the end that it works just right.
But this is definitely NOT the best or even one of the better reads I have come upon. It is mainly satisfactory. But I do recommend it- if you cannot seem to find anything else on the bookself.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on May 26, 2002
Format: Hardcover
Very, very mediocre book... All the girls are beautiful and all the men are gentlemen, except one... How boring! Also the facial descriptions are so monotonous and repetitive; all eyes are luminous and all rain drops on eyelashes glitter like diamonds... please, give me a break.. Anyway, this type of writing may appeal to some, obviously...
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I can not say how happy I am to read Katherine Stone 's books I only wish Amazon could find more of her books .I have read them all awhile ago. now I am rereading them all over again her story's are out of this world.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again