Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best
This is one of the most readable environmental texts I've seen.

It is very comprehnsive and the coverage of the newest scientific results in the science of resource conservation is simply excellent. The content is oriented around a group of themes and applied to the concept of ecosystems and their management. Is almost as if the author has takrn the first...
Published on August 15, 2005 by Michael A. Walz

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Environmental Science Toward a Sustainable Future 11e
This book is very short on substance and backing up statements with actual facts or references to studies. There are also glaring errors and it is very obvious that the authors do not have a strong background in physical science (geology, chemistry, physics, etc.). I also find it very biased, politically, which is a subject that has no place in a true science text book...
Published on October 8, 2012 by mas


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best, August 15, 2005
By 
This is one of the most readable environmental texts I've seen.

It is very comprehnsive and the coverage of the newest scientific results in the science of resource conservation is simply excellent. The content is oriented around a group of themes and applied to the concept of ecosystems and their management. Is almost as if the author has takrn the first halting steps toward a unified environmental theory.

Two negative points though. Coverage of forest resources is a little thin, and like most textbooks, the price is way too high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic of the Genre, July 11, 2008
Dr. Wright's text has really become a classic of the environmental science field for good reason: it elucidates the basic principles of environmental science with depth and readability. This tome is not in its 10th edition because it lacks merit. On the contrary, this text presents the relevant topics in a more organized and rigorous manner than any other on the shelf. Students gain a fundamental grounding in the topics and issues of this emerging field, no mean task considering their great breadth.

The reviewers who have rated this book poorly have done so largely based on personal political doctrine. These people have missed the point. If Dr. Wright (or any other scientist) expresses distate for the current administration's stance on environmental issues, it is precisely because this administration has ignored and censored valid science in furthering their political agenda. Dr. Wright is merely advocating that the existing science be examined fairly and openly so that we can deal with pressing environmental issues like global climate change in the best possible manner.

Bottom line: a great introduction to environmental science, but not pleasant reading for members of the flat earth society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling, Comprehensive, and Concise, October 9, 2011
By 
This is certainly one of the most well-written upper level environmental science books I've come across. The written narrative is loaded with important information, concepts, and vocabulary, but is written in a way that is still accessable to the honors/AP level environmental science student. A great deal of data is presented in the book to reinforce the ideas presented. Even better, many of the graphs and other diagrams used offer a different angle than you see in most other environmental science texts.

The authors even have a few chapters covering issues generally not given much space in other texts. For example, an entire chapter covering pest management. This textbook is very much deserving to be looked at in the same light as the much-adopted Miller text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview for nonscience students, April 17, 2008
By 
I have been using this book for an online environmental science class for six years and for in-person classes before that. The students find it to be very readable and engaging. I've reviewed many other books and found that they never measure up to this textbook. As another evaluator noted, it's a great resource. I also teach science to environmental lawyers, who can use this book for a quick review of a topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Environmental Science Toward a Sustainable Future 11e, October 8, 2012
This book is very short on substance and backing up statements with actual facts or references to studies. There are also glaring errors and it is very obvious that the authors do not have a strong background in physical science (geology, chemistry, physics, etc.). I also find it very biased, politically, which is a subject that has no place in a true science text book. Even though I may agree with many of the book's views, a science text book is not the forum for politics, unless the book is sold for a non-science environmental policy class. I don't care if Bush or Obama did something-present the facts in a scientific way, not a political way. The author should try to use dates of laws and factual data on the effectiveness of such policies instead of glowing criticism or praise for a particular politician. After all, a true scientific text book is suppose to present the data and facts and let the educated reader develop their own opinion based on data!

The book also lasks expected chapter summary reviews of major points, important terms,and concepts and instead includes strange "Sound Science" review sections that are more opinion than concept or fact and severly lack in a review of the important chapter concepts and terms. For example, have any of you seen a science textbook chapter summary use the words: "outstanding science", "masterful assessment", "excellent analysis"? Really? This is how the authors summarized Chapter 18 in their Sound Science section. Once again, science is supposed to be objective not colorfully subjective. This book is a poor excuse for a science textbook, but may be better for an environmental policy class.

If using this book for your classes, please remind your science students to keep an open mind and to use their training as science students to evaluate what they are told. Remind them to be as unbiased as possible and keep in mind, that in science, discussion and differences in opinion are the cornerstone to advancing the true science (use the principles of the Scientific Method).

If this is not a required textbook for a class, stay away, if you are stuck with it, keep an open mind and try not to laugh or sleep when reading it's too wordy rants. There are better Environmental Science Books out there that do a much better job of presenting the true science in a factual way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to Follow and Understand, September 17, 2008
The textbook is concise and well written. The chapters are set up in a manner that enables one to follow along with the reading attentively. Main ideas are emphasized effectively. Overall, the textbook explains well the subject matter and is a useful tool for introductory level courses focusing on the environment as well as the human impact on the environnment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, December 8, 2009
This book is a good read. Interesting, very informative and easy to understand. I am an average student but felt "smart" after reading this book.

Jeff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great., January 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I used this book a lot for my class. I read it a lot for my homework it is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, December 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I needed this book for a science class. Interesting reading material. I learned a lot about the environment, and how we contribute to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So-So, January 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Although the item arrived on time and was the book I wanted, it did not come with MasteringEnvironmentalScience like described. MasteringEnvironmentalScience is an online access code. Feel like I paid more for it to include the code that never came with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.