Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The final three seasons of a truly landmark series
Has there ever been a more surreal and bizarre opening sequence to any show ever made in America than that of PEE WEE'S PLAYHOUSE? The Surrealists felt that one of the keys of art lay in our dreams, and the intro to this show seems like a happy nightmare of sorts. The music, Pee Wee's odd vocal interjections, the variety of visual images, the introduction of the strange...
Published on November 7, 2004 by Robert Moore

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Christmas special missing
My boyfriend got me this from amazon.com back in 2006 or 2007. At the time there was no complete series set. Seeing that this says it has the entire 3rd season I figured it would have my favorite episode the Christmas Special. IT does NOT and I think that's a false advertisement to state that it has the complete third season and not include that episode.
Published on March 13, 2011 by College Kid


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The final three seasons of a truly landmark series, November 7, 2004
This review is from: Pee-wee's Playhouse #2 - Seasons 3-5 (DVD)
Has there ever been a more surreal and bizarre opening sequence to any show ever made in America than that of PEE WEE'S PLAYHOUSE? The Surrealists felt that one of the keys of art lay in our dreams, and the intro to this show seems like a happy nightmare of sorts. The music, Pee Wee's odd vocal interjections, the variety of visual images, the introduction of the strange group of inhabitants living in the playhouse, all combine to announce to the would-be viewer that his was a show that wasn't going to go down any path that had been traveled by any previous show.

For five seasons beginning in 1986, this was simply one of the most amazing shows TV has ever produced. Paul Reubens was amazing as Pee Wee Herman, literally a child with the appearance of an adult, who was a veritable encyclopedia of irritating habits that kids can assume, with every annoying verbal come a kid has ever used. Armed with a great group of writers, a stellar cast, and some remarkable set and character designers, this show did things that no kid's show had ever done before or has done sense, though the influence on the more anarchistic line of kid's cartoons can still be detected. I would be willing to be that the makers of shows like SPONGEBOB SQUAREPANTS are fans of Pee Wee.

Unfortunately, this all came crashing to an end when a sex scandal caused CBS to pull the show off TV. In fact, before the scandal they had already ceased making new episodes of the show. But the incident did two things: 1) it caused CBS to cease showing the show in reruns and 2) killed off any future use of the Pee Wee character by Reubens. The series has been re-released on video, though it has been out of print for a number of years, and because of the sexual nature of Reubens demise, few networks have been willing to rebroadcast the show. Until this DVD release, PEE WEE has been more or less unavailable to the public.

Although Paul Reubens dominated the show as Pee Wee, the show is amazing today for the remarkable amount of talent on the show. Over the years I have been amazed at how many people remember Cowboy Curtis from the show, but are unaware that Laurence Fishburne portrayed him. Captain Carl was played by Phil Hartman before he went on to star on SATURDAY NIGHT LIVE for years. The second actor to play the King of Cartoons was William Marshall, star Blaxploitation cult classic vampire film BLACULA. Natasha Lyonne, who played Opal, went on to additional success as a child actress and as a young adult, including THE SLUMS OF BEVERLY HILLS and BUT I'M A CHEERLEADER. S. Epatha Merkerson, who played Reba the letter carrier, has gone on to a long career on LAW AND ORDER. And of course the woman who made Pee Wee's heart skip a beat, the beautiful Miss Yvonne, was played by Lynne Marie Stewart, who has gone on to plays a host of supporting roles on TV and in film. All in all, you have to acknowledge that this was far from a normal children's cast.

But it wasn't merely the human cast that made this show so remarkable. Inhabiting Pee Wee's playhouse were an extraordinarily odd group of denizens, from Pterri the Pterodactyl to Mr. Kite to Mr. Windows to Cool Cat and talking chairs, flowers, and fish. Conky the Robot would each week dispense that show's secret word, a stunt seemed designed to irritate parents' as much as possible. One of my favorite recurring characters was the Salesman, whose appearance at Pee Wee's door would cause panic and disconcerted screaming each week. And how could you describe Jambi to someone who hadn't seen the show before? A disembodied genie's head who each week could solve whatever problems facing either Pee Wee or his friends with those amazing words, "Mekka Lekka Hi-Mekka Hiney Ho!"

I'm delighted that these are available now on DVD. A whole generation of kids has passed not knowing what a great thing they missed. Kids who are in high school today have only a vague idea about Pee Wee, though they might know his two movies. For many he was someone whose career ended because he did something very, very bad, though not many seem to know what that was. Now we get to see all of these great shows again, and they get to discover him for the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wild mix of Mr. Rogers, The Wizard of Oz and MTV, November 16, 2004
This review is from: Pee-wee's Playhouse #2 - Seasons 3-5 (DVD)
A must have for any DVD library, this groundbreaking, innovative series, Pee-wee's Playhouse, was created and produced by the genius of Paul Reubens who also stars as pop culture icon, Pee-wee Herman. Pee-wee's Playhouse is marked by a campy sensibility and frequent use of double entendre, engaging viewers of all ages.

Incorporating clips from vintage cartoons, 3-D animation, hand puppets, marionettes, and a cast of endearingly eccentric memorable characters, Pee-wee's Playhouse is non-stop fun that might best be described as a wild mix of Mr. Rogers, The Wizard of Oz and MTV. Each episode, Pee-wee Herman welcomes you into his kaleidoscope, fantasy clubhouse for adventure through a labyrinth of zany characters and sci-fi inventions. Music for the shows was provided by cutting edge artists such as Mark Mothersbaugh, Todd Rundgren, Danny Elfman, and Van Dyke Parks.

This set of DVD releases divides all 5 years (45 episodes) of the Playhouse into 2 affordable box sets (which includes 8 lost episodes) in all their side splitting hilarity sparkling in never before seen DVD clarity.

Also, check out the newly released DVD of Pee-wee's Playhouse Christmas Special -- a charming, star-studded Christmas classic.

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection, but deceptive wording, November 30, 2004
This review is from: Pee-wee's Playhouse #2 - Seasons 3-5 (DVD)
I agree with everything that's been said so far. I loved this show when I was young, ans I'm glad that I had a tape with many episodes to watch from around season 3 after they pulled it from the air waves. Thatnk god they released this set as the tape was starting to get old and the quality was dropping at an increasing rate. My only problem with the set is the use of the term "lost episodes". I'm not sure if it just means they were ommited from the VHS set, but I know at least Heat Wave and Chairry Tee Drive were aired as they are on the tape that I have that was taped directly from their original airings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Paul Reuben's keeps reshaping the Saturday morning TV experience!, March 3, 2009
By 
Robert Badgley (St Thomas,Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pee-wee's Playhouse #2 - Seasons 3-5 (DVD)
It was quite a trip back in 1986 when Pee Wee Herman(aka Paul Reubens) first graced our Saturday mornings on TV at 10AM to invite us in to his playhouse and his unique world.Toned down considerably from the act that he had honed in different venues(more mature material),Reubens brought a totally unique vision to his audience.Children were certainly his primary target and audience considering the time and content of his show,but he also struck home with the parents as many of his jokes and routines they could also easily relate to.His character was an amalgam of retro kitsch and sensibilities with a modern twist.If the youngsters weren't hip to his older sayings like"I know you are but what am I?",they very quickly did.Each show had a lesson to teach through his interaction with either his playhouse playmates and/or the frequent visitors that would come and go.He talked at his audience,never AT them,and it was all rolled and served up in such a fun and delightful manner,that it went down like a spoonful of sugar.
Reubens' character was very child-like,similar to a young mischievious boy.As a result he had an instant and eager rapport with his audience.This remained from the first eps to the last ones.That is why it is no surprise that this show won an incredible 22 Emmy Awards;no mean feat and well deserved.
Pee Wee continues his educational fun time in this the second set of eps from 1988-1990,the final shows.Even though there were quite a few personnel changes over the series run,the shows' basic humour and warmth never wavered and there is much in these final eps to keep one endlessly entertained.Some eps like "To tell the Tooth",which shows that going to the dentist isn't all that bad,"Heat Wave",where Pee-Wee and guests play judge and jury,and "Playhouse for Sale"(the last ep),telling us that the playhouse will be there forever.All great stuff!
On the technical side I didn't find this set as clear and vivid as others have written about.I have the VHS tapes(from Hi-Top and later MGM) and I find some of those at least as sharp as the eps here,if not more so.Also in some of the later eps,especially where they show clips from the older shows,some of those clips are clearer than the shows they came from!?.In fact the clarity can even vary from scene to scene within the same ep.It is possible the makers of these sets didn't use as high quality prints as others have done before.I don't know for sure,but I DO know I was disappointed in the overall look of them.I was expecting better.
Also neither of these sets has any special features whatsoever.It is just a plain release,nothing more nothing less.
In conclusion there is so much in Pee Wee's Playhouse to love and savour.Paul Reubens is to be congratulated for the splendid work he did on those shows(over 20 years ago!).But I believe these shows will(and deserve to)be around for many,many years to come,entertaining and smartly teaching countless future generations some of life's basic lessons.I would have given this release five stars(as it deserves)if it wasn't for the lack of special features and my disappointment in their transferrance onto DVD,i.e with an uneven display of clarity throughout.
However,it is still highly recommended for children of all ages!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff.. but beware the double-dip, November 11, 2004
This review is from: Pee-wee's Playhouse #2 - Seasons 3-5 (DVD)
A box set containing all 45 episodes PLUS audio commentary, behind-the-scenes footage and other extras is scheduled for next year. Real fans will want to wait, if they can stand it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Christmas special missing, March 13, 2011
This review is from: Pee-wee's Playhouse #2 - Seasons 3-5 (DVD)
My boyfriend got me this from amazon.com back in 2006 or 2007. At the time there was no complete series set. Seeing that this says it has the entire 3rd season I figured it would have my favorite episode the Christmas Special. IT does NOT and I think that's a false advertisement to state that it has the complete third season and not include that episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pee Wee's Number 1 Fan!!, August 16, 2005
This review is from: Pee-wee's Playhouse #2 - Seasons 3-5 (DVD)
AWESOME! If you're a PW fan then no need to say more! If you don't know what he's all about- it's worth buying to find out! GREAT kid entertainment- I was an adult when PW was a hit- I' still watched and I have everything he's made as this character!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Long Last...Pee Wee, December 18, 2004
This review is from: Pee-wee's Playhouse #2 - Seasons 3-5 (DVD)
Forget "Seinfeld." I was much more excited about the playhouse coming out. Paul Ruebens is a comic genius and I'mm sorry that his career was cut short because of one incident at an adult movie theater. What was the big deal really, I mean what else does one do with your hands in that type of place? I mean he wasn't at the local moviehouse doing that so lets ALL get over it. Pee Wee was a masterfully created character. The show itself was well ahead of its time, and gave careers to Laurence Fishburne and others. Pee Wee made learning fun, he always taught us right from wrong, the importance of manners and generally always try to do the right thing and think of others. Its great to see them again, and there are new episodes that have never been seen. The secret word today is: ENJOY. Every time you play a DVD you will enjoy it so scream real loud. HA, HA!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hmmm.... playhousey!! ha ha!, January 7, 2008
By 
Alycia Eckerd (Collegeville, PA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pee-wee's Playhouse #2 - Seasons 3-5 (DVD)
Classic Pee Wee! With all the choices on TV, Cable and Dish today, my kids (6 & 8) just love to watch these shows! They'll choose Pee Wee over Bratz! It's great to see Lawrence Fishburn in some corney outfits as Cowboy Curtis. There's also guest appearances by Sandra Bernhard and Jimmy Smitts in other episodes. I haven't seen 'em all yet, so I'm sure there are other special guests!
So, come on in and pull yourself up a chair ~ like Chairy! Let the fun begin, it's time to let down your hair!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Poor reproduction., February 11, 2007
This review is from: Pee-wee's Playhouse #2 - Seasons 3-5 (DVD)
These CDs are poorly produced technically. The brightness ocillates from lighter to darker. This is probably some copy protection scheme, but it is a noticable degradation of the quality. I will probably return this set and try for better viewable copies off of tivo. Honestly purchased copies should be better, not worse quality, than broadcast. (PeeWee is great, however, even though the final shows are clearly running out of steam and jokes.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Pee-wee's Playhouse #2 - Seasons 3-5
Pee-wee's Playhouse #2 - Seasons 3-5 by Bill Freiberger (DVD - 2004)
$29.98 $29.36
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.