Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Endlessly Inventive and Enjoyable Ride.
He's never enjoyed the commercial success of lesser talents and his problems with addiction are well known, but hardly anyone has the same lyrical panache' and way with a melody as Julian Cope. I first became aquainted with his work around '84-'85 with the "World Shut Your Mouth" LP, but this double LP length opus is by far his most fully realized effort. Arriving as it...
Published on May 6, 2002 by WILLIE A YOUNG II

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars extra tracks worthless
Make no mistake this is a Great Album. You see why Julian left Teardrop Explodes. The album sounds fantastic after the re-master but the 2nd disc is worthless. A lot of dub tracks and instrumentals. Where are the thought out tracks that were left out. Oh I guess there were none
Published on August 22, 2012 by Lynn Bridges


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Endlessly Inventive and Enjoyable Ride., May 6, 2002
This review is from: Peggy Suicide (Audio CD)
He's never enjoyed the commercial success of lesser talents and his problems with addiction are well known, but hardly anyone has the same lyrical panache' and way with a melody as Julian Cope. I first became aquainted with his work around '84-'85 with the "World Shut Your Mouth" LP, but this double LP length opus is by far his most fully realized effort. Arriving as it did a decade ago, "Peggy Suicide"(his nickname for the ravaged and scarred Mother Earth) is not just some intellectual's exploitation orgy, but a sprawling masterwork that touches on politics ("Soldier Blue") love and trust ("Pristine") and even a brilliant, punkish little ditty about addiction and family ties ("Hanging Out And Hung Up On The Line") which features the best lyrics on the album ('well the blues had a baby and the ba***rd couldn't sing', 'someone shouted, "let's keep the afterbirth and throw the kid away!", 'and I fried my brainsac for the pain I felt today')and a driving delivery with great chiming guitars and a backbeat that doesn't let up for a second, you're gonna love it! All of "Peggy...." is stunning and finds Cope stretching out to staggering effect on a host of topics. This is real music from a brilliant (if somewhat troubled) mind and will entertain and dazzle as well inform, and you can dance to it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, even for the uptight among us..., January 26, 2004
By 
This review is from: Peggy Suicide (Audio CD)
This is not one of those albums you can neatly categorize. It's kind of like Julian, Hamell on Trial, and Built to Spill got together one night and took a heroic dose of acid :) Except this was all in 1991... It goes through a whole range of moods.. is a little hard to get into in Phase One with some pretty raw tracks like Pristine and Hanging Out... But after a few listens of the whole album it makes more sense. Phase Two and Phase Three are much more flowing and sometimes repetitive in a good way.. probably influences of underground electronic music I imagine he had been hearing a lot at the time. Just a guess there.. It's just one great musical moment after another! The track Safesurfer alone is worth buying the whole album. Phase Four lightens it up a bit musically, with the "hit" track Beautiful Love which is downright pop-ey yet not at all in a bad way, another great track, Western Front is really cool as is Hung Up and Hanging Out to Dry. The album plays more like a movie or a show than an album, with ideas appearings in one song and then coming back modified in another. Really great moments all the way through, and very few bad ones... BTW, to the other reviewer who doesn't know what "Not Raving but Drowning" is about, read the liner notes! It's based on the true story of a guy who was tripping on acid, and accidentally fell off the railing on a ferry... The song is a guess at what he might have been thinking as he went down... Anyway, a great album, one of my favorites for 12 years and by far my favorite of all the work Julian Cope has done. Highly recommended if you like Built to Spill or Radiohead... Great instrumental work through the whole thing too, excellent guitars... It is a real masterpiece...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Julian, where have you gone?, July 22, 2005
By 
This review is from: Peggy Suicide (Audio CD)
This CD was all I listened to for 5 or 6 months back in the early 1990's and I still pull it out frequently, especially while driving. This collection of songs is environmentally aware, but not preachy, and I believe that this, coupled with superb song-writing and the sincerest of devotions to the future of what Cope calls "mother earth" is what makes "Peggy Suicide" a theme album that works.

Stylistically the spectrum is broad. "Pristeen", "Promised Land" and "Las Vegas Basement" are all slow ballads, the first two cresdendoing into a signature climaxes, the last remaining heart-felt and mournful. "Drive, She Said", "American Lite" and "Leperskin" are great classic rock anthems. "Head", "Soldier Blue" and "If You Loved Me At All" are groovy and psychedelic, but more accessible than a lot of Teardrop Explodes material of Julian's yesteryear. The gem of the collection is "Beautiful Love", a radio-friendly ode to divine charity inspired by swimming with dolphins.

Some songs will be a bit more challenging to traditional rock fans. "Hung up and hanging out to dry" is an orchestral monolith with only the seven words of the title seemingly caught once again in Cope's repetitive yet ever-building crescendo to an explosive climax. "Soldier Blue" was written about a protest in which the police became involved which includes a related Lenny Bruce routine to accentuate the theme. These are all catchy tunes, however, and even "You" and "Western Front", which might remind one of cartoon soundtrack material, will stick enjoyably in the mind of appreciative listeners.

It's well to mention that Peggy Suicide is drenched in Julian's sense of humor which co-exists quite naturally with his political message. He had stated in an interview shortly after the album was released that he wanted the album to be "righteous, not self-righteous" and so he wrote anti-driving songs, like "east Easy Rider", which contain the thematic message, but which he commented are "great to listen to while driving". Not being on the same page politically with Cope, I still appreciate his devotion and these songs remain some of my favorites ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent Cope at his best, August 12, 2005
This review is from: Peggy Suicide (Audio CD)
Julian Cope really is a very erratic performer: some of his albums play like St. Augustine on acid - sweet, divine, censorious, libidinous and completely mad...check out "World Shut Your Mouth" for a taste of what I mean.

The pattern holds here but it is clear that Cope has absorbed the lessons of the rather unhappy (and apparently somewhat corporate-coerced) "My Nation Underground" and produced a set of songs that are political, dramatic, hugely listenable and full of great hooks.

The textures include the prog-rock epic aspirations of "Safesurfer" - a song about contraception with tremendous lyrics like "Just another sheep boy/duck call/swan song/idiot son of Donkey Kong/& I said: 'you don't have to be afraid love, 'cos I'm a Safesurfer darling'. Enigmatic and fascinating. The music is superb, too - waves of guitars beating the blazes out of one another.

Then there are the environmental anthems and sonic experiments of "Western Front 1992 CE", "Hung Up & Hanging Out To Dry" and the poll-tax riot song (complete with Lenny Bruce in scathing form) "Soldier Blue".

Not to forget the pure pop and jangly rock of songs like "Beautiful Love" (most folks rate this the albums best, but I'll pick the rocky, ardent and angry "Leperskin") and the anti-automobile vitriol of "East Easy Rider" and "Drive She Said". Political songs that pound in your ears yet melt in your mouth. Gorgeous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars meet Peggy...and Sqwubbsy, September 23, 2005
This review is from: Peggy Suicide (Audio CD)
Julian Cope is a bit of a legendary figure who has a tendency to write really earthy ragged pop songs with an offbeat edge. his songs are so great because he infuses them with pure personality. this kind of characteristic seems to drive the songwriting process forward into a solid effort everytime the studio reels start rolling. Cope's tunes are filled with joy, sorrow, confusion, and many times silliness. his love of obscure psychadelic music is well documented on his HeritageHead website; and his solo work draws alot of inspiration from that particular style. the guitar work tends to be a bit spacey at times, and the rhythms are primal and well thought out. every song seems to have it's own steady pulse and Julian rides over all of it like some sort of half-crazed insightful singing shaman.

"Peggy Suicide" is a crowning glory of an album. an epic slab of rock with lots of loose ragged edges. Cope's lyrics are splendid on here, and rather than print the lyrics out in the booklet, he opts to personally write his thoughts on the meanings behind the songs. his words are sung in a low slung drawl that delivers his wit and insight with a tense sting and a wink in his devilish eyes. the album is bookend by two tender ballads "Pristeen" and "Las Vegas Basement."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PEGGY SUICIDE: JULIAN'S FINEST MOMENT, May 20, 1998
By 
This review is from: Peggy Suicide (Audio CD)
From start to finish, this is a startlingly perfect album. Never before did Julian Cope's kaleidoscopic genius shine forth so brightly, and never since has he produced a work of such cohesion and power. Standout tracks include the intelligent rocker "Double Vegetation," the ominous "Safesurfer," and the utterly wonderful ode to Julian's wife, "The American Lite."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great musical depth, December 24, 2008
This review is from: Peggy Suicide (Audio CD)
Peggy Suicide is an album of incredible variety and scope, especially the rhythmic textures & the impressive array of guitars. The arrangements are innovative and the music melodious. The opener Pristeen is a tuneful ballad with extraordinary guitar sounds, followed by Double Vegetation, a brooding number with nervous rhythms. The tender Promised Land starts out as a folkie rumination, turning into a rock ballad as the guitars enter for a powerful build-up.

The uptempo rock song Hanging Out & Hung up on the Line is reprised later in the atmospheric Hung up & Hanging out to Dry with its long instrumental introduction. There are two anti-road songs, the funky East Easy Rider and Drive, She Said, a mid-tempo rock ballad with lovely vocal arrangements. Julian sure didn't like the road. Safesurfer opens with tormented guitars and in its tempo shifts display lovely mini-moog & piano.

The percussive If You Loved Me At All is a catchy track with symphonic keyboards, massed acoustic guitars later joined by electric ones, and considerably less gravitas than the others. There are two songs that explore overt psychological themes, the jittery track You with its unusual baritone sax and the appealingly melodic Head, whilst the buoyant Beautiful Love is spiritual & uplifting with its joyful trumpet. The American Lite, a stirring love song, and Las Vegas Basement are tender ballads with beautiful melodies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it's just one of the best record ever., May 4, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Peggy Suicide (Audio CD)
I'm positive. You have to buy this CD. it's just incredible. Cope shows how smart is, and shows us how sing a real lead-vocal. Besides the band and the songs sounds like the best. This record is milk. Absolutly milk and money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WE COULD CRAWL..., September 3, 2001
By 
Bruce Goldstein (Knoxville, TN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Peggy Suicide (Audio CD)
Quite simply, the most important recording of the 1990's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty, Pretty Peggy Suicide, March 31, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I originally bought the cassette in a reduced price bin decades ago but it all too soon went the way of favorite cassettes ....obviously I didn’t think is was great.....but i did like it and I finally replaced it with this 2cd set........I love cd one....which is the same as the cassette.....unfortunately I don’t care for most cuts on cd2 and only one or maybe two selections keep it from becoming a skeet for sling-shot practice.......cd1 is still in tune with my musical prejudices and that is an accomplishment of note......Julian missed my formative years in the 60s but he sounds just fine on pretty, pretty Peggy Suicide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Peggy Suicide
Peggy Suicide by Julian Cope (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.