Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only one problem...
TSA seems to like this lock a little too much.

I bought this excellent lock for a pistol case, and it alway performed beautifully. I borrowed it to use for my suitcase when flying cross-country, and was able to use it in fairly low light.

Unfortunately, it was not on my suitcase when I received my bags at my destination. I can't imagine this lock...
Published on May 28, 2008 by Gloria J. Smith

versus
11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a little switcharoo
Pelican would include an order form inside of new Pelican Cases for silica gel and for Pelilocks with the same catalogue number of 1506TSA. I bought a number of the locks which were black, 4 combo locks with a solid hasp...they have substituted these cable 3 combo locks which are much easier for someone to access. The cables can be easily cut with a leatherman or wire...
Published on April 10, 2010 by Mapache


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only one problem..., May 28, 2008
This review is from: Pelican 1506TSA Pelilock 1506 TSA Approved (Apparel)
TSA seems to like this lock a little too much.

I bought this excellent lock for a pistol case, and it alway performed beautifully. I borrowed it to use for my suitcase when flying cross-country, and was able to use it in fairly low light.

Unfortunately, it was not on my suitcase when I received my bags at my destination. I can't imagine this lock ever breaking, so I can only surmise that someone in TSA liked it so much that they decided to take it for themselves! It's a rather backhanded endorsement, but I definitely plan to buy PeliLocks again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pelican PeliLock 1506 TSA Approved Combo Lock, January 18, 2007
This review is from: Pelican 1506TSA Pelilock 1506 TSA Approved (Apparel)
This product does exactly what it is intended to do. I am able to protect my expensive electronic equipment with the comfort of knowing it is safe when not in my hands.. I love it..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Product for Protecting Items in Flight, November 3, 2009
By 
J. Rotunda (Alexandria, VA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pelican 1506TSA Pelilock 1506 TSA Approved (Apparel)
I needed a pair of locks for my Pelican case which houses all my camera equipment when I'm on the road. The locks themselves are very well built and are surprisingly heavy for their size. I always feel safe knowing my camera equipment is well protected by the Pelican case and, now, the Pelican locks. The only thing I would note is that these locks do use an intertwined metal of some sort as the bolt part of the lock which works for travel; however, I'm not confident this part could withstand an easy snip with bolt cutters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a little switcharoo, April 10, 2010
By 
Mapache "Mapache" (Fort Lauderdale FL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pelican 1506TSA Pelilock 1506 TSA Approved (Apparel)
Pelican would include an order form inside of new Pelican Cases for silica gel and for Pelilocks with the same catalogue number of 1506TSA. I bought a number of the locks which were black, 4 combo locks with a solid hasp...they have substituted these cable 3 combo locks which are much easier for someone to access. The cables can be easily cut with a leatherman or wire cutters and a 3 digit combo is significantly less effective than the prior 4 digit. Better off buying a 4 digit lock but make sure the hasp is long enough if you are buying for a pelican case... the original 1506TSA locks Pelican sold were perfect.....no wonder they stopped selling them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Flimsy piece of junk, April 27, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pelican 1506TSA Pelilock 1506 TSA Approved (Apparel)
Wow. I had a couple of TSA-access Pelilocks for years that were pretty sturdy. Unfortunately, one of them didn't make the last flight home with me (hey, thanks TSA!). Those original locks seem to be unavailable now - I searched everywhere including ebay. So I thought I'd try these. Obviously, any TSA accessible locks are going to provide only marginal security, but these seem to me to be exceptionally flimsy. I don't know what the alternative is, but you'd probably find a better lock at Walmart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lock it up, May 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pelican 1506TSA Pelilock 1506 TSA Approved (Apparel)
I like this lock with the wire, it takes it a little more flexible when the guys are throwing your luggage around, better chance of not breaking the zipper!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It does what it says, November 22, 2012
This review is from: Pelican 1506TSA Pelilock 1506 TSA Approved (Apparel)
Not giving 5 stars because I rarely give 5 to anything.

Pros: Easy to lock and unlock, easy to change the combination. The back side has some indentations (hard to describe, like bolt marks), which makes it easier to tell it from the face side.

Cons: Dials are TAD small for my eyes without reading glasses, but then most books are too.

Other comments: it's a very small lock, with a very thin cable, much thinner than those looped cables used to lock bicycles. You don't even need a bolt cutter for it, a small pocket wire cutter will do. Like others noted, this is more a deterrent, to make the access more difficult so that thieves would have less time and desire to mess with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars These work awesome!, February 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pelican 1506TSA Pelilock 1506 TSA Approved (Apparel)
Unlike cheaper ones, these work great! They are easy to set your code on. When working with them you can tell that these are of higher quality than others. I have had 15 of these on various items for last 12 months and I am super hard on gear. They hold up fantastic! I have had other brands prior and they fell apart, hence why I bought these. Buy these once and be done forever. Based on how high the quality is, I wouldn't be surprised if this is the last lock I own for the rest of my life...and I am in my mid 30s!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Useless., January 31, 2014
By 
JohnnyForensic (Northern Virginia, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pelican 1506TSA Pelilock 1506 TSA Approved (Apparel)
The first time we shipped a Pelican case with this lock attached, someone had twisted the cable out of the hasp, stolen our merchandise, and relocked it before putting it back into the shipping lanes. It arrived locked and intact with the exception of a kink in the thin cable. This is good only for keeping the two halves together if you check it in luggage; don't think it provides any security.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Needed, December 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pelican 1506TSA Pelilock 1506 TSA Approved (Apparel)
I purchased a Pelican 1510 carry-on case. I use two locks. I don't know if it slows anyone down from opening my case, but I feel better thinking they needed to cut these before getting access.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Pelican 1506TSA Pelilock 1506 TSA Approved
$17.25 $16.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.