Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Look Park Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$5.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon April 5, 2008
This is a movie full of intrigue and suspense. Denzel Washington turns in one of his best performances as Gray Grantham. Julia Roberts is equally as exciting as Darby Shaw a Tulane law student. Together they work to expose a criminal conspiracy that involves many high officials that include the White House. When attempts are made on their lives, it becomes a race to see if they can solve the case before they forfeit their lives in pursuit of justice.
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2006
The only objection I have to this DVD is that you have to turn it over half way through the movie to see it all!
33 comments| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2001
This is Julia Roberts best suspenseful legal thriller ever!!!! With Denzel Washington their charisma & chemistry are top notch.
In summary Roberts plays a law student in New Orleans who writes a paper ("The Pelican Brief") which theorizes a murder conspiracy involving the White House! Naturally this draws attention to Roberts and proves to be true. An intense manhunt begins. Roberts befriends an investigative reporter (Washington) and the chase & suspense escalates.
This movie & script really shows the depth of Julia Roberts acting ability. So if you want a very entertaining and nail biting movie get "The Pelican Brief" today. You'll watch over and over.
11 comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2003
Great story by John Grisham and acting with Julia Roberts and Denzel Washington. It will keep you sitting on the edge of your seat at least until you have to flip the DVD over to finish it. That's right they couldn't fit this on one side for some odd reason. At first I thought something was wrong with my DVD player or the DVD. Only when I took out the DVD and saw Side A and Side B did I realize. They could have at least put a message at the end of Side A for you to turn it over. Otherwise a great DVD. The chase to track down a story about a gangster that conributed to the Presidents campaign fund and how a legal brief ties it together is very well done. I would wait to buy it on DVD when they put Widescreen on one side and Standard on the other rather than have a Side A and B.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2003
"The Pelican Brief" is a good story about an ambitious young law student (played by Julia Roberts) who, after the assassinations of two Supreme Court Justices, accidentally stumbles upon a high-reaching conspiracy. Curiosity spurs her to investigate, and she writes a brief upon her findings, unaware that doing so will endanger her life, as well as anyone else's life who reads it. Darby Shaw (Roberts) is a smart, savvy young woman who manages to evade attempts on her life by quick wits, a bit of luck, and a little help from a government agency now and then (whose motives are unknown for quite some time.)
During her search for safety, she contacts a well-respected reporter (Denzel Washington,) who is known for his integrity. Together, they begin to unravel the mystery of the "Pelican" Brief, which puts both of their lives on the line as they try to stay one step ahead of assassins determined to stop the truth from getting out. Refreshingly, there is no love story between the two leads, although there is excellent chemistry and a strong bond between them; they do what they have to do, and mercifully escape the film without The Mandatory Love Scene.
The story unfolds in a manner that holds the audience's attention, with only small bits coming out at a time; we don't find out what was in the "Pelican" Brief until well into the film, and even after we realize what's going on, the suspense continues unabated until the very end. The cast includes some heavy hitters, including Sam Shepard, Stanley Tucci, Tony Goldwyn, John Heard, John Lithgow, and Hume Cronyn (briefly,) all of whom do a good job.
While the movie itself is entertaining and worth watching, the DVD is a pain in the patoot; midway through the film, it simply stops. No messages about flipping the DVD over, no nothing - it simply *stops*. Argh! You have to get up and flip the darning thing over (a true hassle for us lazy Americans, you know!) before being able to continue to movie - it really interrupts the experience in a jarring manner. There aren't any special features to speak of, either, unfortunately. Still, an entertaining experience, and I'll probably watch it again to see what I missed the first time.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2012
They just don't make them like this anymore. We watch this along with Forrest Gump, Back to the Future series, The Green Mile, Saving Private Ryan, etc... ( not all 90's movies I know) about once per year. If you can hold your nose on the leftie-leaning, "..all people with money are bad and want to kill people, pelicans, gerbils and anything that swims, flies, or has four legs, and that all truth-tellers are saints." underlying theme , then it's easy to enjoy this great little film. And what a brilliant combo with Julia and Denzel. What a concept they discovered: the attractive leads didn't have to appear nude, have sex, or create the sense that sex is about to happen any minute! We're not prudes, just saying it was a nice change of pace from much of the manure that seems to hit our streets coming from Hollywood these days. And the explosion, I can't forget to mention the explosion. If the shot of the car exploding were produced today there would have been multiple bombastic fireballs and fake looking pyrotechnics shooting everywhere to get the same job done as what a car exploding might actually look like. If you want job security in America, learn to blow stuff up and move to Hollyweird. Guess I'm tired of all the shots of cars flying overhead and blowing up. Enough already with the fireworks. We're not all nimrods looking for "shiney, oh boy shiney...car go boom (clap, clap, clap...)

Not the usual review but, hey, that's my take.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2000
Juila Roberts in a great role shows her true acting abilltiy and proves she can hold her own in a serous role. Roberts plays Darby Shaw, a law student who writes a brief concering the mysterious deaths of two supreme court justices and soon is marked for death by hired killers and crooked cops. On the run she trusts no one except one man an ambitous reporter(played to perfection by Denzel Washington)who wants to keep her alive so she can tell her story. Amazing film with the right amount of suspense and intrigue, and what`s so good about this film it managed to rise above the cliches that usually surronds this genre there was absolulty no love angle between the two leads just an innocent woman on the run type of story. Based on the novel by john grisham and probably the best one adapted to the big screen. A little too long 2½ hours long but it reached a staisfying conclusion. The best scene was the On foot chase scene in the underground parking lot. Great movie a must for any Julia Roberts Fan.
11 comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon February 14, 2008
The Pelican Brief DVD

The Pelican Brief is based on John Grisham's novelThe Pelican Brief (John Grisham) in which a student (played by Julia Robert's) discovers a plot to assassinate a couple of U. S. Supreme Court Justices so that two less environmentally biased justices can be appointed. Julia Roberts is beautiful as usual and Denzel Washington is superb, also as usual.

Highly recommended for fans of Julia Roberts, Denzel, Washington, and John Grisham.

Gunner February, 2008
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2002
This is a fine film and high quality DVD but for one major flaw; it is a flippy. That is you must turn the thing over half way through. Why must they do that?
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2015
John Grisham has written many great books but only few of the movies were actually as good as the books. The Pelican Brief is one of the few ones. I love this movie and I love this book. Great story line, planned out in great detail and nicely played out by a fantastic Julia Roberts and Denzel Washington. I honestly can't find enough good words to describe this book. It has everything a good mystery story must have. It is by far my favorite movie production of a fantastic John Grisham book. If there is only one book and movie you want to see ... take this one. It's totally worth it.
5 STARS from me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.