Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Format: Paperback|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon January 5, 2013
I didn't buy this book to do manga, I bought it because it contains the "Four Week Professional-Level Pen Training" course. This is the most challenging drawing education I have seen, and it scares me that no course or material I can find in the USA even comes close. On the other hand, this material you find here is commonplace in technical schools in Japan. In fact any instruction on how to do ropehatching is simply nonexistent in non-Japanese or at least non-Manga works. This is odd because of how incredibly useful it is.

A lot of the methods you will learn in this course can be automated with computers and screentones, but nothing beats the ability to sketch well. Your creativity becomes limitless and you can flesh out an idea or sketch "live" with nothing more than a ballpoint pen and a sheet of paper. The devil is in the details, and being able to draw clean lines without crutches (rulers and special equipment) or without nervousness is a core skill that will repay for a lifetime.

In all I'd say this is the best book I own on how to draw, and becomes even more powerful when coupled with other resources that teach how to draw from the environment (Freehand Sketching: An Introduction) or how to use sketching as a learning tactic (Visual Notes for Architects and Designers). For those looking to produce Manga, start here before you use any other book because you NEED these skills if you even hope to draw professionally.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2007
Anyone who enjoys drawing Manga, wants to improve their skill at inking, or break into the field professionally would like this book. There are informative interviews with three well-established Manga artists- Yasuhiro Nightow, Oh! Great, and Satoshi Shiki. There are also inking tutorials and advice for toning and correcting. The authors have included a "four week, professional level pen training" chapter to help you work on pen skills, and there is a special appendix with a suvey of 71 manga artists and the tools they use. I have many manga drawing books, and I am most impressed with this one. It is a "grown-up" approach to the artform.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2013
I have bought many art books and such but this one truly stands out, by a lot! The information this book has to offer is unparalelled! It even has a two week training course to get your pen work in shape! This book is the greatest for the simple fact that it tells you to stop being so damn lazy and just draw! The only and I mean the ONLY way to learn how to draw, is to DRAW! For hours every day just draw until your fingers hurt!! This book will get you started pretty well if you already know how to draw basic stuff with pencil, but for real mangaka to be, it's the pen work that matters. It even has tons of interviews with all the pros in the buisness and their experience with learning to draw. It has a survey from tons of pros on what tools they use to draw and so much more that I don't know what to say! Just trust me please do yourself a favor AND BUY THIS BOOK!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2014
Great tips for inking and for comics in general. Immediately became one of my favorite art reference books. (Alongside Figure Drawing for All It's Worth - Andrew Loomis, and Basic Perspective for Artists - Keith West.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2014
This is one of those essential art books that every artist should have. One day you're going to have to take that step from doing art student quality work, to professional quality work. This book will help you on your journey.

The book will cover exercises you can do and the materials you can use. Speaking of materials though, while i do recommend trying out the pen holder and nibs with dipping ink like the book suggests, I will also say they are not for everyone. Definitely not for me. So I highly recommend getting a Brush Pen. You can get the same effects (thin lines and think lines) but you also get more freedom in movement. And since manuscript paper does not come in the form of sketchbooks, this will likely be better over all anyway as the pen hold and nibs can shred the paper you draw on if you aren't careful.

Anyway, if you're like me and just have stacks and stacks of artbooks, this needs to be your collection. I'd say this is in the top 5 of all art books ever made.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2014
Excellent book! It has interviews from mangakas, gives you advice on how to go about constructing/approaching you manga, goes over different nib types, goes over what supplies/brands mangakas are using, AND has a section that is devoted to inking exercises. I am so glad I bought this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2007
this is an excellent instructional how to book not only for manga but for anything regarding pen and ink.
it is jam packed with how to techniques, materials and supplies. must have for anyone interested in working with pen and ink!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2015
Really in a way several books on the topic at once seemingly thrown together, but the chapters on developing weekly inking practice goals and discussions on nibs usage/wear was very helpful so I higly recommend the book for beginners.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2014
Excellent book if you want actually want to learn how to draw in the syle of japanese manga artist. Though you should be careful as the pages can easily come out of the spine if you try to press the pages out or with heavy use.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2009
It's not really a how to book, because it most definitely doesn't teach you the basics of inking. It's more of a book for intermediate artists who want to know more about certain supplies, the creative process, and other artists' techniques. If you're stuck and want to improve your inking, most defintely a good buy. It's not only informative, but it's a good book to read for enjoyment's sake only.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse