Penguin Lives Series

A Listmania! list by Oddsfish (United States)
(VINE VOICE)   
The list author says: "I've always thought that the Penguin Lives Series was a great idea, though it's been criticized. I couldn't find a complete list of it, so here goes..."
Pope John XXIII: A Life (Penguin Lives)
1.  Pope John XXIII: A Life (Penguin Lives) by Thomas Cahill
Used & New from: $8.94
3.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (46 customer reviews)

See buying options
Jane Austen: A Life (Penguin Lives)
2.  Jane Austen: A Life (Penguin Lives) by Carol Shields
$9.14   Used & New from: $0.01
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (25 customer reviews)

Napoleon: A Life
3.  Napoleon: A Life by Paul Johnson
$8.86   Used & New from: $3.28
3.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (78 customer reviews)

Charles Dickens: A Life
4.  Charles Dickens: A Life by Jane Smiley
$9.14   Used & New from: $0.01
4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (25 customer reviews)

Saint Augustine: A Penguin Life (Penguin Lives)
5.  Saint Augustine: A Penguin Life (Penguin Lives) by Garry Wills
Used & New from: $1.40
3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (41 customer reviews)

See buying options
Abraham Lincoln (Penguin Lives)
6.  Abraham Lincoln (Penguin Lives) by Thomas Keneally
Used & New from: $0.01
3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (20 customer reviews)

See buying options
Winston Churchill: A Life (Penguin Lives)
7.  Winston Churchill: A Life (Penguin Lives) by John Keegan
$9.49   Used & New from: $0.07
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (44 customer reviews)

Martin Luther: A Life (Penguin Lives)
8.  Martin Luther: A Life (Penguin Lives) by Martin E. Marty
Used & New from: $6.00
4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (27 customer reviews)

See buying options
Crazy Horse: A Life
9.  Crazy Horse: A Life by Larry McMurtry
$9.49   Used & New from: $3.50
3.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (80 customer reviews)

Mozart: A Life (A Penguin Life)
10.  Mozart: A Life (A Penguin Life) by Peter Gay
$10.87   Used & New from: $0.97
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (38 customer reviews)

George Herbert Walker Bush: A Penguin Life (Penguin Lives Biographies)
11.  George Herbert Walker Bush: A Penguin Life (Penguin Lives Biographies) by Tom Wicker
$17.79   Used & New from: $0.01
2.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (11 customer reviews)

Buddha (Penguin Lives Biographies)
12.  Buddha (Penguin Lives Biographies) by Karen Armstrong
$11.91   Used & New from: $0.01
4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (114 customer reviews)

Branch Rickey (Penguin Lives)
13.  Branch Rickey (Penguin Lives) by Jimmy Breslin
Used & New from: $0.01
3.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (36 customer reviews)

See buying options
Joan of Arc: A Life (Penguin Lives)
14.  Joan of Arc: A Life (Penguin Lives) by Mary Gordon
Used & New from: $1.94
1.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)

See buying options
Virginia Woolf (Penguin Lives)
15.  Virginia Woolf (Penguin Lives) by Nigel Nicolson
Used & New from: $0.01
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (12 customer reviews)

See buying options
Mao Zedong: A Life
16.  Mao Zedong: A Life by Jonathan D. Spence
$9.69   Used & New from: $3.18
3.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (28 customer reviews)

Joseph Smith (Penguin Lives)
17.  Joseph Smith (Penguin Lives) by Robert Vincent Remini
$11.73   Used & New from: $0.01
3.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (29 customer reviews)

Robert E. Lee: A Life (Penguin Lives Biographies)
18.  Robert E. Lee: A Life (Penguin Lives Biographies) by Roy Blount Jr.
$10.32   Used & New from: $0.01
3.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (24 customer reviews)

Frank Lloyd Wright: A Life (Penguin Lives)
19.  Frank Lloyd Wright: A Life (Penguin Lives) by Frank Lloyd Wright
$9.97   Used & New from: $0.45
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (19 customer reviews)

Dante: A Life (Penguin Lives)
20.  Dante: A Life (Penguin Lives) by R. W. B. Lewis
Used & New from: $1.59
3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (23 customer reviews)

See buying options
Rosa Parks: A Life
21.  Rosa Parks: A Life by Douglas G. Brinkley
$9.49   Used & New from: $0.01
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (19 customer reviews)

Leonardo da Vinci: A Life (Penguin Lives Biographies)
22.  Leonardo da Vinci: A Life (Penguin Lives Biographies) by Sherwin B. Nuland
Used & New from: $1.41
3.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (20 customer reviews)

See buying options
Martin Luther King, Jr.: A Life
23.  Martin Luther King, Jr.: A Life by Marshall Frady
Used & New from: $2.00
3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (21 customer reviews)

See buying options
Marcel Proust: A Life (Penguin Lives)
24.  Marcel Proust: A Life (Penguin Lives) by Edmund White
$12.89   Used & New from: $6.88
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (25 customer reviews)

Elvis Presley: A Life (Penguin Lives Biographies)
25.  Elvis Presley: A Life (Penguin Lives Biographies) by Bobbie Ann Mason
$11.73   Used & New from: $0.16
3.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (14 customer reviews)

Julia Child: A Life (Penguin Lives)
26.  Julia Child: A Life (Penguin Lives) by Laura Shapiro
$11.83   Used & New from: $0.01
3.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (25 customer reviews)

Herman Melville (Penguin Lives)
27.  Herman Melville (Penguin Lives) by Elizabeth Hardwick
Used & New from: $1.80

See buying options
Simone Weil (Penguin Lives)
28.  Simone Weil (Penguin Lives) by Francine du Plessix Gray
Used & New from: $0.01
3.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (13 customer reviews)

See buying options
Saint Therese of Lisieux (Penguin Lives)
29.  Saint Therese of Lisieux (Penguin Lives) by Kathryn Harrison
Used & New from: $2.70
3.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (19 customer reviews)

See buying options
Andy Warhol (Penguin Lives)
30.  Andy Warhol (Penguin Lives) by Wayne Koestenbaum
Used & New from: $2.38
3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (14 customer reviews)

See buying options
Marlon Brando
31.  Marlon Brando by Patricia Bosworth
Used & New from: $1.87
3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (13 customer reviews)

See buying options
James Joyce
32.  James Joyce by Edna O'Brien
$15.95

See buying options
Woodrow Wilson (Penguin Lives Biographies)
33.  Woodrow Wilson (Penguin Lives Biographies) by Louis Auchincloss
Used & New from: $0.01
3.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (25 customer reviews)

See buying options

More Actions

Discover more about this author
 See all of their Listmania! lists
Make your own list
 Create a Listmania! list
View your page on Amazon.com
 Go to Your Profile page

About this Listmania!

 

Author

Oddsfish (United States)
(VINE VOICE)   
Qualifications: I've read a lot of them.
Last updated: 7/2/11
Report abuse
    

More Listmania!

 

Gifts and Goodies for Fans of Jane Austen & Pride and Prejudice Gifts and Goodies for Fans of Jane Austen & Pride and Prejudice

Gifts and Goodies for Fans of Jane Austen & Pride and Prejudice: A list of 38 items by Heather Jean

Modern Medicine Modern Medicine

Modern Medicine: A list of 22 items by Kari L. Rhoades "krho"

Mom Has A Brain and a Sense of the Immortal Mom Has A Brain and a Sense of the Immortal

Mom Has A Brain and a Sense of the Immortal: A list of 11 items by Moonsong

Globalization, Poverty, Social Justice, World History Globalization, Poverty, Social Justice, World History

Globalization, Poverty, Social Justice, World History: A list of 40 items by J Chung

Historical fiction for a high school history class #2 Historical fiction for a high school history class #2

Historical fiction for a high school history class #2: A list of 24 items by DWD's Reviews "DWD's Reviews"

   

More So You'd Like to...

 

READ SOME AWESOME BOOKS READ SOME AWESOME BOOKS

READ SOME AWESOME BOOKS: A guide of 50 items by Georgia Rule

read something really good read something really good

read something really good: A guide of 50 items by S. Jones

Dive into Exciting Lives in the Best Biographies of the Year Dive into Exciting Lives in the Best Biographies of the Year

Dive into Exciting Lives in the Best Biographies of the Year: A guide of 46 items by Arthur C.

Embrace Ireland---literally or figuratively Embrace Ireland---literally or figuratively

Embrace Ireland---literally or figuratively: A guide of 28 items by brian komyathy "Thanks for scouting out my page and perhaps some of my lists and/or reviews"

become wiser during the summer months... become wiser during the summer months...

become wiser during the summer months...: A guide of 31 items by Michael D. Mullen "mdmullenofsocal"