Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST HAVE FOR ANY PENGUIN LOVER!
If you're someone who's interested in learning about penguins or even just like looking at them (and I'm assuming you are if you're reading this review) then this is a book you must own. The book is a combination of pictures, facts, and stories of the author's travels as he compiled this collection of information on the world's penguins. The book does a great job of...
Published on October 18, 2011 by dezraty

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for beginners
Very general penguin information. Was hoping for a more in-depth look at specific species. A beginners book, not for educational/ professional use.
Published 11 months ago by njzoogrl


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST HAVE FOR ANY PENGUIN LOVER!, October 18, 2011
This review is from: Penguin-Pedia: Photographs and Facts from One Man's Search for the Penguins of the World (Hardcover)
If you're someone who's interested in learning about penguins or even just like looking at them (and I'm assuming you are if you're reading this review) then this is a book you must own. The book is a combination of pictures, facts, and stories of the author's travels as he compiled this collection of information on the world's penguins. The book does a great job of providing quality facts about the various species of penguins in a well organized format that is easy is follow. While the fact summaries are top notch, the true highlights of this book are the photos and the author's commentary. The book even tells you where and how you could go see each of the species around the world on your own! Unfortunately most of us don't have the time or money to do this :( .... Luckily the pictures are so good its almost like we got to join Mr. Salomon on his journey. High definition close up photos of the different species are found on every page of the book (literally every page) and they are simply amazing. When reading the author's commentary you can tell how much time and effort was put into producing this book, and it clearly shows in the finished product. Do yourself a favor and read Penguin-Pedia (or at least look at the pictures), you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Penguin-Pedia, October 14, 2011
This review is from: Penguin-Pedia: Photographs and Facts from One Man's Search for the Penguins of the World (Hardcover)
This Book is about various types of penguins, their corresponding habitats, and all things penguin. David Salomon crafted the perfect mix of regal photography, personal experience, and facts. Penguin-Pedia is versatile and has something for everyone; flavorful for a child, educational for a student, and informational for a traveler. As a travel enthusiast I personally enjoyed the exotic locations. Salomon used up close photography in perfect lighting which made the pictures come to life. I strongly suggest reading this book and using it as a resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, February 3, 2012
By 
This review is from: Penguin-Pedia: Photographs and Facts from One Man's Search for the Penguins of the World (Hardcover)
This is the definitive resource for all images penguin. A truly inspirational visual tour-de-force, Salomon takes us on a surprisingly emotional aesthetic journey through the world's supreme penguin enclaves. I can only hope that a second edition is imminent. My coffee table needs more penguins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really brings penguins to life!, December 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Penguin-Pedia: Photographs and Facts from One Man's Search for the Penguins of the World (Hardcover)
This is really an amazing book. I bought it on Amazon a few months ago, after having some trouble finding all the information I needed for a report on Penguins. It's unprecedented for a book to have so much detailed information about every single penguin species. The fact that it is just bursting with hundreds of colorful photographs really brings the subject to life as well. I figured I'd use the information and then throw the book on my shelf, but it's taken a prominent spot on my coffee table- to many complements!

This is a great reference book about Penguins, but is attractive enough that I find myself repeatedly flipping through it just for the pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Penguin-Pedia - Gorgeous Pix; Interesting info, December 12, 2011
This review is from: Penguin-Pedia: Photographs and Facts from One Man's Search for the Penguins of the World (Hardcover)
Penguin -Pedia has fabulous photos, facts, and personal observations. I got it for the pix, but got caught up with the information.
For each of the 17 varieties of penguins, the book has a fact page, filled with close up photographs plus information about the genus, population, locations, habits and more. . The following page is the author's personal reflections and observations.

Author Solomon,writes that he has circled the globe and has seen and photographed all seventeen species.

Simply fascinating.
And I thought a penguin was just a small bird dressed up in a tuxedo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Informative read & amazing pictures, October 25, 2011
This review is from: Penguin-Pedia: Photographs and Facts from One Man's Search for the Penguins of the World (Hardcover)
My interest in penguins peaked after seeing them on a trip to New Zealand. I bought this book to learn more about them, and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the photos and detail that the author, David Salomon, goes into describing the different species. The book is an informative and legitimate source of information about the different species of penguins, and at the same time is a pleasant read and a great coffee table book/present. I'm very pleased!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful, colorful, fascinating book, December 15, 2012
This review is from: Penguin-Pedia: Photographs and Facts from One Man's Search for the Penguins of the World (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful coffee-table book, filled with breathtaking photography and facts about penguins. It is simply fascinating and I highly recommend it.
While it is a great addition to any library, it also doubles as a nice work of art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good information, October 27, 2012
By 
anonymous (California, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Penguin-Pedia: Photographs and Facts from One Man's Search for the Penguins of the World (Hardcover)
This book, while written for the general public, actually does contain some really good information about individual species of penguins and penguins in general. I found it very useful, and interesting reading, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant book for anyone who loves penguins, November 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Penguin-Pedia: Photographs and Facts from One Man's Search for the Penguins of the World (Hardcover)
A brilliant book for anyone who loves penguins. It has hundreds of beautiful photographs and lots of interesting information. Definately one of my favourite books of all times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great for beginners, March 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Penguin-Pedia: Photographs and Facts from One Man's Search for the Penguins of the World (Hardcover)
Very general penguin information. Was hoping for a more in-depth look at specific species. A beginners book, not for educational/ professional use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Penguin-Pedia: Photographs and Facts from One Man's Search for the Penguins of the World
$29.95 $22.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.