Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sharp, Quiet Macro, very nice, May 1, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pentax 100mm f/2.8 WR D FA smc Macro Lens for Pentax Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
This new WR Macro is as slick as they come: sharp, quiet, quick focus, but manually adjustable to pick the exact point you want to be the center of attention. I'm certainly glad I got a 100mm macro,(my first)as getting close to objects like flowers on the ground is easier given the greater distance-to-object possible for the same size image. Then there's also avoiding your own shadow. The blurred backgrounds are also exceptionally smooth turning leafy backgrounds into art backdrops that really add to the picture. A longer zoom macro would be even handier, but none I know can match the crisp image of this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1:1 Macro at 100mm but now weather resistant, March 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pentax 100mm f/2.8 WR D FA smc Macro Lens for Pentax Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
I used to have the older version of this lens and it was one of my favorite. I love shooting flowers up close and the 1:1 macro lenses are excellent for that. In December I decided to sell my old one when I picked up the Limited 35 mm macro. I love that lens too but it doesn't get close enough for the way I like to work. Now that spring is here I've picked up the new weather sealed version and it's pretty fantastic.

The bokeh is soft and very pleasant, maybe even better than the older model. The build quality of the new lens feels a lot sturdier than the old one. These macro lenses protrude a long distance from the body when they are close focusing, that hasn't changed between the two but the WR version feels more solid.
The new lens hood is a tad smaller than the old one which makes it easier to carry around. I think that it's the same length but the opening facing the subject seems narrower. The lens motor is not the SDM variety, like the "star" lenses, so it's not whisper quiet but it's no louder than the old one.

This new version does not have an aperture ring so I don't imagine that it would work well with an older camera body but if you have a modern Pentax DSLR I think that it's a good upgrade. The better build quality and weather resistance were worth sacrificing the aperture ring for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be called a "limited", January 17, 2012
This review is from: Pentax 100mm f/2.8 WR D FA smc Macro Lens for Pentax Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
For those familiar with the Pentax brand, for years, Pentax has specialized in small, tightly built primes. Those with all metal builds are called the limiteds. For whatever reason, the D FA 100mm WR does not receive this designation, but it certainly fits with the overall theme of both the DA and FA limited lenses.

Build is metal and very sturdy. Hood snaps into place and is fairly good sized. Lens does not have an aperture ring or a focus limiter. It does have quick shift capability which is very handy and can limit hunting. Focus is throw is quite long (it is a macro lens after all) and if lens misses focus, it takes awhile to cycle from one end to the other.

Optics are very nice and quite sharp from f2.8. Distortion is completely absent as far as I can tell. This lens is definitely a notch above the Pentax SMC DA* Series 50-135mm f/2.8 ED IF SDM Telephoto Zoom Lens for Pentax and Digital SLR Cameras optically wide open -- less vignetting, less distortion, just sharper. Stopped down to f4, they are pretty even.

Out of focus areas are a step above the older Pentax D FA 100mm f/2.8 Macro Lens for Pentax and Samsung Digital SLR Cameras. Pentax basically updated this design and added rounded aperture blades, so that out of focus areas tend to be smoother with more rounded bokeh.

All in all, this lens is a joy to use. Having an aperture ring and focus limiter would be handy, but the lack of these is not enough for me to drop the lens from a 5 star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent with minor flaws, July 7, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pentax 100mm f/2.8 WR D FA smc Macro Lens for Pentax Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
It was a tough decision between the famous Tamron 90mm f2.8 macro and the new Pentax 100mm f2.8 macro. Decided on the Pentax despite ~50% higher price: WR, 49mm filter, lighter and more compact, all metal outside, excellent sharpness across the field and one stop down from 2.8 (still very-very good at 2.8, compare the graphs for the Tamron and Pentax on LensTips). The fact that protruding front lens is completely hidden inside the hood makes it very handy for street-candids-portraits. On the same note, it's much less flashy than the Tamron - no gold lettering with bright blue stripe (the actual lens looks extremely "handsome" - elegant black with silver lettering that is there but doesn't jump into your eyes.

The looks was the least concern for me but I feel obliged to congratulate the designers. I am familiar with optics and glass making but as the end user I don't care how many optical elements it contains as long as it produces sharp images, fits into my pants/shirt pocket, doesn't weigh 2 lb and can be used in the field w/o special precautions. This lens was designed using top-notch technology with photographers in mind. Minimal weight, nothing sticks out, the focusing ring is at the end of the lens, an additional central groove makes it very tactile - easy to find w/o looking and easy to turn w/o slipping - it just "sticks" to your fingers.

The lens is really compact and sits well on K-5, easy focusing. Sample pics were taken handheld 1/500 around 6pm under partially cloudy sky with AWB.

I don't miss the aperture ring but I would appreciate a focus limiter (was focus hunting 3-4 times out of 50) and slit in the hood for CPL. Also the price is on a steep side, thus minus 0.5 star in the total rating. To avoid focus hunting someone here suggested to pro-focus manually and then go to auto, hope that will work.

Amazon price and delivery was up to their usual unusually high standards, paid for 2 day shipment, got it next day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent in all important ways, June 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pentax 100mm f/2.8 WR D FA smc Macro Lens for Pentax Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
I bought the Pentax 100mm Macro for extreme closeups of flowers and insects, at which it is superb. It has also turned out to be one of my favorite lenses for general use, sharp and contrasty even in the corners. A mild telephoto gets a lot of use, at least by me. And the weather sealing has taken away some worry a couple of times in the field already. The lens is light in weight, with very nice manual focus feel. I give it five stars (or maybe 4.9) despite two quibbles: A cutout in the hood for rotating a polarizer would be very welcome, and autofocus sometimes overshoots and stops at the wrong end of travel (not unusual with true macros like this one, I understand).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the metal body., October 5, 2011
By 
TOKUSHI "TOKUSHI" (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pentax 100mm f/2.8 WR D FA smc Macro Lens for Pentax Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
Small yet you can feel the quality. The IQ is stunning. I just love metal lenses. It feels just like one of the limited lenses.

Excellent buy. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it!!!, June 11, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pentax 100mm f/2.8 WR D FA smc Macro Lens for Pentax Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
A wonderful macro lens. This lens is extremely well made and I love that I can take it out in the Seattle weather while attached to my K-7. Focus is smooth and accurate and bokeh is beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good lens, August 7, 2011
By 
GNG "George" (M.Grove ILL USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pentax 100mm f/2.8 WR D FA smc Macro Lens for Pentax Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
I've got this lens with Pentax K5 for my 50th birthday. I did not use much the lens, but for portrait photography is good. The subject is in focus and the background is blurred even with aperture f9. It searching the subject for focusing, but if you help - it doing fast and quiet. That is the reason for 4 stars. Just to mention - you can focus with this lens by hand wit-out switching manual mode.
Filter size is 49mm - the cheapest in the market. I hoop it will last long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Macro Lens, July 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pentax 100mm f/2.8 WR D FA smc Macro Lens for Pentax Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
Really this lens was worth very cent. Takes excellent macros with great details and colours. Plus can produce wonderful Bokeh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great quality lens, June 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pentax 100mm f/2.8 WR D FA smc Macro Lens for Pentax Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
If your running Pentax - this is a great lens. Note - prices are going down here in June 2012. Excellent macro capability, fantastic color rendering, tack sharp and metal construction makes it an all around great package. Pentax makes some fantastic lenses - and if you are using their system - this is a great lens - especially with a weather resistant camera like the K7, K5 and the upcoming K30 - this is a great compliment for a good weather tough package. 100m focal length is a bit strong tele on crop sensor - but this lens works well for a prime. Plus, if Pentax ever releases their FF camera - you are good to go. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.