Customer Reviews


181 Reviews
5 star:
 (110)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


160 of 167 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome.
This is probably the best inexpensive zoom binocular. I have tried Barska, Nikon Eagleview & Travelite, and other zoom binoculars that cost four times as much, and this one is just on a different level for a lot less money. It is a lot smaller than it looks in the picture and comes with a great leather case. The binocular is very clear, sharp and easy to focus. It...
Published on May 31, 2008 by oleg

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent small binoculars
These Pentax small zoom binoculars bring things up close when at concerts and theater performances. I find they are best focused at the closest zoom, as when I focus at long distance and then zoom in, I need to refocus whereas when done the other way they stay in focus. The center retracting diopter focus wheel is a bit difficult to use as opposed to a ring on the right...
Published on August 14, 2012 by Matt K


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

160 of 167 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome., May 31, 2008
By 
oleg "oleg106" (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pentax 62217 UCF II 8-16x21 Zoom Binoculars (Electronics)
This is probably the best inexpensive zoom binocular. I have tried Barska, Nikon Eagleview & Travelite, and other zoom binoculars that cost four times as much, and this one is just on a different level for a lot less money. It is a lot smaller than it looks in the picture and comes with a great leather case. The binocular is very clear, sharp and easy to focus. It appears to be very durable as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome binoculars! Steal of a price (under $100)!, February 6, 2014
This review is from: Pentax 62217 UCF II 8-16x21 Zoom Binoculars (Electronics)
This has to be one of the best inexpensive zoom binoculars I have ever seen, and the price is so reasonable!
The magnification is fine, the optics are very good, and are sharp and clear. Focusing is near the zoom control, making this camera so easy to use.

I bought it for bird watching and love them as they are a small pair of binoculars that weigh under 10 oz...very easy to carry in my jacket pocket.

UPDATE: 3/3/14: these have he'd up great and I like the quality of the glass and the lightweight more and more. You can't go wrong at this low price.
If my review was helpful, would you please click "helpful"...thanks, you Rock! ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


94 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very, Very Fine pair of binoculars, February 25, 2009
This review is from: Pentax 62217 UCF II 8-16x21 Zoom Binoculars (Electronics)
This is absolutely the best pair of binoculars I have owned. The close focusing is great and the zoom stays in focus throughout the range. I highly recommend these binoculars to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A surprisingly good piece of glass for the money, October 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pentax 62217 UCF II 8-16x21 Zoom Binoculars (Electronics)
This is one surprisingly good binocular for well under $100
Good optics (not in the league of German $2000 glass, but somewhat close)
Well designed, easy to focus, easy to zoom and easy to adjust diopter for eye differential, it does not get a lot better than this.
It also has pretty fairly close focusing capabilities, considering its magnification range (8-16x).
Also fairly bright considering its reduced size. I have occasionally used at night with passably good results.

It loses one star primarily for two reasons:

1- In spite of its fine Japanese heritage (in engineering) it also, regrettably, reveals its Chinese heritage in the manufacture.
My unit came with one of the oculars poorly assembled and at the beginning I noticed that it did not maintain the diopter setting
consistently. Once I figured the problem, I unscrewed the ocular and quickly and easily corrected the problem. Just plain sloppy assembly.

2- This binocular has a very limited field angle, noticeably less than units of similar size and magnification power. Definitely not good for sporting events or other activities requiring a wide field of view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pentax 16x21 Binocular, October 10, 2011
This review is from: Pentax 62217 UCF II 8-16x21 Zoom Binoculars (Electronics)
Pleasantly surprised how light, small and powerful it is. The light collection and image sharpness is very good for a 21 mm objective. Compares favorably with Binoculars with objectives twice the size. For the price more than makes up any shortcomings. The zoom controls are smooth and very easy to reach while viewing. The same with the focusing knob. The diopter calibration is a little hard to operate while viewing compared to other Binoculars, but the fact that pushes in out of the way is a good feature. Another good feature is the three positions of the ocular rings. While viewing it is difficult to keep it from "shaking" at 16x, also normal considering the power-size (It is not a Carl Zeiss). Ideal binocular for backpackers, travelers, show viewing. Overall considering price, power, image quality, ease of use and portability I am happy with it. would recommend this to friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice gadget, excellent optics, March 10, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pentax 62217 UCF II 8-16x21 Zoom Binoculars (Electronics)
It is an excellent binocular, with a very good zoom for its size, and a very decent field of view, even at 16x.

Just one minor complaint:
On warm/humid days, because of the opctics short eye-relief, the lens can get misted up / foggy when you put your eyes close to the rear eyepiece it to see through, this can be very annoying. If this bothers you, get a larger binocular, but if you are looking for small size with high quality optics, at a decent price, get this one without a doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pentax UCF II Binocular, January 13, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pentax 62217 UCF II 8-16x21 Zoom Binoculars (Electronics)
I purchased a second for my wife. It has a great light gathering capability and the zoom works well. We use them for college football and to take on trips. They have been durable and tolerant of some moisture (would not call them waterproof). I believe they are a great value for a compact binocular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for a compact bino, October 27, 2009
By 
K. Meuskens (MIAMI, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pentax 62217 UCF II 8-16x21 Zoom Binoculars (Electronics)
These binocs feel like excellent quality and are extremely compact. They are smaller than I expected and come with a very good case. Just what I needed for my frequent travelling.
It is easy to adjust the variable zoom with one finger, as well as the focus ring, which sometimes needs to be done when adjusting zoom.
The adjustment knob for differing eye strengths pushes in to prevent accidental adjustment.
Clarity is very good, although as should be expected visible light drops at the higher zoom levels.
One beef: there are mountings for a neck strap but none was included in the box.
Otherwise, I am quite satisfied with these binoculars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great optics, September 22, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pentax 62217 UCF II 8-16x21 Zoom Binoculars (Electronics)
I bought this zoom Pentax to replace the non-zoom Pentax that I had for years. There was nothing wrong with my old ones until my Boxer found them and used them for a chew toy. Came home and found chewed up binocular parts all over the house. I have been very pleased with the zoom and think the optics are better than my older non zoom pair. Very sharp image at all zoom levels. Compact and lightweight with good optics at a very reasonable price. What more could you ask for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT zoom, February 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pentax 62217 UCF II 8-16x21 Zoom Binoculars (Electronics)
excellent product, purchased for work, compact, fantastic zoom, did the research, with the features this has it's hard to beat, the best IMO. amazon had the best price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Pentax 62217 UCF II 8-16x21 Zoom Binoculars
$103.00 $87.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.