Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet again Pentax leads the world, January 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pentax D-BG5 Battery Grip for K3 Digital SLR Camera (Black) (Electronics)
I have used the battery grips on Pentaxes since the *-ist (stupid name, but what a camera!). Like most things, Pentax only change something when there is a sound non profiteering reason. This model not only holds the spare memory card and the same battery as used in the K-5 line, but comes with a separate carrier which in an electrical emergency can be loaded with AA batteries to enable you to continue photographing until you can recharge your main battery. it improves the balance of the camera when used in portrait alignment. I commend it to anyone lucky enough to own a K-3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pentax Battery Grip for K3, January 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pentax D-BG5 Battery Grip for K3 Digital SLR Camera (Black) (Electronics)
Built quality Excellent . Connects great with the camera body. Very comfortable grip for vertically snapshot . Adds greatly in terms of work long life of camera. Control buttons for ISO and exposure and aperture. Adds a very to the body. Very recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works well! A little unweildy, April 6, 2014
By 
Daniel Powell (Laporte, Colorado) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pentax D-BG5 Battery Grip for K3 Digital SLR Camera (Black) (Electronics)
Bought this along with the Pentax K-3 a few weeks ago. In addition to doubling battery capacity (which is great with time lapse, night photography and video in the middle of nowhere), a number of the controls (shutter, ISO, Exposure, Exposure Lock, a second On/Off switch and the two wheel controls) have been duplicated on the grip portion, allowing you to easily take portrait shots without having to twist your hand over or under the body; instead you just hold it as if in landscape. Very useful!

Two alignment pins on the top of the grip ensure that the contacts to connect to the camera are perfectly lined up: a useful feature.

Another rather thoughtful thing that Pentax took care of: normally the contacts on the camera portion are covered by a rubber cap when the grip is not attached to protect from dust and corrosion. However, this needs to be removed when the grip is being screwed on. But where do you put that cap? In your pocket? Answer: one of the two depressions on the grip itself hold the rubber cap perfectly, and don't seem to have any other purpose, as the bottom of the camera is relatively flat. Maybe on another model these would be useful, but on the K-3 they happen to hold that rubber cap perfectly. Way to think it through, Pentax!

The On/Off was a bit confusing. It does not actually cycle power on the camera itself; just the battery pack. So it's more of a Battery Grip control lockout function.

Also the grip itself is a bit unwieldy. Sure, it's heavy like the camera, but with a stock lens attached, the grip seems to throw the entire assembly over its balance point and causes the camera to fall forward when sitting loose on a flat, hard surface.

Another qualm I have with it: if I'm trying to use the camera in landscape with the grip attached, my right palm tends to depress the shutter button on the grip which causes the camera (and in particular the rear display) to appear like it's malfunctioning. Yes, I suppose the grip's On/Off switch would fix this problem, but more often than not, this is not what I'm thinking about when setting up for photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A USEFUL ACCESSORY TO OWN, November 8, 2014
By 
This review is from: Pentax D-BG5 Battery Grip for K3 Digital SLR Camera (Black) (Electronics)
The BG5 grip came as a package deal with my K3 but I was thinking of getting one anyway. There are many great advantages and disadvantages of having one on the camera which makes it nice that it can be removed when not necessary.

Perhaps the nicest thing about it is the additional power source that allows the photographer to continue shooting without changing batteries when the body battery has been exhausted. It can hold either lithium or double AA batteries which can be purchased anywhere, which is especially nice if you are in a foreign country which doesn't have lithiums.

The grip adds considerable size and heft to the K3. You'll know you're carrying something when it is attached, especially if you have a 70-200 2.8 lens on there too.

The grip allows vertical shooting with top acess to shutter release, command dials and AE exposure buttons.

The grip can also be used without any batteries in at all.

The K3 can be programmed through the menu to choose discharge from grip first or body first.

The physical size of the grip provides a more steady and positive hold of the camera in difficult conditions. It, like the K3 is sealed and weather proof.

An interesting and annoying thing about the grip is that it should be turned off when viewing images through the LCD screen. If you attempt to leave it on, the pressure of your fingers will activate the auto focus and shut off the image.

Positive features:

1. Adds to battery life and shooting time.
2. Affords a more secure grip on the camera.
3. Weather proof.
4. Can be used with lithium or AA batteries.
5. Can be used with a tripod.
6. Can be used without batteries.
7. Quality construction, equal to Pentax camera body.
8. Will make you look like a Pro.

Negative features:

1. Adds considerable bulk and weight to camera.
2. Wont fit when attached in most smaller camera bags and holster packs.
3. Will only fit on Pentax K3 cameras. Other Pentax cameras require other grips.

All in all, it's a great accessory to own. Wheather you use it always or only ocassionally, it makes the K3 that much more versatile. I'm glad I have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great accesory, March 13, 2014
By 
Steven Niewoehner (CEDAR FALLS, IOWA, US) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pentax D-BG5 Battery Grip for K3 Digital SLR Camera (Black) (Electronics)
I like how it makes the camera feel in my hand especially when using a long lens, it improves the balance. Also like the extra battery power and the storage for an extra memory card.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars k-30/50 batteries will work in this grip with spacer, October 27, 2014
This review is from: Pentax D-BG5 Battery Grip for K3 Digital SLR Camera (Black) (Electronics)
so i came from a pentax k 30 just recently bought the k3 with grip to find out the grip does come with a battery. i know the batteries for the two cameras are different but . i was able to use my k 30 battery in the battery grip with the help of some spacers to elevate the battery to touch the contacts . now i can use my other batteries on the k3 as long as i put it in the battery grip. im not sure if any damage is being done but it works great so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pentax D-BG5 Battery Grip for K3 Digital SLR Camera (Black) (Electronics)
Very nice accessory to have for my K-3. Very convenient when shooting. Glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's design is very good and very helpful, August 22, 2014
This review is from: Pentax D-BG5 Battery Grip for K3 Digital SLR Camera (Black) (Electronics)
I'm facing some troubles with it. Sometimes I should take it off and then put it on again to make it work. It's design is very good and very helpful, but I think I got a problem with the one I received.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have item!, August 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pentax D-BG5 Battery Grip for K3 Digital SLR Camera (Black) (Electronics)
Excellent (Typical Pentax quality) product if you work out doors or travel. The choice of either AA or LI90 battery is wonderful.
With a large lens or if you have large hands this is a Must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, November 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pentax D-BG5 Battery Grip for K3 Digital SLR Camera (Black) (Electronics)
Great companion for the K3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.