Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$12.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 20, 2009
My kids and I were stuck at the airport all day, fortunately for me I found this book. I have never read anything that made me laugh out loud so many times. People came and went, occasionally people asked what was so funny, when I read a few excerpts out loud some went over to buy it themselves (unfortunately the airport shop only had like 3 copies.)
I am a huge David Sedaris fan, I also like Augusten Burroughs, Cynthia Heimel, Laurie Notaro, but here's my question - it took those authors at least 3 books to get even close to this funny! This is her debut?!!!? Wow!!!
If you like smart edgy dark witty smartass desperately funny writing, you've got to read this book. I PROMISE you will laugh yourself inside out.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2009
I haven't ever written a review before but this book deserves one. I got this from my boyfriends mother and I am not much of a reader; I figured I could read it on the bus to work. Well needless to say everyone on my bus route now thinks I am a crazy because I would read and laugh, with tears sometimes. Anyway I expected little and got a huge reward in return. It was a good read.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2009
Sara Barron has created a laugh out loud collection of personal essays. It's natural that comparisons to David Sedaris, Chelsea Handler, and Sloane Crosley would follow, but Sara is in a category all by herself. She's written a tome for those who like (or liken themselves) to Tina Fey: honest, hilarious, and 50% unaware and 50% unashamed of the unique ridiculousness that is her family, friends, and self. I also really appreciate her writing style - it's clear Sara loves words; she plays with them, breaks them down and puts them back together in ways that are as engaging as the stories contained in the collection. And although these are stories that you just know her friends have peed their pants listening to, they are completely universal and will appeal greatly to anyone who enjoys pieces that are a little bit bawdy, a whole lot self-deprecating and utterly enjoyable.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2009
Mostly because I'm THAT guy who keeps laughing a little too loudly. I challenge you to get through Chapter 2 (when a certain porno script written by a 12 yr old is discovered) without breaking out.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2013
This is such an amazing book. It sat in my wish list for a few weeks, and then I finally decided to throw caution (and money!) to the wind and buy it. It proved to be a great decision. I haven't had a moment reading the book that I didn't relate, laugh hysterically, or think about life and how awkward and messy it is. Wonderful read!!!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2013
...she IS unappealing. Ok. That's a little harsh.

This was the first Sara Barron book I've ever read. Although I didn't know what to expect, I was excited to dig in. In the end (and frankly throughout) I was disappointingly unimpressed. I don't know who Sara Barron is (maybe that's the problem) but her book seemed more like a sad autobiography of a someone you may run into on the street than one of hilarious essays by a well-paid, or even merely paid, comedian. I didn't particularly care for her writing style, grammatical errors, terrible puns or misspelled words. I often found myself reading the same sentence over and over trying to find the correct inflection/meaning. The book wasn't a complete loss, things took a turn for the better toward the end - not laugh out loud funny but at least entertaining enough to warrant finishing the book. Unfortunately, that isn't reason enough for me to read any of her other books or even recommend this one to anyone I know.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2014
I think it is fair to state first that another review set me up to think this book was going to be somewhat similar to Sedaris/Burroughs/Rakoff/Vowell, so I went into reading this with expectations that were WAY too high.

Having said that, I laughed out loud reading it once. Even Patton Oswald's "Zombie Spaceship Wasteland" is funnier than this. (To be fair to Patton Oswald, his poignant essays were by far better than the "humor" pieces. But I digress...)

Now I am slightly horrified that I also purchased Sara Barron's next book when I purchased this one. Wish I had held off. Maybe I will give it another shot.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2014
Hilarious. Her self-deprecating style makes it impossible not to love her. "The Porn" was so pee-your-pants funny that I couldn't stop laughing long enough to read it out loud to my husband and forced him to read it himself. Her family is every bit as colorful and likable as Sara. Definitely a book to read more than once.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2012
I have never cringed at a book for than this one. However, I did laugh, which is enough for me. The book ended rather abruptly, but it was an okay read. Sara has a very honest writing style, and she doesn't try to make herself out to be a hero, which I can appreciate in a memoir. Would I recommend this to everyone? No. The stories aren't flattering to anyone, and you have to have a generally weird sense of humor, which not everyone possesses. It is not for people who expect to feel good about life, because Sara pretty much hates everything and complains the entire time. Read it on a plane.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2014
I was disappointed by this. It popped up when I was ordering "Let's Pretend This Never Happened," by Jenny Lawson. I recommend you skip this and buy the Lawson book instead, which is out-of-this-world hilarious.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse