Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PME Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 27, 1998
An unbiased listing of nearly every cigar brand, hand- or machine-made, available at the time of printing. Perelman's job hasn't gotten any easier over the last few years since the profusion of handmade cigars has now become a flood. However, he's very much up to the task - there is no other book that comes close to being as comprehensive. If you regularly smoke cigars, you should always have the most current copy of this book on your bookshelf.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2010
Perelman's Cigar Pocket Cyclopedia is best respected as a refference for tabaconists and enthusiasts who want a quick guide and resource to the wide array of cigars available on the markey in a compact and easily acessible format. Although I would in no way consider this cyclopedia a end-all be all resource since It does lack some available brands and exclusives the overall coverage available here is quite good and offers the reader a brief look into each cigar brand including basic information on the blend, manufacturing and sizes available for purchase.

As it is intended to be this is by no means a guide to quality but rather just a manifest of the market. The small descirptions of each brand are yet informative and help to indicate some small facts on the blends but are not directly reliable as quality assesments in any way, and should be looked at more as an advertisment or brief overlook of the packaging presentation and small selling points(which is why this book is definitly a superb resource for tobacanists and retailers.

As a cigar enthusiast I enjoy looking through the Cyclopedia to find the brands I like and know what sizes are available before I might go out and look for a blend, but I still prize researching new blends(IPCPR trade show and the like) and checking them out at my local B&M or reading reviews from fellow cigar smokers. In retrospective, this makes great reading once in a while and can be used to find out basic facts and look into some esoteric brands that don't typically get to much industry face time. All in all a great quick referrence book which is in actuality the only book of its kind and very purposeful nonetheless.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2001
I expected the cyclopedia to include pictures of the cigar bands. It doesn't. Without a rosetta stone to correlate the listing in the cyclopedia to the actual cigar, it's pretty usless to me.
The info listed; shape, name, length, ring, and wrapper; can already be found any number of places on the Net.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2004
I run a cigar shop, and this is the best cigar guide book which I use myself and would highly recommend to anyone, from beginners to experts.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2002
Perelman's Pocket cyclopedia doesn't rate cigars, it's only a list of all non-cuban brands and their size, so don't plan any buys in Cuba with this book. This book is also of a small size (pocket size) as well as his font size which makes it quite difficult to read.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2005
The reviewer who indicated that this book was only a list was apparently unaware that the book is intended to be a definitive list of cigars available in the U.S. It is a reference work -- indeed, the only one of its kind -- and is not meant to be a guide to ratings, taste or quality of individual brands. Other books and magazines cover those things, but remember that specific rating information is often outdated by the time you read it. Cigars of the same manufacturer and type vary from year to year in taste and quality just as wines do...and for many of the same reasons.

Perelman's includes nuggets about where the filler, binder and wrapper of specific cigars comes from whenever possible. Sometimes, the information isn't released by the maker, other times it changes because of weather or political conditions. But this book is the only reference that comes close to providing complete coverage of this kind of fundamental information.

As a specialized reference, Perelman's Cyclopedia is both unique and invaluable. Highly recommended for those looking for definitive cigar information.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2007
This is not a how-to book. Nor is it a review book. It simply tells you the sizes of every cigar in production at the time the book was released. From that view point, it is helpful to people in the business, or people who want to use it as a reference guide (sort of like a cigar dictionary). If you're looking to learn about cigar smoking, then I would not recommend this book, but rather one of the "cigar smoking for dummies" books or a an internet resource.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2008
This is the best book I have found on the market for information regarding specific brands. I have a journal I keep and write in every time I smoke a different cigar. The band tells me a little but most of the information I am looking for is in this book. It is a very small sized book that can be stored easily. There is quite a bit about the history of cigars and cigar smoking as well. The content is all up to date also. Thanks and I hope this helps...
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2003
More photographs would have been helpful. Pictures of the entire line of each brand, with a close-up of one band, would have been much more useful than much of the text.
The proliferation of commercial ads brings the integrity of already subjective commentary into question. Objective information, such as country of origin, is much more useful overall.
All that being said, the book has it's uses, and was a fair value at the purchase price.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2008
If you appreciate fine cigars this book is invaluable to researching cigars that are "Diamonds in the rough" I can't afford the buy boxes of the expensive brands this book will help those who want to take the time great cigars at cheaper prices. Often pricey cigars are made right along side less expensive ones that are just as tasty. Plus it helps me keep my cigar diary straight with facts on manufacture and shapes.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.