Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost Perfect Rock 'n' Roll Movie
What do rock stars have when the music's over? Memories, Rock `n' Roll movies all seem to be told in flashback, like life is a remembered act. "The Perfect Age of Rock `n' Roll" keeps up the tradition following in the footsteps and owing some of the plot to "Eddie and The Cruisers", "Almost Famous" and "The Doors".

Spyder (Kevin Zegers) is the lead singer of...
Published on December 10, 2011 by Jym Cherry

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Self Destructive Rock Star Headed Down The Road To Oblivion: A Familiar Tale That Seems Too Familiar
Writer/Director Scott Rosenbaum recounts an oft told tale in his debut feature "The Perfect Age of Rock 'N' Roll." There are few character types more compelling than the aging musician riddled with self destructive tendencies. Living a life of excess certainly takes its toll and we've seen it in countless movies throughout time. And that's some of the problem with this...
Published on November 3, 2011 by K. Harris


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost Perfect Rock 'n' Roll Movie, December 10, 2011
This review is from: Perfect Age of Rock N Roll (DVD)
What do rock stars have when the music's over? Memories, Rock `n' Roll movies all seem to be told in flashback, like life is a remembered act. "The Perfect Age of Rock `n' Roll" keeps up the tradition following in the footsteps and owing some of the plot to "Eddie and The Cruisers", "Almost Famous" and "The Doors".

Spyder (Kevin Zegers) is the lead singer of the band, The Lost Soulz, who had the biggest selling debut album of all time. The problem is he stole the songs on the album from his childhood friend Eric (Jason Ritter), and after the failure of his second album he goes back to childhood home and gets Eric to write new songs for The Lost Soulz next album. Eric agrees to write the songs on the condition that Spyder accompanies him on a trip cross country in the RV of August West (Peter Fonda, playing instead of a motorcycle guru which he's done in recent movies), a Rock `n' Roll guru and sage. Joining them on the trip is Rose (Taryn Manning) a former lover of Spyder's and record company flunky who is supposed to get Spyder to L.A. with his new hit album. On the road they run into old rivalries, new loves, and Spyder's Rock `n' Roll lifestyle.

Kevin Zegers and Jason Ritter are the focus of the movie and as their stories unfold give performances that are the pillar and main support of the movie. Peter Fonda gives a good performance, although he doesn't seem to be extending himself much, it seems he's relishing the roles of his late career as sort of counterculture guru and his presence is supposed to add that creditability. Billy Dee Williams in a short cameo literally phones in his performance as the big time record company executive wanting his promised new hit record.

The soundtrack, essential to any Rock `n' Roll movie doesn't slack here and rocks with a blues, goth rhythm for The Lost Soulz "original" songs, and the couple of rock standards used in the movie add moments of recognition for the audience. One scene that stands out musically is when Spyder and Eric stumble into a blues roadhouse with a band that includes blues legends like Pinetop Perkins, Sugar Blue, and Hubert Sumlin.

"The Perfect Age of Rock `n' Roll" is a good movie, if not perfect, about Rock `n' Roll and the Rock `n' Roll lifestyle and its dark side. Written and directed by Scott Rosenbaum has produced an above average debut film, as writer director, let's hope he doesn't fall into the pitfall of his main character.

The DVD has a nice behind the scenes featurette on the production, a couple of wisely deleted scenes, and a music video for The Lost Soulz hit song "Turn Me On."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diamond in the rough..., October 10, 2011
This review is from: Perfect Age of Rock N Roll (DVD)
I saw this film in Dallas when it was in theaters, and I was both pleasantly surprised and really enjoyed it. As a huge music fan, I went in with my doubts and came out quite impressed. It's a great little indie film with a big cast and surprisingly big ambitions -- many of which it lives up to. It's also one of those rare films (certainly by today's standards) that requires a couple of viewings to fully grasp all its subtleties, which is why I will be buying it on DVD when it's released. I've read much of the on-line criticism by the mainstream critics and all I can say is, wow. I've always had a healthy measure of skepticism towards movie critics, but there may be no greater example of how out of touch with reality this group tends to be. There was harsh and undue treatment given to Perfect Age by the same critics who readily sit up and applaud, like trained seals, when Hollywood issues it's steady stream of regurgitated swill. The film's tremendous cast, their acting, the storytelling, soundtrack, surprising depth and of course the cameo appearance of blues legends combine to make this film a real gem. A diamond in the rough. Movie critics to me are on the same rung as politicians, bitter, untrustworthy, bought and paid for. Check it out and see if I'm wrong. I doubt it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Destined to be a classic!, October 7, 2011
This review is from: Perfect Age of Rock N Roll (DVD)
I had the opportunity to see this film when it was released in the theaters. I absolutely loved it! All the performances were outstanding, especially the three leads Jason Ritter, Kevin Zeggers and Taryn Manning. With solid supporting castmates Peter Fonda (C'mon the guy's a legend!) , Kelly Lynch and Lauren Holly, the actors really tell a great story. The overall tone and direction were spot on and I found myself loving every minute. This well crafted story deserves attention. Plus the music is kick ass, paying tribute to the Blues! A must have for any and all music and movie lovers alike!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than average rock 'n roll film!, November 13, 2011
This review is from: Perfect Age of Rock N Roll (DVD)
This film had more depth and substance than I was expecting and was especially insightful into both the music business and the human psyche. Whomever did the makeup on Kevin Zegers (the "older" Spyder) did a terrific job; very believeable!

I especially enjoyed the music of the older bluesmen; some of whom are (already) no longer with us. I do wish Peter Fonda was given more of a role in the film.

Would have been better without all of the unnecessary use of the tobacco drug, but, otherwise, a film I would recommend to most of the adult audience out there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Self Destructive Rock Star Headed Down The Road To Oblivion: A Familiar Tale That Seems Too Familiar, November 3, 2011
This review is from: Perfect Age of Rock N Roll (DVD)
Writer/Director Scott Rosenbaum recounts an oft told tale in his debut feature "The Perfect Age of Rock 'N' Roll." There are few character types more compelling than the aging musician riddled with self destructive tendencies. Living a life of excess certainly takes its toll and we've seen it in countless movies throughout time. And that's some of the problem with this film. Despite its earnestness and its appealing cast, you can't help but feel like you've been down this road before. In and of itself, that's fine. Movies often recycle themes and try to reinvent them in different ways. "Perfect Age," for me, just failed to break free of the genre trappings. It had an unyielding familiarity and every step of the journey followed expected pathways. For a movie about bad behavior, recriminations, and betrayal--the movie seemed relatively tame compared to some of its counterparts. Ultimately, it lacked that certain spark that might have distinguished it dramatically. Luckily, the movie boasts a solid soundtrack and the musical performances are certainly a highlight. And that is a critical element that helps the picture immensely.

The movie is structured in flashback as a reporter (Lukas Haas) is granted an exclusive interview with a former rock god (Kevin Zegers) who now lives in exile and solitude. There is some speculation about a missing album that shrouds the story like the mysterious cousin to "Eddie and the Cruisers," but that's really just a red herring that begins this story of friendship and betrayal. As the principle plot unravels in the flashback, we are introduced to Zegers who is already a troubled but successful artist. He reconnects with a childhood friend (Jason Ritter) who was responsible for writing much of the material that helped Zegers achieve his stardom. Zegers needs Ritter to provide new songs, so an invitation to join the band is extended. At first wary of one another, the relationship evolves throughout and the two find their friendship again--but when you're a tortured soul, you always hurt the ones you love. The story is set, rather improbably, as a cross country odyssey (despite the strict timeline they are on) that allows for plenty of musings about music and thoughtful introspection.

While I appreciated the earnest tone of Rosenbaum's screenplay, the film might have benefited from more wildness. So intent on filling the scenes with deep meaning, some of the film's lifeblood and livelihood seem too mellow and subdued. For me the drama seemed rather lackluster and the big reveal that drives the movie is telegraphed from the earliest scenes. When it finally arrives, instead of being heartrending--it lacks any surprise. Zegers and Ritter are both fine, and it's good to see Peter Fonda along for the ride. Again, though, it is the musical interludes that really provide some nice moments. I didn't hate "Perfect Age" by any means, I just don't know that I'll remember it a few months down the line. If, however, you are a fan of one of the leads--you might want to check this out. For me, though, it all seems just a tad too familiar. KGHarris, 11/11.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great story, great music, great film, October 7, 2011
This review is from: Perfect Age of Rock N Roll (DVD)
Incredible story or friendship, love, and loss. If you love rock & roll, the blues, and a strong storyline reinforcing the power of collaboration and inspiration, this movie is for you. What amazed me was Scott Rosenbaum's ability, as a first time director, to deliver such a special movie. This film is destined to be a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Age Review, October 10, 2011
I watched (August 6, 2011 On Demand not this feed) the "Perfect Age of Rock n Roll" and thought it was a very good movie. About two musicans named Spyder and Eric who travels Route 66 from New York to Los Angeles. Spyder and Eric who come together again though singing performances; personal feelings for one another then end up torn up over love and memories of one another over what they had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The reality of a rock star life, October 11, 2011
By 
Virginia "Virginia from Virginia" (CLIFTON, Vatican City State (Holy See)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Perfect Age of Rock N Roll (DVD)
Having worked with several musicians over the past few years, this film is a great depiction of the "not so glamorous" reality of being a rising rock star. The Perfect Age of Rock N Roll is a movie with heart and soul, and shows that living a rock star life with "sex, drugs and rock n' roll" isn't always as glitz and glam as one might think!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Music Lovers, October 7, 2011
This review is from: Perfect Age of Rock N Roll (DVD)
This film is a must see for music lovers! The music itself is a stand alone character in this very well crafted story. Of course, the title of the film also resonates for music historians. Go ... enjoy the easy ride(r)! It's worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real surprise for me, thx, November 26, 2011
By 
Debbie (CASA GRANDE, arizona, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Perfect Age of Rock N Roll (DVD)
Excellent movie & actors, a real surprise for me, thx. I just picked this up had not heard about it and was very surprised, great movie. Jason Ritter its always a pleasure seeing you in things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Perfect Age of Rock N Roll
Perfect Age of Rock N Roll by Scott Rosenbaum (DVD - 2011)
$14.98 $9.79
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.