Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Water Sports

Price:$24.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon January 14, 2015
If you're looking for instructions/guide/hints_ do a search for abcarverpro guide _dot_com

some high lights if you want to know some of what you'll find_ some of what you need to know to effectively use this:

The Ab Carver Pro has many modifications; like the one on its rolling function. The spring like mechanism, known as the carbon steel coil, installed in this equipment will create a resistance. That’s where you’re really working those ab muscles. When you roll back, it provides assistance.

This workout can be a bit strenuous if you’ve never tried it before. That’s ok. Go easy on yourself. Your body needs some time to get accustomed to this workout. So if you’re a beginner, intermediate or advanced, there’s a different rolling plan for each:

For beginners:

If you’re a beginner, position yourself about 12-15 inches against the wall, and roll out against it. The wall will act as a blockade, so that your rolling is controlled. Your thigh area should be approximately 65-70 degrees against the floor. By doing so, you’re allowing yourself to understand the movement and exercise.

For intermediary:

At intermediary level, there is no such need to use the wall as a barrier. Roll out a little further than the beginners’ level, with your thighs about 45 degrees against the floor.

For advanced:

This is a pro position. If you’ve worked with an ab wheel for some time now, then this is the position you should be going for. For the advanced level, roll against the floor.

Based on the level you’re rolling at, roll forward and backward; 5 seconds to roll forward and 5 seconds to roll back.

Step 4: Rolling left and right

Now that you’ve understood the rolling, let’s move on. Continue the same movement in step 3. Use the handle to maneuver the grip to the left and right by placing pressure downwards. The wide wheel of the Ab Carver Pro and the coil system will allow an easier turn, without putting added pressure on your lower back.

This position of alternating between forward, left and right will exercise your obliques.

Step 5: Pace yourself

If this is your first time, carve about 10 repetitions or “reps”; that is 5 left and 5 right. Remember, this exercise is not about how fast you can accomplish a certain round; it’s about exercising your muscles without causing them injury. Most people wrongly presume that if they work out faster, they are burning more calories. Not quite. Pacing yourself effectively will make your abs work harder, yielding better results.

A Three-Week Workout Plan

In order to achieve your goal of sculpted abs, continue on with a workout plan over the course of 3 weeks, by gradually increasing your pace. The Perfect Ab Carver Pro comes with a manual that outlines a 3 week work out plan. Along with following this plan, it is imperative that you eat healthy. Remember, if you’re going to burn 400 calories in your workout, you should at least consume 200 calories.

Here is the workout plan:

Day 1: Keep Limit in mind

Carve Straight: 1 set of 10 reps
Carve Left: 1 set of 5 reps
Carve Right: 1 set of 5 reps

Day 2: take the day off

Day 3:

Carve straight: 3 sets of 10 reps
Carve Left: 3 sets of 5 reps
Carve Right: 3 sets of 5 reps

Day 4: take the day off

Day 5:

Carve straight: 3 sets of 10 reps
Carve Left: 3 sets of 5 reps
Carve Right: 3 sets of 5 reps

Day 6: take the day off

Day 7:

Carve Straight: 3 sets of 10 reps
Carve Left: 3 sets of 5 reps
Carve Right: 3 sets of 5 reps

Day 8: take the day off

Day 9:

Carve Straight: 3 sets of 15 reps
Carve Left: 3 sets of 8 reps
Care Right: 3 sets of 8 reps

Day 10: take the day off

Day 11:

Carve Straight: 3 sets of 15 reps
Carve Left: 3 sets of 8 reps
Care Right: 3 sets of 8 reps

Day 12: take the day off

Day 13:

Carve Straight: 3 sets of 15 reps
Carve Left: 3 sets of 8 reps
Care Right: 3 sets of 8 reps

Day 14: take the day off

Day 15:

Carve Straight: 3 sets of 20 reps
Carve Left: 3 sets of 10 reps
Care Right: 3 sets of 10 reps

Day 16: take the day off

Day 17:

Carve Straight: 3 sets of 20 reps
Carve Left: 3 sets of 10 reps
Care Right: 3 sets of 10 reps

Day 18: take the day off

Day 19:

Carve Straight: 3 sets of 20 reps
Carve Left: 3 sets of 10 reps
Care Right: 3 sets of 10 reps

Day 20: take the day off

Day 21: Re-Test Your Limits

Carve Straight: 1 set of 10 reps
Carve Left: 1 set of 5 reps
Care Right: 1 set of 5 reps

[...]- thanks
2222 comments| 471 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2016
I love this thing! It hurts after the first time you use it, but after that, it's a breeze! And it really work! The picture I'm adding is after 5 or 6 weeks of use!
review image
0Comment| 117 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon May 23, 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Quality:
It sure doesn't look like much. I got it confused with the touted "ab roller" however, this requires a lot more balancing and can work more areas of your body. It's a sturdy gadget and I have no worries about it holding up after my 190 lb body leans against it.

Value:
For the current price it seems like a solid value. Even on sale, my 12 lb hand weights were similarly priced!

Support:
This is where the product loses a star. There is very minimal instruction or inspiration with the packaging. A short video would really help. A longer video (20 minutes?) with music and variations would be perfect. This instruction sheet from the website gives you more insight on how to use it and even gives you a workout schedule (you don't want to work those abs hard two days in a row).

Interest/challenge:
I can't think of many gadgets that hold my interest for long periods. I use Jackie Warner videos for cross-training style training. Using the ab trainer after working with Jackie is a great way to incorporate the ab trainer. Personal Training with Jackie: Crunch-Free Xtreme Abs would be a great place to start if your abs are you biggest problem area. Because you can set goals and work the Perfect Fitness Ab Carver Pro with increasing reps and in different areas, you can feel the progress in different areas of your body and should work someone at a beginner to intermediate level. The advanced level person may have to be creative to increase the intensity when their body weight isn't pushing them hard enough.

Advantages:
Portable. Lightweight. Well-made and sturdy. Small/easy to store.

Note:
I was given the Ab Carver without cost in exchange for this review. However, there is no pressure from Amazon or the manufacturer to give a positive review and I do my best to be honest and helpful. Thanks for those voting "YES" and feel free to ask any more questions below.
1919 comments| 1,155 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon May 30, 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Pros:
Ab carving is a good adjunct to abdominal training
Well made/good quality device
Contoured handles are more comfortable
Knee pads are comfortable

Cons:
Not significantly better than devices that are far less costly
Large investment for a device that performs a small number of exercises
Handles bow a bit for heavier exercisers

OVERVIEW
The Perfect Fitness Ab Carver wheel is one of the latest products sold by Perfect Fitness. The Ab Carver is basically a suped up Ab Wheel. The company promises that this device will 'carve your core' and give you 'ripped abs + sculpted arms.' The bottom line is that this device is a well-made ab wheel that does what an ab wheel is supposed to do--hence the 4 star rating.

However, whether you need to spend the extra cash to buy this deluxe model ab wheel is a matter of conjecture and will be addressed in this review. The key problem I have with this device is that for me it was not significantly better than similar devices that you can buy on Amazon that are in the 10 to 15 dollar range.

For some, the Ab Carver may enhance the ab wheel enough to make it worth the purchase price. For me, I didn't see enough of a difference and would have purchased the less expensive device. I would suggest trying the Ab Carver Pro out in a big box store or a gym before purchasing, to make sure that buying this deluxe version of the ab wheel makes sense for you.

THE LONG REVIEW
The venerable ab wheel may well be the grandaddy of all abdominal exercise devices. Ab wheels have been around for time immemorial and seem to fall in and out of favor as a way to strengthen the abdominal muscles.

WHAT IS IN THE BOX
The box contains the Ab Carver wheel, two contoured comfort handles marked for right and left, knee pads, and a quick assembly guide. You simply snap the handles in place and you are ready to go. Everything assembles easily and quickly. No fuss, no muss.

Quite oddly, they did not provide a sheet of instructions as to how to use the device. For instructions, you are referred to the Ab Carver website where you can download (and print if desired) the instruction set.

This is probably the wave of the future, where companies save a few bucks by not printing an extra sheet of instructions, but for a device in this price range it's a little frustrating.

HOW TO USE THE AB CARVER
That said, it's fairly obvious how you might use the Ab Carver. You sit in a kneeling position, grip the handles, and roll forward. You must be careful to start with your back curved and you have to make sure that your core stays tight throughout the range of motion. If you let your back sag at the end of the motion, you risk straining your lower back.

You can Ab Carve forward or you can carve to the right or to the left. Carving to the sides activates more of your obliques. The Ab Carver is contoured--tapered on either side, making right and left carving easier than it would be on a conventional wheel.

Additionally, the Ab Carver has an inner spring. As you carve forward, the spring winds up. This is supposed to give you a little assist on the motion backwards. The extra spring action is supposed to improve your level of comfort in the exercise.

HOW DOES IT COMPARE
In order to write a reasonable review, I caved and bought a simple ab wheel from a local big box store. I bought this Weider device ], on sale at a big box store for $9.99 (plus tax).

I wasn't sure what to expect, but the fact is that I didn't notice much difference between the Ab Carver and the cheaper device. Here are the highlights:

1) Yes, the handles of the cheaper device weren't quite as comfortable as the contoured, comfort handles of the Ab Carver.

2) The Weider lacked the inner spring, but for me it didn't make much of a difference. I imagine if you are lighter in weight (I weigh in about 190 lbs so take this into account) the inner spring may give you more of a backward snap. My 17-year-old son did enjoy a more perceptible assist from the Ab Carver's inner spring but also agreed that it wasn't a deal maker.

3) The inner spring is a bit of a mixed blessing. It adds some tension on the way out and assists a bit on the way back but it also stops the wheel once it has uncoiled completely. Given that your position can change a bit while ab carving, sometimes the spring stops you just short of the origin and you have to adjust the position of the wheel. Not terrible, just an annoyance you need to get used to. Additionally, it adds a complex part to the device that has a potential to break or malfunction.

4) The tapered wheel of the Ab Carver did make side to side ab carving a little easier, but this was still eminently doable on the simpler device

5) The ab carver had a wider wheel and required less balance. This is both good and bad. On the up side, it makes the exercise a little easier/more comfortable. On the down side, it takes a little away from the exercise because it lessens the need to activate the core to maintain stability.

6) When trying ab carving from a standing position, I felt a perceptible bowing in the Ab Carver that I didn't feel in the cheaper wheel. Granted, the Ab Carver instructions do not recommend carving from a standing position, but this seems like a standard, more advanced move for this kind of device. No such bowing was felt when using the cheaper wheel. Realize as well, once you have mastered the standing ab carve, some advanced users recommend wearing a weight vest or elevating your feet on a platform when ab carving to make the exercise more challenging. I imagine that this would cause even further bowing and that the Ab Carver isn't acceptable for this kind of exercise.

7) The knee pads are reasonably comfortable, but if you work on an exercise mat they aren't so necessary. I found that the pads worked well no a hard floor, although I thought a folded up yoga mat worked even better.

THERE ARE DIFFERENT DESIGNS FOR AB WHEELS
Moreover, that there are two basic kinds of ab wheels. There are ones like the Ab Carver with the wheel in the center and there are ones that you grip in the center like little dumbbells and have two wheels on either side (like this device:Ultimate Body Press Ab Wheels (Black)). For the ones you grip in center, you need two devices, one for each hand. The advantage of the two-wheel version is that it is more versatile. You can do many more exercises with the two-wheel device. You can carve to the front or the sides but can also do a variety of challenging push up like exercises with the wheels in different positions.

COST
The Ab Carver is a rather expensive version of the ab wheel. As noted above, I bought a second, simpler device for around $10. In fact, if you want a custom device, you can buy lawnmower wheels and a few other pieces of miscellaneous equipment and make one to your own specifications. There are many different instructions on the web that tell you how to make these on the cheap. Moreover, if you really want to go really cheap and you don't mind working on a carpet, you can buy furniture movers ] and perform similar movements to an ab wheel (and as a bonus will also be able to move your furniture more easily).

On the one hand, I don't have a problem paying a premium for a device that I will use reliably every day for many years. However, I didn't see enough of a difference between this wheel and the bargain basement wheel to justify the price difference.

Additionally, the Ab Carver Pro is a three trick pony--you can ab carve to the front, ab carve to the right, or ab carve to the left. It is hard to justify a high price for a device that has such a limited repertoire.

That said, Perfect Fitness also makes the Perfect Push Up ]. The Perfect Pushup is a simple device for doing push ups. You can argue that the Perfect Pushup is also a device with a very limited repertoire and that you can easily do push ups without it or with a cheaper, more conventional push up handle.

However, I really like the Perfect Pushup because it actually enhances the push up in two very important ways: 1) the rotating handles make the push up more ergonomic and prevent wrist and shoulder strain, and; 2) the added instability of the rotating handles actually makes the push up a more challenging exercise and engages more muscles in your arms and core. It simultaneously helps avoid injury and improves on an exercise, allowing you to get more out of your push ups and do more push ups with less chance of injury.

Unfortunately, the Ab Carver Pro doesn't enhance ab carving enough for me to justify its purchase price. Additionally, I didn't feel that it improved on this exercise and in some ways, by making the exercise easier, it made ab carving less effective for me.

I would suggest trying the Ab Carver Pro out at a brick and mortar store before you pay the big bucks and order this device. If you feel the Ab Carver really makes ab carving better and more doable, make the purchase. If not, buy an inexpensive wheel for $10 (and use the remaining $30 for something else).

QUALITY
Perfect Fitness seems to produce solid exercise equipment. None of their devices are necessarily heirloom quality, but they will definitely last you for a number of years. The Ab Carver seems to fit this description well. It is constructed out of high impact plastic and metal. It feels solid underneath you. I did experience the feeling of bowing when using it from a standing position; however, as mentioned above, this position is not recommended by the manufacturer.

IS AB CARVING WORTHWHILE AND SAFE?
There is a lot of contention as to whether the ab wheel is a good way to exercise. Proponents point out that it is a very challenging exercise that not only tones the abdominal muscles top to bottom, but also exercises the arms, the shoulders, and back.

Those opposed to the ab wheel, point to the fact that it doesn't do the best job of isolating the abdominal muscles and can cause a great deal of lower back strain. A review of abdominal exercises by the American Council on Exercise (ACE) concluded that the ab wheel came in 9 (out of 13) in terms of eliciting activity in the rectus abdominus muscles and 10 (out of 13) in terms of activating the oblique muscles. ACE's top exercises were the bicycle maneuver (a variation on the crunch where you move your pump your legs and touch your knees to your elbows) and the Captain's Chair (you set yourself up vertically on an exercise tower and pull your knees upward towards your chest). If you can get a better workout with the bicycle crunch, why bother to buy any device at all?

There is no question that the ab wheel exercises more than just the abs. But in my way of thinking, this is not such a bad thing. Sure, if your into isolating muscle groups, as many bodybuilders like to do, so you can carve your individual muscle groups to your own specifications, this may not be the exercise for you. But if you are into functional strength, I think the ab wheel has its place.

As to lower back strain, this is a major concern with the ab wheel. If you don't have good form or you're starting out and you don't have a strong core to begin with, the ab wheel is a very easy way to throw out your back.

However, if you pay attention to form and build up slowly, this is a great exercise to add to your armamentarium.

Realize, however, that you do NOT need an ab wheel to exercise your core. You can do a series of crunches and get the same job done. Moreover, I don't think you really save time here: you can accomplish great abs doing conventional,isolated ab work with a series of crunches that takes only six to ten minutes, three to six times a week.

Even so, having a wheel has been a fun way to add some variety to my core workout. It is in and of itself somewhat limited, but is still a fine addition to my regimen and helps mix things up and keep things interesting.

ABS ARE MADE IN THE KITCHEN
But let's stop here: No single exercise or device (this one included) will give you six-pack abs.

As the old saying goes (and there's some truth to it): abs are made in the kitchen. No matter how strengthened and toned your abdominal muscles are, you will not have washboard abs unless you thin out your abdominal fat. You can strengthen your abdominal muscles till the cows come home, but if you don't decrease the percent body fat in your mid section your abs will never shoot through. Additionally, directed ab exercises will strengthen your abs but will NOT specifically target the burning of abdominal fat.

For a six pack the 'secret' combination is probably 90% diet and 10% exercise.

CONCLUSION
I'm giving the Ab Carver 4 stars because it functions and performs as an ab wheel should. However, there are less expensive ways of getting the same kind of workout and, as noted above, ab carving is only a part of a work out and a small part of obtaining six pack abs.
3232 comments| 715 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2016
Amazing product! On month 2 and I see huge results!!!!
review image
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2014
I'm 49 and in pretty good shape, added it to my workouts and after 16 sets, the spring on the inside has broken. I would say the quality is way below average. I felt it was a nice addition to my workouts until it broke.
0Comment| 72 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2015
I used one for a couple of weeks. At first, it performed fine. However, it gradually stopped rolling back all the way, forcing me to stop before totally pulled back to the starting position.

I liked the design and the fat roller, which made it very easy to roll on the carpet. Too bad that the inner springs failed after a week!.
0Comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2016
If you hate crunches/sit ups then go this route. Works great and very effective. The return spring is a gimmick, not necessary, but the angled wheels to roll left and right is very valuable, you can feel the side muscles being worked. Hand grips are comfortable.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2015
I'm 71 years old, arthritic and irritated with back problems. My physician gave me exercises to strengthen my core; after a year of going to the gym for weight training, I decided to try this. Two months of using the Ab Carver, and I have the beginning of a six-pack. More importantly, I no longer spend most of my day on a heating pad trying to relieve back pain.
11 comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2016
I bought this product because I had already tested it and it was great. What a disappointment to receive my own Ab carver and see that it is ridiculously noisy (the springs sound off and broken), rough, and the kneepads at NOTHING LIKE THE ONES ON THE UNIT I HAD TESTED. They are flimsy, already coming apart before I even tried it, and they don't even resemble those high quality ones with the PERFECT brand printed on.
I'm not even sure I'll keep it, it's nothing like the one I actually wanted. What a shame.
review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 197 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.