Prime Music

Buy Used
Used - Very Good See details
$1.77 + $3.99 shipping
Sold by Round3.

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player


Pergolesi: Stabat Mater / Vivaldi: Motets; Stabat Mater [Import]

Giovanni Battista Pergolesi , Antonio Vivaldi , Bernard Labadie , Les Violons du Roy , Dorothea Röschmann , Catherine Robbin Audio CD
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.

Product Details

  • Performer: Dorothea Röschmann, Catherine Robbin
  • Orchestra: Les Violons du Roy
  • Conductor: Bernard Labadie
  • Composer: Giovanni Battista Pergolesi, Antonio Vivaldi
  • Audio CD (April 26, 1994)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Alliance
  • ASIN: B000001QA9
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #424,849 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Stabat Mater Dolorosa
2. Cuius Animam Gementem
3. O Quam Tristis Et Afflicta
4. Quae Maerebat Et Dolebat
5. Quis Est Homo
6. Vidit Suum Dulcem Natum
7. Eia, Mater, Fons Amoris
8. Fac, Ut Ardeat Cor Meum
9. Sancta Mater, Istud Agas
10. Fac, Ut Portem Chrisi Mortem
11. Inflammatus Et Accensus
12. Quando Corpus Morietur
13. Aria: Allegro
14. Recitativo
15. Area: Largo
16. Alleluia: Allegro
17. Stabat Mater
18. Cuius Animam
19. O Quam Tristis
20. Quis Est Homo
See all 25 tracks on this disc

Editorial Reviews

Pergolèse : Stabat Mater - Vivaldi : Stabat Mater & Motet "In furore giustissimae irae" / Dorothea Röschmann, soprano - Catherine Robbin, mezzo-soprano - Les Violons du Roy, dir. Bernard Labadie

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime October 29, 1999
Format:Audio CD
Bernard Labadie conducts Les Violins du Roy, joined by Dorothea Roschmann, soprano, and Catherine Robbin, mezzo soprano. These particular performances were recorded in L'eglise de Saint-Isadore in Quebec in 1993. Roschmann and Robbin offer nuanced and delicate interpretations which the slower, meditative duets in Pergolesi demand. While the slower movements in Pergolesi may be slightly uptempo, the vocal performances are, nonetheless, stunning. I have not listened closely to the Vivaldi offerings; I purchased this disc for the Pergolesi and am very pleased I did so.
This recording also comes with extensive liner notes in English and French. The notes provide extensive background on the pieces and the evolution of their treatment, as well as biographical notes on the conductor and performers and translations from the latin.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Roeschmann 'Stabat Mater' to own. October 16, 2012
Format:Audio CD
German soprano Dorothea Roeschmann has two recordings of Pergolesi' "Stabat Mater". This is the earlier one (1993) made with the Canadian baroque group Les Violons du Roy under Bernard Labadie. The later one is with Fabio Biondi and the Europa Galante.
I report that this earlier recording of Roeschmann both finds her in far better voice and interpretion of the baroque pieces recorded here.
Apart from the famous Pergolesi Stabat Mater, this recording also includes two Vivaldi's favourites - the motet In furore giustissimae irae for solo soprano and strings, as well as Vivaldi's Stabat Mater for contralto solo and strings.
The partner contralto in this recording is Canadian mezzo-soprano Catherine Robbins. Robbins sings impeccably in both two Stabat Mater pieces, but on the whole, she is better in the solo Vivaldi Stabat Mater than as a duet partner for Roeschmann, whose timbre is fuller and richer than Robbins, who does not have as full a voice in the contralto pieces' low register.
Roeschmann's shimmering soprano is heard to great effect in the Vivaldi Motet In furore giustissimae irae, with the devilishly florid coloraturas and atmospheric high notes. Roeschmann's performance is simply jaw-dropping.
In comparison, her performance with David Daniels of the Pergolesi piece is of lessor vocal beauty, and the religious sentiment is by far too compromised for theatrical effect in that recording to be of truly good musical taste.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category