Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who knew?
This book adds behind-the-scenes reality to the tip of the iceberg we see going through airports. It reads like a novel that we can all relate to. The degrees of separation between what we see as travellers and what the terrorists are trying to do to us becomes vivid - putting the why's behind many of the requirements we face. It is also a loud call for action to...
Published on April 25, 2012 by Frequent Traveler

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars worth a read to understand the chaotic state of affairs
I was very excited to order this as I'm a "security mom" type who believes we have to do all we can to protect ourselves from the nut bars that still want to take down planes. But I did sort of have to force myself to the end as Hawley's sometimes rambling style, and jumping back and forth between dates made it a less than flowing read. Nonetheless, he does...
Published 5 months ago by C. M. Nelson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who knew?, April 25, 2012
This book adds behind-the-scenes reality to the tip of the iceberg we see going through airports. It reads like a novel that we can all relate to. The degrees of separation between what we see as travellers and what the terrorists are trying to do to us becomes vivid - putting the why's behind many of the requirements we face. It is also a loud call for action to transform this massive and once hastily-assembled agency from one that is largely consumed on dealing problems that can't hurt us (but massively inconvenience us) to one that focuses primarily on the things that can kill us.

Appreciate the TSA for how they protect us or hate them for what they put us through, this book provides a plan for how we can better become part of the same team opposing the immediate threats that will now never go away. At some level it is policy, but in the end, this book is personal - as much mystery as history and highly relevant for all of us.

Informative, compelling, and very well written, this is a must read in the post 9/11 world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and Important read, May 3, 2012
I had to read this for my job and was dreading it at first. I want to spend as little time as possible with the TSA and could have cared less. I didn't expect this to be as thrilling an account of the birth of the new american security culture or as insightful a look into how fear has twisted our relationship with our government. This book combines the haphazard and urgent play by play of securing the skies of america with the swelling and excess of our newest branch of government and what emerges is a surprising and riveting tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than you expect, April 25, 2012
Kip Hawley does an amazing job of pulling back the curtain on aviation security. The book takes a never before seen look at a relevant, timely, and important subject - the safety of American air travel - in an unparalleled way. You'll read about the terrorist who are constantly plotting to bring down airliners and the operatives, at home and abroad, who are dead set on stopping them. Permanent Emergency is a must read for anyone who wants to learn more about what really goes into keeping the traveling public safe, or those who think they know all there is to know. Hawley and Means do an excellent job of weaving together a compelling narrative that will blow your doors off. Expect a movie out of this one - it's that informative, entertaining, and compelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TSA's Start-Up Story, with a Whiff of John le Carré., May 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Kip Hawley has written arguably the most profound, insightful book yet published about homeland security institutions in the post-9/11 era. It is a self-effacing and stunningly instructive Washington memoir, rare qualities for such books.

Above all, it truly is a gripping read. Hawley tells his insider story through a series of vignettes, mostly focused on individuals who contributed to the creation of TSA and supported its operations during the years he ran the organization. He recounts how actual terrorist plots and a torrent of information dredged daily from the nation's vast intelligence networks shaped U.S. homeland security institutions in the early days and years after the 9/11 attacks.

The last chapter, in particular, is uniquely brilliant, compelling yet disturbing. It sums up lessons learned, candidly tallies mistakes made, and offers concrete advice about how to focus and lead not just the TSA, but other vital institutions that are tasked with grappling daily with what Hawley so aptly calls the permanent emergency.

This book combines both optimism about American ingenuity and an appropriately fatalistic sense that the permanent emergency will most certainly yield other successful attacks against the homeland. After which, our increasingly partisan, shallow and brittle political life will probably disgorge politicians who will first and furiously, like Cronus, rush to sup on the homeland security institutions they birthed.

It is today a regrettable commonplace to deride TSA. This book proves, instead, that TSA is home for an army of frontline heroes who daily grapple with threats unseen and unknowable to the public. They have, for sure, often sketchy intelligence data, imperfect tools and sometimes ineffectual procedures. But Hawley makes exquisitely clear this fact: TSA is staffed with legions of people who nonetheless serve with intelligence, passion, commitment and patience.

Permanent Emergency is a real-life drama, with a whiff of John le Carré.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Insightful and Interesting Work: A Must Read for Aviation Security (AVSEC) Professionals, August 10, 2012
By 
Kip Hawley's book doesn't read like a Tom Clancy novel. It does indeed disect several plots that threatened US Aviation Security and presents the challenges that face those that seek to protect civil aviation world wide. This book is not as in-depth nor as comprehensive as Dr. Geoffrey Price's Practical Aviation Security: Predicting and Preventing Future Threats Practical Aviation Security: Predicting and Preventing Future Threats (Butterworth-Heinemann Homeland Security) but as a current consultant in the AVSEC field; a former university instructor in Homeland Security and Counterterrorism; and a former intelligence officer with experience over the years in some weapons of mass destruction, aviation and counterterrorism "accounts," I commend it to the reading of professionals in the aviation field. The book is a bit hard to follow as Mr. Hawley almost anecdotedly intoduces and reintroduces bit and other players in the history of TSA's evolution from the headquarters level down to the beleagured individual screeners. In my opinion he also includes way too much descriptions of his management style, management theories, and organizational controversies in the US Government and not enough operational "meat." It will not satisfy the libertarian critics of TSA "tyranny" nor those seeking the imposition of an Israeli model for aviation security (AVSEC) in the USA. (Can't be done. El Al has 30 aircraft to follow, and one major in country airport.) He does however, call for a "reasonable risk analysis" to prevent catastrophic threats. In other words, use of human screeners to make observations - go beyond technological screening - and make civil aviation a hard target by being inconsistent and random in the imposition of security measures. He doesn't offer a real solution to the injustices and sometimes ludicrous contents of the "No Fly List." Those seeking a book that will support political ideology on private versus government screeners will not find an answer here. The book might seem a bit disjointed - at the time of much of the book I was an intelligence analyst in the US Department of Defense and I found it to be a bit incomplete in areas I was interested in but that probably reflects the fact that by its nature the book was subjected to a security - but not policy review. It easily merits four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grateful, July 13, 2012
I'm grateful for Kip and so many other civilian and military men and women who work hard every day to protect us from the complex threats facing our country. If nothing else, this book makes the threats against us so much more real than the "headlines".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid read, June 1, 2012
This review is from: Permanent Emergency: Inside the TSA and the Fight for the Future of American Security (Kindle Edition)
Contains a lucid explanation of the day to day bureaucratic workings of the TSA. Best content is an insight into the how and why of certain otherwise irrational appearing procedures in place at checkpoints. Most disturbing is the TSA's possession of technology to obviate the need for liquids restriction in carry on bags, and the lack of TSA deployment of said technology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flying Clueless, May 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a must read for anyone that has flown recently (since 2001) or intends to fly soon (ever).It gives you a real time perspective of what those TSA agents in blue are dealing with and how little the public knows (or will ever know) about the terrorist threats against the United States. Security theater? Words of the uninformed...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The TSA's struggle to focus on flexible risk management rather than procedural correctness, July 23, 2013
By 
Curt Emanuel (Frankfort, IN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I received this book through the Library Thing Early Reviewers program. Those familiar with my other Amazon reviews are likely unaware that in my real job I have a role in Emergency Preparedness and Response, primarily in Emergency Support Function(ESF) 11, Agriculture and Natural Resources. Hierarchically I am not even on the same planet as former TSA Director Kip Hawley however I do have a perspective on much of this which will color my review.

The author (I will be focusing my author comments on Hawley rather than Means throughout) was involved in the formation of the Transportation Security Administration from its inception in the wake of 9/11 and was Director under President George W. Bush from the summer of 2005 to President Obama's inauguration in January, 2009.

For me this book can be looked at as providing two separate but interrelated accounts. One is a narrative history of the formation of the TSA, complete with how this new agency came to grips with the new, post-9/11 world we live in and developed policies, procedures, hired people, etc., in order to serve a vital national (and, though this is covered in less detail, international) role in the safety and security of the United States and its residents.

The second account is a growing realization by Hawley and others in the agency that this government organization must be different from most others; that operating as a regulatory agency will not work against an enemy which is smart, adaptable, resourceful, and which continuously changes its tactics. This book discusses attempts by Hawley and others to transform the TSA from an organization which follows bureaucratic methods such as performing tasks, "by the book" and focusing on procedures and processes to one in which its members are capable of quick, on-their-feet thinking and the ability to respond situationally, without an over-reliance on a rulebook. It is clear from this book that while Hawley believes the TSA was able to achieve some success in this area, much more remains to be done. Ultimately, Hawley believes the TSA cannot perform its functions by following a regulatory model focused on rules, procedures and numbers but must adopt more of a risk management approach stressing adaptability, flexibility and the capacity to respond quickly to unforeseen situations.

I particularly enjoyed his account of how the TSA came to emphasize passenger behavior when assessing threats. While physical screening remains an essential task, the recruitment and training of BDO's, Behavioral Detection Officers, who are stationed to identify suspicious behavior among passengers or even non-passengers was one of the most interesting, enlightening, and personally reassuring portions of the book.

Hawley also discusses the struggle the agency had to determine what would comprise acceptable risk. This is an argument I am familiar with in discussions related to food safety. We can provide almost total food safety in this country. We have that capacity. However to do so would drastically raise the cost of food to the point where we would likely no longer have the most inexpensive food supply in the world. Similarly Hawley discusses the ramifications of complete travel security and how this would impact travel times, wait times at airports and, while he does not discuss it, such a level of safety would also involved identical check-in and boarding procedures on trains. In essence, Hawley argues that while individual passenger safety is important, the TSA focus should be on preventing threats which are capable of bringing down a plane.

A further element is that Hawley selects several specific threats and discusses them in greater detail. While I am certain that he has not shared every detail, we are given a look at terrorist elements, their training, organization, adaptability, and the TSA's attempts (often in cooperation with other branches of government) to counter them and protect the country. Through this we learn items such as why shoes are removed at airports and why liquids must be in no greater than three ounce quantities in a clear, zip-lock baggie.

The narrative often focuses on the people in the agency and provides numerous examples of how they tried to fill key positions with people with less of a bureaucratic, process-based mindset. Instead they looked for people with the ability to find new and different solutions to new and different threats. This focus on people rather than TSA policies and procedures significantly enhances the readability of the book while providing a personal feel to this look inside the agency. Only in the last third of the book does the focus turn to policy.

Two areas were not covered which I feel would have added to the narrative. One is the political struggles which must have raged both within the agency and in attempting to respond to outside pressures by lawmakers and private companies. This is touched upon at times, but is not a point of emphasis. The other is the role of private citizens in national and travel security. Hawley must have some opinions on this. To point to a current example, is the "If you see something, say something" DHS campaign an effective strategy in identifying possible threats or does this generate excessive false leads and waste too much agency time, energy and resources? This book is written for the public and some discussion of the public's role would seem appropriate.

I enjoyed this book. The writing style is lively and engaging and the focus on people rather than process provides a personal feel. The narrative moves at a brisk pace and while I am certain some details have been omitted, enough is given for us to understand the struggles of Hawley and the TSA. The overall theme that the TSA must not fall into a regulatory "by-the-book" mindset is returned to frequently. By the end of the book much of what Hawley struggled with as head of the TSA is clear.

Permanent Emergency provides a welcome look into the functions and struggles of the TSA. The insights provided by Kip Hawley into its operations and the nature of the terrorist threat are fascinating, and at times frightening. This book will be of interest to all Americans, and particularly those who travel by air.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended to the curious and the patient, October 12, 2013
As usual, I received this book for nothing and this time via the infinite monthly grace of LibraryThing. Despite that kind consideration I'll give my candid opinions below.

The summary of this novel is right in the subtitle. It goes into great detail to describe the people and processes that were put into place after the September 11th attacks to keep the country's air travelers from blowing things up. It is, in some ways, a response to the endless criticism that has been heaped upon this institution.

On the positive side, the book is wonderfully balanced as it covers all aspects of the TSA's efforts from the personnel, technology and training that are used today to the attackers themselves and their individual motivations and actions. I've seldom seen such a broad treatment of a single topic. It's also worth noting that author himself was a key contributor but his spin on the situation is wonderfully matter-of-fact and never falters into self-congratulation. He just recounts the events in meticulous detail whether those events be positive, negative or indifferent to his own reputation.

To the negative, the book is incredibly dense and will put some readers off significantly. This is a book best taken in small bites, say a chapter at a time and properly digested. Anyone attempting to read this in one sitting will likely be overwhelmed.

In summary, this is a deeply complex and fact-filled book. If you've ever wondered at the administrative origins of seemingly random TSA rules like 3-ounce liquid containers or why you have to take your shoes off then this book will answer absolutely every question you might possibly have. It's depth and breadth of topic is unparalleled. That said, it's not a book to be swallowed all in one go on a long Sunday afternoon. Highly recommended to the curious and the patient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.