Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Little Book, May 17, 2011
By 
BlackBear (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Perrault's Fairy Tales (Dover Children's Classics) (Paperback)
I have a large collection of children's books, including a number of collectible volumes of classic stories illustrated by the greatest artists of the late 19th and early 20th centuries. To find a little collection like this that includes illustrations by Gustave Doré is truly a treasure. It's also fascinating to see familiar stories close to their original form, without the prudish edits they've collected over the years. Whether you're a fan of the artist and the writer or want a great storybook for your children, enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perrault's Fairy Tales, reprint, March 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Perrault's Fairy Tales (Dover Children's Classics) (Paperback)
I had overlooked that the drawings were only black and white, but otherwise all was very good, and I shall treasure it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great find!, September 3, 2010
This review is from: Perrault's Fairy Tales (Hardcover)
This book was a great find and I am so glad I purchased it. The condition is excellent and the quality of the book is fantastic. I recommend this title to anyone who has young children who enjoy fairy tales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars From ages past to ages present,, October 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Perrault's Fairy Tales (Dover Children's Classics) (Paperback)
II have loved Perrault's stories since I was about four. They have an 'everlasting' quality. There are stories in this book I haven't read before. For many years I have enjoyed Gustave Dore's work and admired his faithful black and whites. His drawings always seem to carry a strong atmosphere in them. I bought the book because I couldn't wait to see how he would have done the illustrations. They are wonderful and bring the enchancted feeling of the text with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PERRAULT'S FAIRY TALES (MISSION AUDIO) BY CHARLES PERRAULT, READ BY 'ROBIN FIELD, September 5, 2011
This review is from: Perrault's Fairy Tales (Audio CD)
Actor Robin Field reads eight classic fairy tales by Charles Perrault. 'More than a hundred years before the Grimm Brothers collected fairy 'tales from the oral traditions of Germany, Perrault did the same thing 'in France. These were the first published versions of such classics as '"The Sleeping Beauty," "Little Red Riding Hood," "Puss in Boots" and '"Cinderella." Perrault became a member of the Academie francais in '1671 and wrote a variety of works in prose and verse throughout his 'life. His collection of French fairy tales, entitled Histories, or 'Tale of Past Times, with Morals (later retitled Tales of My Mother 'Goose) was first published in 1697. Some confusion arose, because the 'work was at first attributed to Perrault's teenage son, Pierre. But 'further research suggests that the father actually did the writing. 'The book was first translated into English in 1729 by Robert Samber. 'The stories in this recording were translated in 1921 by A. E. Johnson, 'and the morals in verse in 1912 by S. R. Littlewood. NOTE: Due to the 'advanced vocabulary and dramatic content of these stories, they are not 'recommended for the very young. The reading is over two hours long on 'two Audio CDs.

The eight tales are:'

The Sleeping Beauty in the Wood'
Little Red Riding Hood'
Blue Beard'
The Master Cat, or Puss in Boots'
The Fairies, or Toads and Diamonds'
Cinderella, or the Little Glass Slipper'
Rickey of the Tuft'
Little Tom Thumb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Perrault's Fairy Tales (Dover Children's Classics) (Paperback)
Classic book of wonderful fairy tails. It arrived quickly and as advertised. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Perrault's Fairy Tales (Dover Children's Classics) (Paperback)
gorgeous copy of some beautiful drawings and stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic tales, February 28, 2001
By 
Renaaah "Renaaah" (Bronxville, New York) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Perrault's Fairy Tales (Dover Children's Classics) (Paperback)
Charles Perrault was a French civil servant in the late 1600s. He had a little son, and decided to write down to old French folk tales that he heard the servants telling and retelling. These include Cinderella, Blue Beard and even Sleeping Beauty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Perrault's Fairy Tales (Dover Children's Classics)
Perrault's Fairy Tales (Dover Children's Classics) by Charles Perrault (Paperback - June 1, 1969)
$12.95 $11.66
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.