Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Elizabeth Cook Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars31
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$12.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 29, 2011
Charles Perrault was a famous French literary writer, and at one point in his long and illustrious career, he wrote (possibly with his son) a series of fairy tales. They were eventually translated into English and were/are wildly popular.

Basically it's a book of a few well-known and high-quality fairy tales that have appeal and appropriateness for all ages. The language is a bit old fashioned, as is some of the spelling ('inchant' rather than 'enchant,' for example) but it's definitely worth reading.

Although, the word 'faggot' is used in the text to refer to sticks, which is historically what it meant, but if you're sensitive, that might be something to consider.

There's an active table of contents, no illustrations (but the captions are left in the text to tease), the page numbers are left in the text, and the first letter of every story is mysteriously dropped. Oh, and the very last line of the last story was in an illustration, so that's missing.

The stories included are:

Little Red Riding Hood (Sans woodcutter)
The Fairy
Blue Beard
The Sleeping Beauty in the Woods
The Master Cat; or, Puss in Boots
Cinderilla; or, the Little Glass Slipper
Little Thumb
The Ridiculous Wishes
Donkey-Skin
0Comment|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2011
I have a large collection of children's books, including a number of collectible volumes of classic stories illustrated by the greatest artists of the late 19th and early 20th centuries. To find a little collection like this that includes illustrations by Gustave Doré is truly a treasure. It's also fascinating to see familiar stories close to their original form, without the prudish edits they've collected over the years. Whether you're a fan of the artist and the writer or want a great storybook for your children, enjoy!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2014
If you ever wondered where Little Red Riding Hood, Cinderella, and Sleeping Beauty came from, they came from this remarkable 17th century Frenchman. The stories themselves are fascinating, as they all have morals appended that are, of course, very tied to the cultural mores of the time. And no, they aren't exactly like the Disney versions! Harry Clarke is considered Ireland's greatest illustrator, and the reproductions of his color and black & white work in this book will show you why. The intricacy of the illustrations is just astonishing, and I am happy to say that this book shows them very well - sharp, deep, and with good color fidelity. It's true that some of the females are bare chested and Sleeping Beauty is covered only by a veil, but I find this no more suggestive than, say, Venus di Milo. It's great art, and very much in keeping with the time the tales were written - check out the sky high hair on the noblewomen! All told, a fascinating soiree into the origins of some of our most familiar fairy tales.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2013
II have loved Perrault's stories since I was about four. They have an 'everlasting' quality. There are stories in this book I haven't read before. For many years I have enjoyed Gustave Dore's work and admired his faithful black and whites. His drawings always seem to carry a strong atmosphere in them. I bought the book because I couldn't wait to see how he would have done the illustrations. They are wonderful and bring the enchancted feeling of the text with them.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2014
I love the illustrations and enjoyed reading these original fairy tales before they were sugar coated. Here, the wolf really does eat Little Red Riding Hood. The book gave me an interesting peak into life during the 1600's and a little literature history I hadn't realized before. The book is soft bound, and a good value for the price.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2016
I love the fact that I have heard and seen adaptations of so many of these stories and I had no idea who the author was or that he had written so many tales. It has been interesting reading the translated originals as an adult. I am glad that I stumbled across this collection as a result of a Google doodle a few weeks ago.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2013
This collection of fairy tales from French writer Charles Perrault
Contains stories you may be familiar with and others that may be new to you.

The Brothers Grimm did their own take of some of these stories. When I read those I thought they were dark compared to the Disney versions. I take that back because the versions in this collection are even darker though they all have a moral to them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2011
Actor Robin Field reads eight classic fairy tales by Charles Perrault. 'More than a hundred years before the Grimm Brothers collected fairy 'tales from the oral traditions of Germany, Perrault did the same thing 'in France. These were the first published versions of such classics as '"The Sleeping Beauty," "Little Red Riding Hood," "Puss in Boots" and '"Cinderella." Perrault became a member of the Academie francais in '1671 and wrote a variety of works in prose and verse throughout his 'life. His collection of French fairy tales, entitled Histories, or 'Tale of Past Times, with Morals (later retitled Tales of My Mother 'Goose) was first published in 1697. Some confusion arose, because the 'work was at first attributed to Perrault's teenage son, Pierre. But 'further research suggests that the father actually did the writing. 'The book was first translated into English in 1729 by Robert Samber. 'The stories in this recording were translated in 1921 by A. E. Johnson, 'and the morals in verse in 1912 by S. R. Littlewood. NOTE: Due to the 'advanced vocabulary and dramatic content of these stories, they are not 'recommended for the very young. The reading is over two hours long on 'two Audio CDs.

The eight tales are:'

The Sleeping Beauty in the Wood'
Little Red Riding Hood'
Blue Beard'
The Master Cat, or Puss in Boots'
The Fairies, or Toads and Diamonds'
Cinderella, or the Little Glass Slipper'
Rickey of the Tuft'
Little Tom Thumb
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2012
... in alighting our imagination and answering questions about different areas of the psyche. Some stories can teach quite a bit about the self according to the reactions they invite. Take the invitation!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2014
I had overlooked that the drawings were only black and white, but otherwise all was very good, and I shall treasure it.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse