Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (104)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent video quality
This review is for the whole set through session 7 disk 1: I am rather amazed at how well these DVDs look on my 55 in Sony screen. With the exception of a very few scenes on disk one of season one, the video quality is much better than it was when broadcast. Contrast and grays are so good that I can almost forget I'm watching black and white TV! The sound is full - as in...
Published on September 8, 2012 by JohnSays

versus
24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
As an avid Perry Mason fan, I have collected seasons one through seven. I am not purchasing seasons eight and nine. The stories in season seven, especially the second volume, are often too complicated, too histrionic, and too grim. No one in the cast except the Paul Drake character is having any fun. Some stories do not have the Della Street character which really hurts...
Published on December 17, 2012 by doctor beach


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, December 17, 2012
By 
doctor beach (North Myrtle Beach, SC United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Perry Mason: Season 7, Vol. 2 (DVD)
As an avid Perry Mason fan, I have collected seasons one through seven. I am not purchasing seasons eight and nine. The stories in season seven, especially the second volume, are often too complicated, too histrionic, and too grim. No one in the cast except the Paul Drake character is having any fun. Some stories do not have the Della Street character which really hurts the overall feel of the shows. Raymond Burr is clearly not enjoying it and has lost the "spring in his step" and his voice. I understand we all get older! And I understand the "times they were a changin'" by season seven. Still, I'm going to continue enjoying seasons one through six which still had a sense of humor and stories that made sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent video quality, September 8, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Perry Mason: Season 7, Vol. 2 (DVD)
This review is for the whole set through session 7 disk 1: I am rather amazed at how well these DVDs look on my 55 in Sony screen. With the exception of a very few scenes on disk one of season one, the video quality is much better than it was when broadcast. Contrast and grays are so good that I can almost forget I'm watching black and white TV! The sound is full - as in dynamic range, but mono of course.

As for the content: You either like to watch these old shows or you don't. The formula from show to show is exactly the same and can be tiring after a couple hundred shows, but I like watching anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Did Not Disappoint Me, December 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Perry Mason: Season 7, Vol. 2 (DVD)
There is nothing like the old Perry Mason series. I do not even watch the garbage they have on TV today. I asked my son to give me Season 8 for Christmas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings back great times., November 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Perry Mason: Season 7, Vol. 2 (DVD)
Another great box set of Perry Mason. I wish CBS would tell some one over at W.B. how this work's so we can get 77 Sunset Strip and Hawaiian Eye on DVD.,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the better late seasons, February 8, 2013
This review is from: Perry Mason: Season 7, Vol. 2 (DVD)
I have not seen the actual dvds, but I have seen these episdoes on rerun on the ME-TV channel. This season seemed better than season six and eight. The stories were better and contained the good list of guest stars. Among the episodes that I enjoyed were: The Frightened Fisherman(excellent plot) Drowsy Mosquito (with Arthur Honeycutt (from El Dorado with John Wayne) and Strother Martin), Case of the misplaced shoe box (guest star Billy Mummy from Lost in Space), Case of the 50 millionth Frenchman (Good plot and a quirky character for the client and guest star David McCallum from Man from Uncle and CSI),Case of the Antic Angel (guest star Peter Breck of the Big Valley), Case of the Deadly Verdict (only case Perry Mason lost and a cameo by Ray Collins as Lt. Tragg). The picture quality for this season seemed excellent. The black white had a bolder contrast and less of of a gray look. I'm not sure if it was a better copy of the master or if the film quality and lighting was better in the mid 1960s vs. the 1950s. I thought the first four seasons contained the best work of the series but would recommend cherry picking season seven over some of the other weaker later seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great addition!..., January 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Perry Mason: Season 7, Vol. 2 (DVD)
OKAY, somebody got greedy and is trying to soak us fans for the difference. Although shameful, this does not
affect THIS segment of the series. Although the proverbial Perry Mason excrement is hitting the fan as we speak; THIS is back when the world was innocent (not the show, but economics). The next installment is okay, too. But THEN, things get hairy- but that does not involve this recommendation. If you feel like you are getting a good deal- buy it. If not, even Raymond Burr said once that they probably made more of them than was necessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Original Courtroom Drama, February 7, 2013
This review is from: Perry Mason: Season 7, Vol. 2 (DVD)
Perry Mason Season 7 Volume 2

These fifteen TV shows from 1964 are based on the novels of Erle Stanley Gardner. The books are more complete and informative, they tell about life that is not experienced by most people. The books explain why some things are done, the films only show you what happened. The books tell you about "ropers", rough or smooth shadows, how to evade surveillance, and avoid leaving a back trail. Some questioned the legality and ethics of Perry Mason's tactics but the stories were written before modern legal rules. The background tells about life in Los Angeles and America. There is nothing like these dramatic stories on today's broadcast TV. When was the last time you saw a trial lawyer as a hero? Erle Stanley Gardner was a founder of the "Court of Last Resort" which sought to free the unjustly convicted. Gardner sought to use scientific means to find the guilty rather than using hunches or guesses alone.

The seeming reality of these stories is due in part to characters who don't look like Hollywood actors. Some of the original stories were modified for TV. The theme music is typical for the late 1950s. Note the style of clothing and culture; ladies wore white gloves. People seldom lock their doors. The prices date these films. One advantage is seeing the many automobiles from that era. How many can you identify? Note the slimness of people, the smoking, and the familiarity with pistols. Watch how the actors express their emotions by their facial expressions. The camera sharpness and quality is excellent, but these films have a higher contrast than in earlier seasons. These stories often use the misinterpretation of circumstantial evidence to provide dramatic effects. The courtroom scenes are usually the Preliminary Hearings and often tell about the law. The titles begin with "The Case of The". Most are not from the novels except those with a year after the title.

"Ice-cold Hands" (1962); "Bountiful Beauty";
"Nervous Neighbor"; "Fifty Millionth Frenchman".

"Frightened Fisherman"; "Arrogant Arsonist";
"Garrulous Go-between"; "Woeful Widower".

"Simple Simon"; "Illicit Illusion";
"Antic Angel"; "Careless Kidnaper".

"Drifting Dropout"; "Tandem Target";
"Ugly Duckling".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, love these!, March 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Perry Mason: Season 7, Vol. 2 (DVD)
Have ALL nines seasons.. Love these oldies!! I have become a real Perry Mason fan! Love the reruns on Hallmark Channel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perry Mason Seventh Season Vol. 2, December 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Perry Mason: Season 7, Vol. 2 (DVD)
Like all the previous seasons of Perry Mason, this set is excellent. If you liked the first six seasons, this is more of the same!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best show., December 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Perry Mason: Season 7, Vol. 2 (DVD)
This season has Lt. Anderson largely (if not completely) taking over for the beloved Lt. Tragg, but the quality holds up all the same! Andy was fine, he just was no Tragg... :)

This set also features several episodes where Barbara Hale is noticeably absent...still trying to find out why that was. Della is sorely missed in those episodes, and the certainly lack something important she brings to the show, but it is still enjoyable to watch Perry trap murderers and embarrass law enforcement and district attorneys! It is also kind of neat to see a little more Gertie and to have Paul Drake take on a more involved role to try and make up for Ms. Hale's absence.

As with all of these half-seasons, they are horribly over-priced...but I'm still willing to shell out every so often for my much needed dose of Perry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Perry Mason: Season 7, Vol. 2
Perry Mason: Season 7, Vol. 2 by Harmon Jones (DVD - 2012)
$29.99 $14.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.