Customer Reviews


115 Reviews
5 star:
 (99)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Classic Continues
For Perry Mason fans, the release announcement of Season 8 volume 1 is a sure sign that all entire nine seasons will be released, after all. For those who watch the series closely, you'll notice some subtle changes by the beginning of the eighth season. Maybe the 1964- 1965 season reflects the world that changed after JFK's assassination in November 1963, but you'll...
Published on October 6, 2012 by Martin L

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I love Perry Mason but this season is under par.
In this 8th season Raymond Burr and the other regulars on the show do their usual excellent job. However, the other actors are many times corny and almost hokey. Many of the episodes portray someone with an accent that is so unrealistic and phoney......almost laughable. The acting at times is silly and unprofessional. This is way below the usual excellent high quality we...
Published 22 months ago by sandra w


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Classic Continues, October 6, 2012
This review is from: Perry Mason: Season 8, Vol. 1 (DVD)
For Perry Mason fans, the release announcement of Season 8 volume 1 is a sure sign that all entire nine seasons will be released, after all. For those who watch the series closely, you'll notice some subtle changes by the beginning of the eighth season. Maybe the 1964- 1965 season reflects the world that changed after JFK's assassination in November 1963, but you'll see a bit edgier Perry Mason---more reflective of the contemporary world. You'll also notice more close ups and changed lighting with the addition of cinemetographer John M . Nickolaus. In terms of music, the early years of Perry Mason reflected the stock CBS music library--much of which was created by Bernard Herrmann in the 1950's. Seasons 8 and 9 reflect specific music scored by Richard Shores. Ray Collins (Lt Tragg) is only seen very rarely--even though his name is listed in the credits of every show through the end of the 8th season-----he was suffering from emphysema and died in July of 1965.

Some say that the series best years ended by the seventh season. I disagree. The last two seasons were every bit as good, if not better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From The Era of Great T.V.!, October 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Perry Mason: Season 8, Vol. 1 (DVD)
Wouldn't it be great if there more shows like Perry Mason on today rather than all of the T&A, foul mouthed and violent shows that have become the norm in today's T.V. offerings? When I was a kid, every Thursday evening, our whole family gathered around the T.V. to watch Perry Mason. We were usually joined by some of our neighbors since we were one of the few families in the neighborhood who owned a T.V. set. Perry Mason was/remains today a show that the whole family could/can watch together without worring about the content being inappropriate for the younger ones to watch. The incomprable Raymond Burr delivered a truly believeable performance as Perry Mason, a lawyer who in spite of District Attorney Hamilton Burger and his cohert the rascally Lt. Tragg, always managed to uncover the real perpetrators through factual evidence and solid reasoning. He did so all the while keeping the audience guessing "who done it?" right to the end of each show. Great entertaining and timeless T.V. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Audio and Video Tracks on the DVDs, November 9, 2012
By 
SteveS (Cincinnati) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Perry Mason: Season 8, Vol. 1 (DVD)
In the days "Old" when TV was... well, NBC, CBS, and ABC broadcast engineers would use a number of techniques to clean up errors in the production filming. When Perry Mason was being broadcast, the networks would send their programs out via tight-beam microwave and telephone lines. The video was transmitted using line-of-site microwave towers and the audio was sent via dedicated long distance telephone lines. The video was OK, but the audio had a very limited bandwidth. It had a frequency response of about 100 to 5000 Hz (cycles per second), slightly better than what a telephone conversation would sound like.

The audio of these shows you are now watching on DVD seem to be poorly mixed. Yes, they were probably getting sloppy in the 7th and 8th seasons when they printed the final copy. But, they knew then the filtering effect of the long distance telephone line amplifiers would even things out. That's why the music seems very bright and voices in comparison seem muffled. I don't think there was any effort on the part of the DVD makers to clean up the audio track much less one or two of the video tracks.

There are one or two episodes in the beginning of the DVD collection where the picture suddenly turns green or brown in several of the courtroom scene changes. They were probably using a defective roll of film in one of the cameras. You can see the picture change to green on one scene and then back to normal when it switches back to another scene. During the original broadcasts, the video was sent out in black and white hiding this occurrence. So, rather than reshoot the whole take, they left it up to the broadcast engineers to adjust for and filter out this problem.

Although the complete 18 volume set will end up being exceedingly expensive, something over $600 for all 9 seasons, the DVDs thus far have been good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perry Mason Eighth Season vol 1, January 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Perry Mason: Season 8, Vol. 1 (DVD)
Would definitely recommend to any fans of Raymond Burr as Perry Mason. His character, the plot, the characters are all superb. It is too bad that Tragg does not appear. I think he was likely no longer alive by this time. However, his name still appears in the credits. A true tribute to the actor. An excellent set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perry puts it to bed, December 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Perry Mason: Season 8, Vol. 1 (DVD)
I love to watch these at night when I'm safely established in my tree. These are the most soothing items for sleep that I have found. I focus on the stories and flow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perry Mason - Still Wonderful, February 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Perry Mason: Season 8, Vol. 1 (DVD)
Some claim the writers were running out of ideas after eight seasons. I disagree. The episodes still pull the viewer in and keep him guessing whodunit. I'm looking forward to the release of season 9.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific addition to my Dad's Perry Mason Collection, December 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Perry Mason: Season 8, Vol. 1 (DVD)
My Dad just received this latest Perry Mason DVD collection. He loves it! He and my mom watch about five Perry shows a week. They are in their late 80's and always look forward to the newest DVD releases. They have already watched four of the shows from this collection and said they were great.

My folks look forward to the Ninth season's release in 2013. The sooner the better.

I would highly recommend this Perry Mason collection to any fans of the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The case of the defense lawyer that skirts the law, July 5, 2014
This review is from: Perry Mason: Season 8, Vol. 1 (DVD)
This is a series of programs based a character in the writings of Erle Stanley Gardner. The CBS TV series stretched from 1957 through 1966.

Perry Mason (Raymond Burr) is a defense lawyer who is always thought of after it is too late for him to save the defendant from being accused of murder. Supporting Perry is his trusty more than friendly but professional secretary Della Street (Barbara Hale). And their trusty and sneaky private investigator Paul Drake (William DeWolf Hopper, Son of the actress-turned-gossip-columnist Hedda Hopper). On the other side of the courtroom is the district attorney Hamilton Burger (William Talman) assisted by the not so neutral Homicide Lt. Arthur Tragg (Ray Collins).

You wonder how they get away with manufacturing evidence and the defendant usually has foot in mouth. Then there are the signature courtroom demonstrations.

Be sure to re-watch these programs as you can then see at even in TV programs they can sprinkle in subtle clues.

The was a mad magazine mock that had a boy scout immediately confess from the back of the courtroom upon seeing Perry mason.

Many of the subsequent programs allowed many TV actors of the time to become different characters and even replace the Burger and Tragg characters. You find yourself not only trying to outguess Mason but also saying "Hey I saw that actor in..."

Even though the characters are from Erle Stanley Gardner the actual programs are written by many different TV writers of the day.

I have on occasion read some of the Erle Stanly Gardner Mason's and they are closely related. The TV version has a few less characters and has to write in some of our favorites.

The DVD's themselves usually have four episodes with a glaring lack of the extras that are so popular nowadays. The plus is that there are no advertisements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perry Mason: Season 8, Vol. 1, March 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Perry Mason: Season 8, Vol. 1 (DVD)
I realy enjoy watching classic movies and programs dated before 1960. They have no bad language and have excellent story lines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series, September 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Perry Mason: Season 8, Vol. 1 (DVD)
Perry Mason - classic TV. Although somewhere between season 6 and 7 there's something "different" but I can't put my finger on it. I still like all the Perry Mason but I think I like seasons 1-6 better. And I will get the entire series. Like I said, classic TV and you can't go wrong with Perry Mason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Perry Mason: Season 8, Vol. 1
Perry Mason: Season 8, Vol. 1 by Harmon Jones (DVD - 2012)
$29.99 $17.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.