Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Perry Mason: Season 3, Vol. 1
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Drowners Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon May 26, 2008
Perry Mason is as much a part of American culture as apple pie and mom. You'd be hard pressed to find anyone of any age who doesn't at least recognize the name. Erle Stanley Gardner's books have millions of devoted fans. The television show it spawned was fabulous as entertainment, and today is widely regarded as one of the best shows the medium ever produced. Perry was the attorney you wanted on your side in a jam.

Raymond Burr had some good roles in films, but will always be remembered as Perry Mason. It was Gardner himself who picked Burr, even though the studio only agreed to let him test for Perry if he would test for Burger too! Barbara Hale was his pretty secretary, Della Street, who kept Perry human and was in love with him. William Hopper was the dapper detective, Paul Drake. He had a playful and flirtatious relationship with Della but every viewer knew that secretly her heart belonged to Perry.

William Talman as D.A. Hamilton Burger would almost be ready to gloat, Lt. Tragg (Ray Collins) not far behind, when Perry would spring his client by revealing the real killer on the witness stand. There has never been anything close to it in genre on television since. Its mix of drama, noir, and humor, and its truly likable characters, made for terrific viewing.

Season three had some great episodes, including a case where Paul was the accused, in a twisty tail of blackmail and murder. Releasing them in half seasons, the first half on volume one, the second on volume two, may indeed be an effective but annoying marketing scheme, but with all the junk out there we're lucky to actually have a few worthy releases such as Perry Mason even available.

Season three, beginning in October of 1959 and ending in June of 1960, is as follows: The Case of the Watery Witness--The Case of the Garrulous Gambler--The Case of the Blushing Pearls--The Case of the Startled Stallion--The Case of Paul Drake's Dilemma--The Case of the Golden Fraud--The Case of the Bartered Bikini-- The Case of the Artful Dodger--The Case of the Lucky Legs--The Case of the Violent Village--The Case of the Frantic Flyer--The Case of the Wayward Wife--The Case of the Prudent Prosecutor--The Case of the Gallant Grafter--The Case of the Wary Wildcatter--The Case of the Mythical Monkeys--The Case of the Singing Skirt--The Case of the Bashful Burro--The Case of the Crying Cherub--The Case of the Nimble Nephew--The Case of the Madcap Modiste--The Case of the Slandered Submarine--The Case of the Ominous Outcast--The Case of the Irate Inventor--The Case of the Flighty Father

This was one of the best dramas ever to hit the air. Seeing it today reminds us just how good television can be, but is often not. It's a bit of nostalgia and a lot of entertainment for TV fans. Fred Steiner's "Park Avenue Beat" remains one of the most recognizable themes ever heard. A must for any serious collector.
11 comment|73 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2008
Perry Mason is the gold standard for the "law" & "order" genre, bar none!

With Season One at 39 episodes I could possibly see the studio issuing two half season releases. But as the first two seasons are now discounted, as expected, I find it very hard to justify $35 bucks for a 13 episode half season set every 6-8 months. Many older fans literally may not even live to see the entire 9 seasons make it to release. The corporate suits at Paramount know exactly what they are doing and I believe they relish in the agony of the purchaser.

The only consumer recourse is to wait them out; very hard to do when you are a fan of quality programming.
1212 comments|130 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2008
I adore the 'Perry Mason' series and have eagerly anticipated each new DVD release of THE classic courtroom drama. However, I was dismayed at the cheap and shoddy packaging of the latest Season 3 Volume 1 release. Gone are the cardboard slipcovers and thin individual DVD cases. The DVDs are now crammed into a single, flimsy plastic case. Gone are the well-designed DVD labels and episode description inserts. The graphics on the DVDs have been pared down to a solid industrial gray and the episode descriptions are obscured by the DVDs affixed to the case interior.

It's not as though CBS/Paramount spoiled us with the earlier 'Perry Mason' DVD releases (which were more than a little short on bells-and-whistles) but at least the cases protected the DVDs!

'Perry Mason' deserves better than this cheap, flimsy presentation.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2008
Five stars for the show!These studios have some raw nerve!The price on
these sets are now up $10 to $15 per release!Releases that are only HALF
seasons to boot!Worse,think back!Season One had 39 episodes,20 and 19
per half or volume release!In case you dont know,Season 3 only has 26
total episodes - Twenty -Six!That means 13 stinking episodes per volume!
ENOUGH is ENOUGH!Boycott this garbage.This Season Three should be
released as ONE full season or the retail price should be $30 - not $50!!
77 comments|159 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2008
At $35 to $37 for a full season of Mission Impossible, Paramount makes a hefty profit particularly when you consider that the primary costs are for the discs, case and artwork. At $70 a season for Perry Mason, which is double what they sell Mission Impossible, the studio is simply feeding their greed off of Perry Mason fans.
But wait, there is an alternative.
All 9 seasons, 271 episodes, are now available on-line for a price of from $120 to $160.
I recently saw Star Trek Voyager offered by one of these companies and the picture and sound quality are excellent.
If I'm lucky enough to live another 7 years to purchase the remaining 14 box sets of Perry Mason released by Paramount I would have spent nearly $700!
98% of the comments on this page have told Paramount that we've had enough of the exorbitant prices and excruciating slow releases for Perry Mason.
I and most everyone else who has written comments on this page for the past several months has given Paramount a more than fair opportunity to adjust their policy.
Paramount seems to be tone deaf, Nothing has changed. But for me it has.
So this is to inform you that wish to know that there is an alternative to Paramount's arrogance.
Google Perry Mason and you will find other and better options including the opportunity to purchase the entire nine seasons, legal copies, for under $160. Look for the sites that only sell items that state that these items are in the public domain. They say if you have evidence that they are not then notify them and they will remove the item(s).
I am not telling people to order these items only saying that there are other options from the outrageous prices and slow releases from this studio. Anyone interested in these options should research them on their own and determine the legality and quality before making any decision.
My only intent is to try and help those who cannot afford the money or the wait for more Perry Mason.
1212 comments|58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2008
I know I'm supposed to write about the product. But as other people have pointed out, the price keeps going up. This time you get only 3 DVDs for $35. Being a fan of this show, it hurts to see Paramount rip us off like this. I would probably wait for a while and buy it when the price goes down.
11 comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2008
I was about to buy, but the price is too high for just half a season. Mason is our favorite series, but this is ridiculous.
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2008
Enough all ready! If there is fear that Death may overtake you before you can see these 13 episodes, or that PARAMOUNT might STOP releasing them(RIGHT!), go ahead and BUY NOW at their Asking Price: as for me, I'll join the Boycott and take my chances. Being a long-time -fan of Erle Stanley Gardner(and his AKA's), I have almost every thing available in written form & have the pleasurable option of re-re-re-reading the books.
Yes, I'm aware that some episodes were not ESG plot-driven, and it is usually apparent........
P.S.....PARAMOUNT could sell S3 V1 for $15 and still be making a decent profit!

DON'T CAVE! - YOU'LL SAVE!
0Comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2008
I'm writing this review before the release date. Based on the information currently available, it appears that season 3 of Perry Mason is being released as 2 separate sets, the first of which has a list price of 50$ (Amazon is discounting to 'only' 35). Season 1, released as 2 sets, had 39 episodes in total. Season 2, released as 2 sets, had 30 episodes. I have checked and found that season 3 of PM had only 26 episodes. Do the math!!! The per episode cost is getting very high. I think the prices charged here are out of line -- many series from the 50's appear to be in the public domain. Thus, unlike new series, I don't think it costs the studios a great deal to release sets such as this one, and their prices should reflect this. At the very least, their prices should not be increasing as rapidly as they are. 5 stars for the show, 1 star for the pricing, averages to 3 stars.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2008
I LOVE Perry Mason and have already been frustrated with the impressively slow rate of release, but now Paramount wants to bend us all over the desk with the rip off prices of these volumes. I'm not buying, I'll just live with the old VHS tapes I made from the TV years ago. It amazes me to see how fast Paramount releases the complete episodes of some of the worst shows, yet release of Mason drags on. They are doing the same thing with the original Gunsmoke. The first season came out in its entirety, but not season two! No, they split that in half yet charged the SAME amount as the first season! I've had it!

Dan Horst
0Comment|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.