Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding
The author, Jim Lacey, does an outstanding job of capturing the history of one of the first great military leaders of the 20th Century, General Pershing. It is undeniable the mark that Pershing left on the military after WWI, giving the United States a huge advantage when it saw action again during World War II. Lacey does a fantastic job of telling the life story of...
Published on July 22, 2008 by Lucas G. Miles

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars philip read Pershing (Great Generals series)
This book will remain in my personal library collection a book to refer to. There are other book that could more detail in the future,however my library has been deficent on Gen. Pershing. I recived book at on Christmas Eve.
Published on February 14, 2011 by Visa


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, July 22, 2008
The author, Jim Lacey, does an outstanding job of capturing the history of one of the first great military leaders of the 20th Century, General Pershing. It is undeniable the mark that Pershing left on the military after WWI, giving the United States a huge advantage when it saw action again during World War II. Lacey does a fantastic job of telling the life story of Pershing in 193 easy-to-read pages. For any student of history, more specifically military history, this text is a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful introduction to an often ignored American, May 26, 2010
By 
This review is from: Pershing: A Biography (Great Generals) (Paperback)
I read this book as part of a research paper I did on the Spanish American War. This book is short but is filled with information and does not leave gaps in his life they way other biographies sometimes do that tend to focus on only big events. I think any one interested in the man, the time period or any of the event Pershing was a part of will find the length of this book, the content and is ease of reading a true pleasure. As an introductory to Pershing it should be first on anyone's list. I recommend this often to people curious on Pershing, or interested on American history at the turn of the last century in general. If you only read one book about Pershing make it this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A View from Above, July 22, 2008
By 
Paul B. Baum (Mexico, Missouri) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Author Jim Lacey clearly gives the GENERAL'S perspective of the events during Pershing's life. The reader gets no feeling of having been in the trenches although the general's perspective is presented quite well. The author, if he truly did set out to communicate only the view from above, was very successful and I do recommend this book for those who are interested in that angle.

The clearest example of this bias is the campaign against the Moros in the Philippines. The slaughter was presented as always a necessary thing. It makes one wonder. Perhaps the reader who wishes a broader perspective of Pershing's professional activities should compare and contrast views by other historians as well.
Paul Baum, Ph.D.
Living Historyist
Audrain County Historical Society
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, June 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pershing: A Biography (Great Generals) (Paperback)
This short yet insightful treatment of General Pershing's life is an excellent piece of work. Jim Lacey has managed to capture the essence of the man and place it in the context of the time. Pershing and the first third of the Twentieth Century are often overshadowed by the Second World War and its pantheon of leaders. Lacey brings to light the years and man who created the foundation on which the Army of 1940. The beauties of this book are clarity and insight. I recommend it without reservation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well written, complete biography, a must-read, August 24, 2013
I have read biographies of Pershing, and Pershing's own two-volume work describing his build-up of the AEF. But no work brings all the facts together as well as Lacey's. The author is always to the point, keeping the biography moving and always fresh. He also makes interesting observations about Pershing and his times that provide a most refreshing summation. The book is a real page-turner. Lacey has written a very necessary, highly enjoyable, must-read biography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Story of Military Evolution from the 19th to 20th Century, April 8, 2012
By 
Mr. Robert C. Bonds (McAllen,TX-Rio Grande Valley) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pershing: A Biography (Great Generals) (Paperback)
Jim Lacey the author of Pershing readily admits that General Pershing is not one of those great generals who have become so well memorialized by numerous military historians.

That being said, what Lacey has done is tell a superb story in a limited number of pages about how the US Army transitioned from the 19th century to the 20th century through the eyes of one who was a leader in the midst of this transition.

Lacey tells us what it is liked to lead the army through the later part of the 19th century into the 20th century where there were great advances of technology especially during the 1st World War.

Like most successful generals, we learn that Pershing had a tremendous work ethic that exceeded many if not all of his peers during the Army in the late 19th century. It was this work ethic and this understanding of logistics that Pershing would utilize in creating a successful American Army in Europe amongst the many failures of the the Allies during WW I.

Part of the Pershing legacy to the US Army we have today is his creation of a true General Staff and the establishment of the professional military education program for Army officers. By the time one finishes Lacey's work it becomes apparent that Pershing's greatest gift to the US military is that he created the framework for our modern Army of today.

This book is well worth reading if one is truly a student of US Army history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Generals knew more then., October 18, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pershing: A Biography (Great Generals) (Paperback)
Pershing (Great General) pretty much could do it all! He put down a major insurrection in the Philippines, beat back an attempt by the Mexicans to recapture Texas, stormed up the Hill with Teddy Roosevelt and knew him on a first name basis, and took a bunch of school kids to Europe, trained them, led them in battle, took mre gaff from the Allies than he deserved, and won WWI. Too much for one General. I thought so, too. Apparently though, he did all those things and many more which I didn't list. It must be true. Generals knew more then. This was a great read, artfully told by the author. Charley Irions, Major General, USAF (Ret)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book about a great American, August 26, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I read and enjoyed Jim Lacey's book "The First Clash" so when I went looking for a book on General Pershing and saw he authored one it was an easy decision to read this book. I was not disappointed.

Pershing's is an amazing story of a time in American history that is not as well known as it should be. My desire to understand the relationship of the Muslim world to the West often takes me to WWI and the Ottoman Empire. This provided some insight that I was looking for and was enjoyable to read too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, December 21, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pershing: A Biography (Great Generals) (Paperback)
good overview of the man's life and accomplishments... Easy and engaging, basic but thorough, heartfelt yet objective... It is what it says it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars philip read Pershing (Great Generals series), February 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pershing: A Biography (Great Generals) (Paperback)
This book will remain in my personal library collection a book to refer to. There are other book that could more detail in the future,however my library has been deficent on Gen. Pershing. I recived book at on Christmas Eve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Pershing: A Biography (Great Generals)
Pershing: A Biography (Great Generals) by Jim Lacey (Paperback - June 9, 2009)
$12.95 $11.22
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.