Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray: Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 4 fans will LOVE this anime series!
The "Shin Megami Tensei: Persona" role-playing video game series developed and published by Atlus and has won over fans due to its darker storyline and it's one of the few games to incorporate a Japanese atmosphere incorporating simulation type games relating to its characters.

Created back in 1996, "Shin Megami Tensei: Persona" has continually evolved and its...
Published 23 months ago by Dennis A. Amith (kndy)

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars but should work fine.
The disks were loose in the case, but should work fine.
Published 4 months ago by Kyle Mote


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray: Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 4 fans will LOVE this anime series!, January 19, 2013
The "Shin Megami Tensei: Persona" role-playing video game series developed and published by Atlus and has won over fans due to its darker storyline and it's one of the few games to incorporate a Japanese atmosphere incorporating simulation type games relating to its characters.

Created back in 1996, "Shin Megami Tensei: Persona" has continually evolved and its fifth installment, "Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 4″ (the fifth installment in the SMT: Persona series) was no doubt a popular title in the series when it was released on the PlayStation 2 in 2008.

The video game would inspire a 25-episode anime series titled "Persona 4: The Animation" , which aired on Japanese television in 2011-2012.

In 2012, with the release of the PlayStation Vita version of the game (titled "Persona 4: Golden") and the fighting game sequel "Persona 4 Arena" for the PlayStation 3 and XBOX 360, what better time than now to release the anime series "Persona 4: The Animation" on Blu-ray and DVD courtesy of Sentai Filmworks.

With the first volume of "Persona 4: The Animation" featuring the first 12-episodes released in September 2012, the second collection featuring 13-26 was released in January 2013.

VIDEO:

"Persona 4: The Animation" is presented in 1080p High Definition (1:78:1 aspect ratio). The anime series is vibrant and colorful. The overall look of "Persona 4″ is stylish and cool, but it's interesting to see its use of pink with white on the faces of the characters. It's definitely a different use of coloring for characters but watching this anime series, color plays a big part in this series to set a mood. May it be the looming danger of the fog rolling into Inaba, the use of blues in the Blue Room but for the majority of the anime series, everything is colorful. Chie's red hair and green/yellow track jacket, Yukiko and Rise's use of red and of course the beautiful combination of animation and CG elements, for the most part, I felt the series compliments the video game remarkably well.

But overall anime production from AIC A.S.T.A. is fantastic, the series looks wonderful on Blu-ray with no banding or artifacts. The series looked sharp, black levels were nice and deep and colors were absolutely vibrant! "Persona 4: The Animation" looks awesome!

AUDIO:

"Persona 4: The Animation" is presented only with an English DTS-HD Master Audio 2.0 soundtrack. While the English version is well-acted, it is somewhat of a disappointment that the Japanese soundtrack is not included. The reason for this is that the Japanese licensors did not want reverse importation of the Blu-ray release, but yet the DVD will include both soundtracks. It's sad because the Japanese soundtracks utilize the same voice actors, which would have been nice to see. But the fear of reverse importation does happen and unfortunately some series are released in America without its Japanese soundtrack. Interesting enough, on the video game side of things, the recent U.S. release of "Persona 4 Arena" became the first video game to be region-locked for the PlayStation 3. One again, in fears of reverse importation.

With that being said, dialogue and music is crystal clear through the front channels. And when it comes to voice acting, Sentai Filmworks brought voice acting veterans to the series such as Johnny Yong Bosch, Amanda Winn Lee, Yuri Lowenthal, Laura Bailey, Karen Strassman and more.

SPECIAL FEATURES:

"Persona 4: The Animation - Collection Two" comes with the following special features:

Clean Opening and Closing Animations
Trailers - Trailers for Sentai Filmworks releases

JUDGMENT CALL:

If you thought the first half of "Persona 4: The Animation" was exciting, wait until you watch "Persona 4: The Animation - Collection Two". More action, more exciting and even more emotional than the first half. Definitely one of the best anime series created that is based on a video game!

I'm a big fan of the entire "Shin Megami Tensei" video game series. My first experience with a "Shin Megami Tensei" video game was "Persona II: Eternal Punishment" and I absolutely loved the game for its characters but also it's darker theme, use of Personas and it's use of Japanese pop culture ingrained into an RPG game, the video games were a distinct style compared to other games from the major software makers.

And things changed no doubt with "Persona 3″ which included a dating simulator and the ability for one to strengthen relationships, friendships and the overall gameplay becoming much more stylish and cool! Suffice to say, when "Persona 4″ came out, once again, Atlus was able to create cool characters and further the experience for fans and gamers (who love Japanese RPG's), but most importantly, making the games different from other companies and continuing to set the "Shin Megami Tensei: Persona" apart from its competitors.

And more American video game critics have started to take notice in the "Shin Megami Tensei" series. While many people who are discovering it are wondering, what is the appeal?

"Persona 4: The Animation" is a series that captures the fun of the video game series but in animated format. It's one thing to have animated cut scenes but to have a series that compliments the video game is wonderful. Many people who have watched anime series based on video games, may it be "Final Fantasy", "Xenogears", "Tekken", "Street Fighter", "King of Fighters" will notice that the stories are much different than the video game. While there are series such as the ".Hack" anime that does compliment the video games, it doesn't use the actual characters of the video game series completely. "Persona 4: The Animation" not only features the characters, but it also showcases the supporting characters and goes into things that make the video game series so fun such as one's ability to strengthen relationships and friendships.

Like the video game, the main protagonist Yu can make a difference in people's lives. From making a difference in the life of his cousin, young Nanako to also his relationship with his female friends...Chie, Yukiko and Rise. And like the video game, the series shows how Yu can easily heighten his relationship with these female characters if he focuses on it. The video game of course allows you to build these relationships, but the anime series showcases those relationships and what one can accomplish.

And then there is the Persona element. With most of the Persona games, there is always a character who has the special ability to use more than one Persona. The series uses Igor and Margaret from the Blue Room to start off each episode and shows how Yu has received a new Persona for strengthening his bonds with other people. This is important in the video game and it's great to see the series start off with the Blue Room and set the tone for the series, may it be to guide Yu or to warn him of major danger.

The second half of the series continues the action, but also the friendships that Yu and friends have. But how these people function almost like a family. But just when you think the serial-murder case was over, think again!

And what shocks the audience is when an unexpected tragedy hits close to home and a death you never expected. Definitely makes the series more emotional but everything works itself out by the end of the series that you can't help but want to watch more "Persona 4: The Animation". A lot of twists and turns with this second half but it was definitely worth watching!

Watching "Persona 4: The Animation" made me feel giddy like a fanboy. Why? Because I absolutely love the video games and to see it explored in such a way, like this anime series and getting it right, I don't know how many times I have watched an anime series inspired by a video game and felt disappointed because it seemed as if the writers of the anime series were not on the same page as those who developed the video games. But for "Persona 4: the Animation", the writers were in tune with what happens in the series and managed to incorporate those elements from the video game to this anime series.

The Blu-ray looks absolutely fantastic! Colorful, vibrant, the anime series looks fantastic on Blu-ray. As for the audio, I'm sure there are those who are going to be disappointed that the Japanese soundtrack was not included but once again, fears of reverse importation has happened before for an anime series on Blu-ray and in the case of "Persona 4″, it not only has affected this Blu-ray release but also the most recent release of the "Persona 4 Arena"video game being region-locked.

Sure, the Blu-ray may not have both soundtracks (while the DVD does) but if you do enjoy English dubs, the good news is that Sentai Filmworks brought in their veterans for "Persona 4: The Animation". From Amanda Winn Lee, Johnny Yong Bosch, Yuri Lowenthall, Karen Strassman, Laura Bailey to name a few, I'm quite pleased with the English dub. As for special features, you get the usual clean opening and ending animations but also both director's cut and on air versions of the first episode.

If you thought the first half of "Persona 4: The Animation" was exciting, wait until you watch "Persona 4: The Animation - Collection Two". More action, more exciting battles and even more emotional than the first half of the series. Definitely one of the better anime series that is based on a video game! Recommended for fans of the "Shin Megami Tensei" video games and anime fans wanting something different for an action anime series but also something unique, stylish, cool!

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm gonna go on, I'm gonna go get what I want!, December 5, 2012
Finally, the second half to the great Persona 4 anime adaption is upon us. This Blu-ray set is only English Dubbed and has the second half of the series, while also containing the special True End episode.

The second half of the series is where I think this show shines the most. Hilarious Social Link episodes and high stakes fights are common in this half of the series. I always recommend that if you are interested in the show to try and play the game first, as the show obviously runs through it, which can ruin the game experience if you haven't already played it.

This set includes a special True End episode that is alternative to the ending of the episode before it. This special is actually worse than the normal ending though. This adaption of the True End from the game (which the True End in the game is absolutely fantastic and way better than the normal ending) is sloppy. They go for some kind of cutting maneuver which means they go from once scene to another and then back a earlier scene again constantly. It is quite nauseating to me, as it should have just been presented in the typical linear format, but the people directing it probably did it this way to cut down on the time of the special. Overall, this True End left me dissatisfied and I would actually recommend almost ignoring it.

Despite that, everything else is here. The very emotional scenes with Nanako, the heavy fighting climax against the true culprit, it is all here. Persona 4 is my favorite video game of all time, so this Anime does mean a lot to me, and I think they really did a good job with this adaption (well... besides the True End special). If you beat the game, or don't plan to ever play it, then I hope you give this Anime a shot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Finale Is Here For Anime Fans To Add To The Collection, August 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Persona 4: Collection 2 (DVD)
While I've never actually played any of the Persona games it's hardly necessary to enjoy the anime series as the character and storyline are more then enough to keep you entertained throughout the series. The basic story is you have a young highschool student Yu Narukami going to small Japanese town to stay with his uncle for awhile when a strange string of murders start to happen for no apparent reason as Yu investigates the weird situation he finds out that it's due to a weird connection to something called the Midnight Channel and as he continues he meets friends and comrades who help each other try and stop the murders and solve the mystery of the Midnight Channel. The animation is decent but not the usual kind seen with the more known series like Gundam or Naruto it's more a mix of Last Exile and Glass Fleet not the exact animation but a close enough approximation. The one weird thing about the sets is that if you want both the subbed and dubbed audio tracks you have to get the regular dvd sets not the blu-ray ones which seems a little strange as if you get the blu-ray version you will only have the dubbed audio track and not the subbed audio like on the standard regular set.

I'd advise checking out a few episodes online if possible but after watching a few episodes I'm sure you enjoy this series more then enough to get the entire set for your anime collection to enjoy whenever you wish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Velvet Room Beckons again, February 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It seems like the case is solved, a murder is arrested and the Investigative team works to enjoy golden week and summer vacation by going on trips. But things are not all as it seems, Yu is running around on a mysterious mission - which has Naniko don the Magical Detective Loveline cape to solve the mystery, Teddy is popping up all over the place, and the Midnight Channel is quiet. But when the Detective Prince starts going to the school with new questions, even Yu has suspicions that the case is far from solved. As the group work to discover the secret of the Midnight channel, someone close to Yu is taken by the killer. It is a race into the TV world to save the latest victims, but can the bonds and new Persona's that Yu controls be enough or will it be the ultimate cancellation as the Velvet Room prepares to close.

Overall I loved the series, you could hear slight differences in the characters voices from Part 1 to Part 2 but I did not think that it detracted from the story as a whole. I would say that anyone who is a fan of the Persona Series will still enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The anticipation is killing me., December 11, 2012
By 
David Arroyo (FREMONT, CA, US) - See all my reviews
This is going to be one of the best Blu-ray releases of the new year IMO, and for anyone who is not sure if it is english dubbed, it is. If you click on the pic of the back cover then zoom in, you will see that it has English DTA audio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... finished season 2 I must say This anime is great not only because it follows the game but because ..., July 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Finally finished season 2 I must say This anime is great not only because it follows the game but because the protagonist actually is a character and is not silent as he is in the game, he makes jokes and is "kind of a jerk" haha. Great buy I definitely recommend it to any persona or anime fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Was purchased for my son..., May 29, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
We purchased this for my son on Christmas. Now he's got the whole family watching it! Unique storyline, interesting characters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Proper animation from an amazing game, March 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great animated series even if you haven't played the game. Great character cast with an interesting story. This is definitely a must watch for anime fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this story, and it's great to revisit it., March 20, 2014
By 
ghostretch (West Des Moines, IA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm very glad I picked up this series and watched it AFTER I had finished the game. It still has the great epic feel the game did with it's own added nuances that still make it unique enough to enjoy the story over again.

I have 2 complaints though:
1. Selling the series separately in two parts is a but silly, clearly a cash grab since buying one part without the other makes no sense.
2. Chie hardly ate any meat! This girl is a total carnivore in the game but they barely touch on it in the show, such a shame.

Definitely give this a watch though AFTER you've played and enjoyed the game, it's definitely worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as the original game itself., February 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you are a fan of the Original Persona 4 for playstation, then you will love this series, it provides everything that game gives, while in a great sense of personality for the hero and also a great sense of humor. It is short, only 26 episodes, but they are worth the watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Persona 4: Collection 2
Persona 4: Collection 2 by Persona 4 (DVD - 2013)
$59.98 $32.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.