Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent choice for the Pythonite neophyte, dabbler, or dilettante
Do the 16 DVDs of the 16-Ton Megaset seem over-the-top to you, or at least more than you will ever watch? They do to me, which is why I purchased this 6-hour 6-DVD set (brand spankin' new, I might add) for the paltry sum of $8.99 (+$2.99 shipping). As of this writing, the box is still available at that price through Amazon from several sellers who bought it wholesale...
Published on January 15, 2008 by Thomas E. Davis

versus
31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing set has more interviews than skits
We ordered this set to see the best skits, not listen to endless droning on about the personal lives of the guys. We were very disappointed that there is no way to watch the skits without the interviews, and, on top of it all, the entire skits aren't even shown but frequently have the beginning or end cut off!
Published on August 30, 2007 by mlh


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent choice for the Pythonite neophyte, dabbler, or dilettante, January 15, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Personal Best of Monty Python's Flying Circus (DVD)
Do the 16 DVDs of the 16-Ton Megaset seem over-the-top to you, or at least more than you will ever watch? They do to me, which is why I purchased this 6-hour 6-DVD set (brand spankin' new, I might add) for the paltry sum of $8.99 (+$2.99 shipping). As of this writing, the box is still available at that price through Amazon from several sellers who bought it wholesale. Most of your favorite bits are here:

Confuse-a-Cat
Batley Townswomen's Guild Presents the Battle of Pearl Harbor
Upperclass Twit of the Year
Sit on My Face
Nudge Nudge
Lumberjack Song
Fish Slapping Dance
Vocational Guidance Counsellor Sketch
Ministry of Silly Walks
Dead Parrot Sketch
Exploding Penguin on TV Set
Spam
Argument Clinic
Dirty Hungarian Phrase-Book
Architect Sketch
Cheese Shop
Funniest Joke in the World
Spanish Inquisition
Lifeboat
Man with Three Buttocks
and much more

Plus, you get 45 of Terry Gilliam's best animations, amusing introductions by all of the Pythons (save the late Graham Chapman, whose best sketches the other five members chose), and several extras. Yes, some of the sketches are truncated, and John Cleese's introductions aren't funny, and the set could use an index, but for $9, this box is a great deal, so snap it up!

A complete index follows:

Graham Chapman's Personal Best

1. The Colonel (3:14)
2. Agatha Christie Sketch (2:30)
3. It's the Arts (Sir Edward Ross) (3:38)
4. Colin "Bomber" Harris Versus Himself (2:08)
5. Theory on Brontosauruses by Anne Elk (3:20)
6. Fish Slapping Dance (2:46)
7. Oscar Wilde Sketch (5:11)
8. Vocational Guidance Counsellor (3:30)
9. Molluscs - Love TV Documentary (5:22)
10. Ken Shabby (1:34)
11. Ministry of Silly Walks (2:46)
12. Albatross (:48)
13. The "Pantomime Horse Is a Secret Agent" Film (1:53)
14. Dead Parrot (1:16)
15. Exploding Penguin on TV Set (4:18)
16. Twentieth Century Vole (5:06)
17. Mrs. Premise and Mrs. Conclusion (1:25)
18. Spam (3:38)
19. Argument Clinic (1:58)
Graham Chapman's Second Best: Lifeboat (Cannibalism) / Dennis Moore (7:45)

John Cleese's Personal Best

1. A Fairy Tale (15:44)
2. The Epilogue (1:56)
3. Gumby Brain Specialist (3:00)
4. Self-Defense (Against Fresh Fruit) (4:11)
5. Exploding Version of "The Blue Danube" (1:14)
6. Life and Death Struggles (Pantomime Horses) (2:50)
7. Rival Documentaries (Fighting Interviewers) (2:25)
8. Confuse-a-Cat (4:26)
9. A Little Bit of "The Cheese Shop" (:11)
10. Rogue Cheddar (:10)
11. Raymond Luxury Yacht Interview (1:55)
12. Picasso (3:30)
13. Flying Lessons (2:35)
14. Animation: Baby With Pacifier (1:05)
15. It's Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (Famous Deaths) (1:39)
16. The Batley Townswomen's Guild Presents the Battle of Pearl Harbor (1:38)
17. Fish-Slapping Dance (:58)
18. Upperclass Twit of the Year (7:05)
Behind the Scenes (4:57)

Terry Gilliam's Personal Best

1. Opening Titles (Third Series) (3:38)
2. Conrad Poohs and His Dancing Teeth (1:43)
3. Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairies (:27)
4. Catching a Bus (:39)
5. The Killer Cars (:29)
6. The Killer Cats (:44)
7. Securicor Ambulances, Ltd. (2:09)
8. Venus Dancing (:55)
9. Introduction, Fish Slapping Dance, and Nazi Fish (1:43)
10. Royal Navy Advert (:38)
11. "Sit Up" Sequence (2:17)
12. Garden of Hands (:52)
13. Cream Toothpaste (:43)
14. Charles Fatless (2:00)
15. Purchase-a-Past (1:47)
16. We're Being Watched (1:07)
17. Searching a Prisoner (2:13)
18. Cemetery (:14)
19. Apology for Repetition (:44)
20. Sexual Athletes (:20)
21. Jack and the Beanstalk (:32)
22. Five Frogs Curse (:42)
23. The Prince With the Black Spot (1:35)
24. Powder My Nose (1:13)
25. Charwoman (:34)
26. Opening Titles (Original) (:32)
27. Reconstructing an Elephant (1:26)
28. Baby Carriage (:32)
29. And Now - Music (2:22)
30. Acme Toilets (:34)
31. Lovely Weather (1:46)
32. Eggs Diamond (1:02)
33. Hands Up (1:21)
34. The Royal Society for Putting Things on Top of Other Things Escapes (:31)
35. Flying European Monarchs (1:31)
36. Shaving (:16)
37. Cartoon Religions Ltd. (1:31)
38. Full Frontal Nudity (2:11)
39. Caterpillar/Metamorphosis (1:02)
40. No-time Toulouse (:59)
41. Bad for Your Eye (2:01)
42. The House-Hunters (3:36)
43. Gay Boys in Bondage (:31)
44. 2001 (1:13)
45. Opening Titles (1:09)
Terry Gilliam's Featurette (13:31)

Eric Idle's Personal Best

1. Sit on My Face (7:28)
2. Greasy Comere - Kenny Lust (1:21)
3. Can I Have 50 to Mend the Shed? (:23)
4. World Forum - Communist Quiz (2:51)
5. Schoolboys (:57)
6. Nudge Nudge (2:41)
7. Silly Olympics (1:15)
8. Philosophers' Football (5:20)
9. Blood, Devastation, Death, War and Horror (1:33)
10. Mount Everest - Hairdresser Expedition (2:21)
11. Travel Agents Sketch (5:57)
12. Never Be Rude to an Arab (:51)
13. Face the Press (1:41)
14. Hermits (2:04)
15. Children's Story (1:29)
16. How to Do It - Rid the World of Known Diseases (1:20)
17. Army Camps It up (:33)
18. Bruces (3:01)
19. Queen Victoria Handicap (1:49)
20. Money Programme (2:28)
21. Sviatoslav Richter and Rita (1:01)
22. Pouffy Judges (1:46)
23. Climbing the Uxbridge Road (1:15)
24. Whicker Island (2:11)
25. Lumberjack Song (2:39)
Eric Idle's Second Best: Multiple Murderer Court Scene / Salad Days / Timmy Williams Interview (10:33)

Terry Jones' Personal Best

1. The Funniest Joke in the World (9:47)
2. The Ratcatcher (:43)
3. Wainscotting (:03)
4. Killer Sheep (1:47)
5. The News for Parrots (1:32)
6. Working-Class Playwright (2:54)
7. Housing Project Built by Characters From 19th Century English Literature (:44)
8. Mystico and Janet - Flats Built by Hypnosis (2:53)
9. Bicycle Repair Man (3:01)
10. The Olympic Hide-and-Seek Final (5:13)
11. Mrs. Niggerbaiter Explodes (1:13)
12. The Bishop (2:11)
13. Living Room on Pavement (:42)
14. Poets (1:17)
15. A Choice of Viewing (1:07)
16. Fish Slapping Dance (:15)
17. The Cycling Tour (Hospital Scene) (1:43)
18. Spanish Inquisition (2:55)
19. Homicidal Barber (1:25)
20. The Lumberjack Song (2:05)
21. Up Your Pavement (1:18)
22. RAF Banter (2:43)
23. Trivializing the War (1:44)
24. Court-Martial (5:24)
Terry Jones' Second Best: Hell's Grannies / Ron Obvious / Njorl's Saga (9:06)

Michael Palin's Personal Best

1. The It's Man (2:11)
2. Flying Sheep (1:59)
3. Dirty Hungarian Phrase-Book (2:33)
4. A Duck, a Cat and a Lizard (Discussion) (:52)
5. Come Back to My Place (:35)
6. Johann Gambolputty De Von Ausfernschplendensch...Von Hauptkopf of Ulm (4:11)
7. The Chemist Sketch (1:13)
8. School Boys (1:23)
9. The Piranha Brothers (Ethel the Frog) (13:21)
10. Undertakers (1:15)
112. Blackmail (3:01)
12. The Semaphore Version of "Wuthering Heights" (2:54)
13. Man With a Tape Recorder Up His Nose (:45)
14. Leaving the Army (1:07)
15. Man With a Tape Recorder Up His Brother's Nose (:48)
16. Architect Sketch (3:52)
17. Scotsman on a Horse (1:24)
18. Mosquito Hunters (2:50)
19. International Wife-Swapping (1:21)
20. Post Box Ceremony (2:36)
21. Cheese Shop (5:23)
22. Fish-Slapping Dance (:54)
Michael Palin's Second Best: Beethoven / A Man with Three Buttocks / Most Awful Family in Britain (11:37)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing set has more interviews than skits, August 30, 2007
By 
mlh (schaumburg, IL USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Personal Best of Monty Python's Flying Circus (DVD)
We ordered this set to see the best skits, not listen to endless droning on about the personal lives of the guys. We were very disappointed that there is no way to watch the skits without the interviews, and, on top of it all, the entire skits aren't even shown but frequently have the beginning or end cut off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Retrospective, January 15, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Personal Best of Monty Python's Flying Circus (DVD)
I really enjoyed seeing the old sketches, although some of the commentary was a bit forced and boring. John Cleese as a crotchety 92 year old was pretty lame. (I am a fan of most of Cleese's work.) It was a Christmas present for my teenage son, who LOVES it and has watched it over and over again, so it was money well spent. It's great to hear my boy singing the Lumberjack Song in German.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not full sketches, April 7, 2009
This review is from: The Personal Best of Monty Python's Flying Circus (DVD)
Be aware that most (or at least many) of the sketches in this collection are clipped, i.e. they are EXCERPTS of the different sketches, and not necessarily the full sketches. For example, the Dead Parrot sketch stops after the Cleese character throws the dead parrot in the air. The rest is cut -- the funny euphemisms on dying (pining for the fjords, being an ex-parrot, etc.), as well as the the Bolton/Ipswich part, are NOT on here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, December 11, 2007
This review is from: The Personal Best of Monty Python's Flying Circus (DVD)
I loved seeing the old skits and it was refreshing to see the boys as they are now. Considering the cost of the complete set this is a nice compromise and even had a few skits i'd completely forgotten about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed Monty Python Fan, January 1, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Personal Best of Monty Python's Flying Circus (DVD)
I rarely rate things I buy at Amazon because for the most part I'm always happy with what I get. This time I had to say something if for no other reason than to save someone else from purchasing this set and being disappointed. First off Amazon is COMPLETELY blameless. The set arrived on time as stated.
If you're a Monty Python fan and like to remember the old skits and hope to be able to see them then DON'T buy this set. The skits are all cut up and shortened and bleed into totally unrelated skits. The interviews are convoluted and void of any REAL knowledge. After reviewing the entire set my opinion is that there is about one DVD's worth of value here if you combine all 6 DVDs and get rid of the chopped up scenes and skits and boring convoluted interviews. I would not pay more than $10.00 for this set or you WILL be dissatisfied.

The Personal Best of Monty Python's Flying Circus
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All clipped up., January 30, 2009
By 
Robin C. (Fort Lauderdale, FL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Personal Best of Monty Python's Flying Circus (DVD)
I was disappointed with how much filler was included. It's what aired on A&E (I think) and so it's more of a "clip-show" format. Lots of interviews and commentary breaking up what I really wanted to see--the sketches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some skits are truncated, May 10, 2008
This review is from: The Personal Best of Monty Python's Flying Circus (DVD)
I agree with another reviewer - it really would be beneficial to have some sort of index either as an insert or on the individual DVDs. Some skits seem misplaced - I had considered certain skits to be the forte of different Python members than what ended up on other member's DVD.

Additionally, a few skits are truncated. For example, the main skit I wanted (in full, thank you very much) was "The Argument Clinic". Although this skit is primarily Michael Palin and John Cleese, it ends up on Graham Chapman's disc (he does appear for perhaps 60 seconds). To add insult to injury, they stop the skit as soon as his part is over. The skit itself continues on for another few minutes, and most of the truly funny parts never make it on this DVD.

All-in-all, this is a good sampler set but definitely falls short of capturing all the best. Some selections are questionable at best (i.e., not the ones you remember as being truly hilarious), but it is a decent collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, September 21, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Personal Best of Monty Python's Flying Circus (DVD)
We love this dvd-set! It is a wonderful collection of comedy! We love finding out what the Pythons feel are their own best, plus the intermittent interviews provide even more comedy! Couldn't be happier with this product, and would definitely buy this again as a gift for someone who enjoys British comedy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Monty Python's Personal Best, May 13, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Personal Best of Monty Python's Flying Circus (DVD)
The Personal Best of Monty Python's Flying Circus

As a huge Monty Python fan, I absolutely loved this collection. I just watched Eric Idle's bit yesterday and it was top notch hilarity of course. Even though my set was used it plays fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Personal Best of Monty Python's Flying Circus
Used & New from: $9.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.