Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great textbook for beginners
Going into my Intro to Databases class I had zero experience with Microsoft Access and this book is perfect for anyone in that situation. It works with you to learn Access as you work through lessons in the chapters. It's not like some texts where it's laden with technical jargon that puts you to sleep. This book guides you through the basics with hands on examples that...
Published on November 7, 2012 by Grant

versus
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Decent Workbook, Awful Textbook
I too purchased this book because it was a required text for a computer information systems course. As my title suggests, this book could have been a serviceable workbook for a some other course textbook. As a standalone resource for Access 2010, it is a disaster.

The book is "case" driven. That is, concepts are explained by referencing a model database created...
Published on August 11, 2011 by Steve from Oregon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Decent Workbook, Awful Textbook, August 11, 2011
This review is from: New Perspectives on Microsoft Access 2010, Comprehensive (New Perspectives Series: Individual Office Applications) (Paperback)
I too purchased this book because it was a required text for a computer information systems course. As my title suggests, this book could have been a serviceable workbook for a some other course textbook. As a standalone resource for Access 2010, it is a disaster.

The book is "case" driven. That is, concepts are explained by referencing a model database created for a fictional company. Concepts are illustrated by having the reader follow along on his or her computer making changes to the "case" database. Ideally, the reader would learn by doing. The problem is that the examples overwhelm the concepts. Even a diligent student comes away from the lesson with only a rudimentary understanding of the core concepts because the examples are so narrow and the text generally lacks discussion on how one might apply the concepts in a different context. There is very little discussion about program syntax and few tables or charts summarizing program commands. The index appears to have been thrown together by monkeys.

Additionally, the authors spend an inordinate amount of time on formatting and other tangential issues. The examples are replete with change this font to that font, change this color, add a line here, delete a picture there, capitalize this, highlight that. One of the "key terms" for the chapter on queries is "F2 key". A review question at the end of the chapter on analyzing data is "What is the World Wide Web?" It is torture for the student who actually wants to learn something substantive about Access or relational databases.

The examples themselves are pretty easy to follow and execute. If only the rest of the book were the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great textbook for beginners, November 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Perspectives on Microsoft Access 2010, Comprehensive (New Perspectives Series: Individual Office Applications) (Paperback)
Going into my Intro to Databases class I had zero experience with Microsoft Access and this book is perfect for anyone in that situation. It works with you to learn Access as you work through lessons in the chapters. It's not like some texts where it's laden with technical jargon that puts you to sleep. This book guides you through the basics with hands on examples that you do as the chapters progress. For example, every chapter has you work on updating a pre-made database that you will finish after chapter 1 and then immediately pick up where you left off for chapter two. The later problems get more complex without feeling overwhelming.

Having some experience with Microsoft office will help to a certain extent, but if you are at the point where you are ready to tackle databases you are probably familiar with Office, Windows, etc. anyway. And it probably goes without saying but this book doesn't come with a copy of Access to install, you have to have it already on your system.

It's a great text, very simple without being elementary, and it will teach you how to make, maintain and expand your databases like you never thought you would be able to do. 5 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kindle Edition does not have page numbers, February 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Perspectives on Microsoft Access 2010, Comprehensive (New Perspectives Series: Individual Office Applications) (Paperback)
The book is good, but does not include page numbers. This makes it difficult to follow along in class. Otherwise a good deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, December 21, 2012
This review is from: New Perspectives on Microsoft Access 2010, Comprehensive (New Perspectives Series: Individual Office Applications) (Paperback)
Great way to learn about Microsoft access. Very easy to follow, and to understand. Just follow the tutorials and you will learn what you need to know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle Version Review, May 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was so happy when I saw I am able to purchase an ebook version and not just rent it (no huge book cluttering up your apartment).

Anyway, I can't recommend it.

1.) The writing is so little that I had to constantly zoom the pages. Another review mentioned that you can see only half of the page and I confirm this statement. You only see a little part of the page.
2.) You can't read it on your Kindle. Only on the kindle fire (not that big of an issue, but thought worth mentioning it).
3.) The big bummer is, you can't search the book for a keyword. What works well on the kindle with every novel I have read, doesn't work on a book where you actually need it badly. And I tried and tried.
I tried on the ipad, Kindle Fire, on my laptop with cloud reader using Chrome, Safari, and Firefox, on a Windows box with Internet Explorer. No option to search in the Cloud reader and Ctrl F is not working. It doesn't jump to the keyword you are searching for if it is not on the page your are currently viewing.
4.) At 78% in the book (around Location 15698 of 20224) the formatting is badly screwed up. From that point on EVERY word is formatted as a link. No possibility to make Highlights or Notes. And trust me reading through a blue underlined text is not funny. And this goes on for rest of the 22% of the book.

The book I think is not bad for learning Access. I liked it quite a bit, but I used it not as a self study. I was attending a class in which we used this book. My instructor recommended to rather buy the book than rent it as it is a good reference. Anyway, you may want to check out another ebook version of this book if you want to buy it.

P.S. If anybody reads this and knows how to search for a keyword, please let me know. I'd highly appreciate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Access 2010 basic understanding and comfort level., October 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Perspectives on Microsoft Access 2010, Comprehensive (New Perspectives Series: Individual Office Applications) (Paperback)
This is for a class so it will never get 5 stars..lol It is pretty detailed for an Access 2010 class. I lovehe colleges teach the oldest version of a current program. It takes you through everything step by step and covers all the shortcuts, trick and multiple ways to get the final results you need. It is good to know how to use all of the toolbars, shortcut menus... Even if you have never touched Access this will help you get comfortable. I don't think it will be used next semester so get them while they are cheap!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Gah!, December 31, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Perspectives on Microsoft Access 2010, Comprehensive (New Perspectives Series: Individual Office Applications) (Paperback)
Tedious and annoying though very detailed for someone who's never touched Microsoft Access before. If it wasn't a college required book, I would not recommend this to anyone except absolute beginners on any Microsoft office products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Access 2010, March 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I really like the New Perspective series on all the Microsoft Office programs, they are easy to understand and follow. Though I do not like the digital or E-Text books. You only get half the page, if that at times, and it is difficult to jump from one spot in a chapter to the another spot in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars new perspective, May 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Perspectives on Microsoft Access 2010, Comprehensive (New Perspectives Series: Individual Office Applications) (Paperback)
I got an A in my class this semester. Thank you Dennis Kallemyn at Antelope College for the instruction.
Microsft access
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the book, February 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Perspectives on Microsoft Access 2010, Comprehensive (New Perspectives Series: Individual Office Applications) (Paperback)
i book i bought for class is ok i am using it almost everyday and i find it very useful thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

New Perspectives on Microsoft Access 2010, Comprehensive (New Perspectives Series: Individual Office Applications)
$164.95 $122.40
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.