Start reading Pestilence - A Grim Prairie Tale on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.
OR
Read for Free
with Kindle Unlimited

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 

Pestilence - A Grim Prairie Tale [Kindle Edition]

Blake Ryan , Martin Koza
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)

Print List Price: $12.99
Kindle Price: $9.99
You Save: $3.00 (23%)
 
Kindle Unlimited Read this title for free and get unlimited access to over 600,000 titles. Learn More

    Formats

    Amazon Price New from Used from
    Kindle Edition $9.99  
    Paperback $11.69  
    Kindle Delivers
    Kindle Delivers
    Subscribe to the Kindle Delivers monthly e-mail to find out about each month's Kindle book deals, new releases, editors' picks and more. Learn more (U.S. customers only)

    Book Description

    An apocalyptic tale of horror set in the New Mexico in the year of our Lord, 1880. A nightmarish plague has befallen the land turning both man and beast alike into bloodthirsty monsters. Dead Frontier is an epic tale of good versus evil in the tradition of Sergio Leone, Robert Kirkman, and Stephen King.


    Editorial Reviews

    About the Author

    Blake Ryan grew up on a literary diet of Stephen King, John Wyndham, and E.C. horror comics, and a celluloid diet of seventies and eighties horror and exploitation cinema. He is the author of the exploitation film reference guide Trash Cinephile, and now turns his hand toward his first fiction novel. Pestilence is an apocalyptic horror/western hybrid that draws upon these influences while offering a new perspective on several popular genres.

    Product Details

    • File Size: 549 KB
    • Print Length: 294 pages
    • Publisher: CreateSpace (January 8, 2014)
    • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
    • Language: English
    • ASIN: B0087ENLAC
    • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
    • X-Ray:
    • Lending: Enabled
    • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #811,751 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
    •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


    Customer Reviews

    Most Helpful Customer Reviews
    3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting story February 8, 2014
    Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
    nice characters descriptive story with a ton of interesting plot hooks and fairly accurate history spot light I turkey enjoyed the book and all its amazing detail.
    Comment | 
    Was this review helpful to you?
    5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Zombie Fare! December 15, 2013
    Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
    It took me a little while to get into this book, but once I did, I was happy I didn't give up on it. It turned out to be great! I really enjoyed it and recommend it to any zombie lover. The old west setting brought new life to the traditional zombie story and the characters were well developed.
    Comment | 
    Was this review helpful to you?
    1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect blend of genres February 23, 2013
    Format:Kindle Edition
    First of all, I LOVED the sadistic albino Maddox's character, the author could not have written a more twisted backstory to him to fit perfectly in this novel. Most of the characters come with a history when they're introduced which makes such a difference to being able to understand what makes them tick and better immerse yourself in the tale.

    The dead aren't quite your usual walking, feasting death bags like in most zombies novels, they seem to have a slight level of intelligence to snare their next meal. Their physical appearance also has a bit of a twist which makes for a refreshing change and gives them a weakness so that the odds aren't stacked so highly in their favour.

    One thing that I wasn't overly keen on was the zombie wolves, as I prefer my zombies on two legs not four. It also raised the question as to why the 'virus' affected wolves and humans, but apparently not others animals?

    If you're a fan of the genre you will certainly enjoy this book, and the spaghetti western setting adds a whole new level to the dead playground. Without giving away any spoilers, the ending is perfectly set for a sequel or even a series...will definately be keeping an eye out for more!
    Comment | 
    Was this review helpful to you?
    1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting genre, great read! December 7, 2012
    By L. Reko
    Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
    All in all, this one is a great read that is epic in nature, and really pulls it off. It not only celebrates pulp and spaghetti western conventions, but works as a horror novel and Vietnam/Iraq allegory too.

    Without revealing too many spoilers it's about an infection that affects men and animals spreading throughout the Wild West before the turn of the century. The scenario reminded me a little of 28 Days Later..., but to be fair to the author, the Danny Boyle film borrowed heavily from Day of the Triffids.

    Into this scenario, the author throws a gang of cut-throat thieves and murderers, a shell-shocked cavalry platoon, a preacher who has lost his faith, an unscrupulous cattle baron, a serial killer who seems loosely based on turn of the century monster Carl Panzram, and a whole bunch of other colorful wild west characters.

    Certainly worthy of a read!
    Comment | 
    Was this review helpful to you?

    More About the Author

    Blake Ryan was brought up on a literary diet of Stephen King, John Wyndham, Roald Dahl, and E.C. Horror comics. Sixties and seventies horror and exploitation cinema procured from a local Mom and Pop video store were also an influence.
    His love of obscure exploitation cinema inspired a website, and then an exploitation film reference guide entitled Trash Cinephile.
    Pestilence - A Grim Prairie Tale is his first work of fiction. It is an apocalyptic tale of horror set in New Mexico circa 1880. The influences are many; the gritty spaghetti western aesthetic of Leone, the brutal panache of Peckinpah and Fuller, the walking dead lore of George A. Romero, and just a hint of Stephen King's epic novel The Stand.
    This unusual author continues to burn the midnight oils Herbert West-like in pursuit of giving life to his next literary monster.

    What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?



    Forums

    There are no discussions about this product yet.
    Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
    Start a new discussion
    Topic:
    First post:
    Prompts for sign-in
     


    Look for Similar Items by Category