Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Drowners Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro STEM

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$16.52+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 3, 2012
Pete the Cat Saves Christmas is another winner! I'm giving it to my 4-year-old grandson for Christmas--along with a pair of white Converse High Tops!

Pete is an adorable, loveable cat with a positive attitude! When trouble happens does he give up--Goodness No!
Pete saves the day for an ailing Santa. Although the task is hard, Pete understands that the spirit of giving your all is what Christmas is about.
It's a gentle, not in-your-face, reminder to do nice things for others.

Merry Christmas, Pete!
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2012
Another wonderful Pete the Cat book! Eric Litwin and James Dean just keep giving and giving! Litwin's book once again shares a wonderful message for children, both young and old. Litwin's literary gift provides not only the joy of reading, but opportunities for teaching children to read. Thank you for GIVING us another special Pete the Cat story. My Kindergarten class and I LOVE it!!!
11 comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2012
So much fun. Eric Litwin delivers another sweet Pete the Cat Performance Story, a parody of The Night Before Christmas, and what I hear as a sonic wink to John Lennon's Christmas song (you can listen to Eric's performance at [...]. James Dean's pictures are festive and warm. It's not the usual Pete set up, being a parody of The Night Before Christmas, but it's a nice holiday for Pete, and a good reason to discuss the nuances of the verb "give" with the kids.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2012
I'm of two minds about this book. Mind one says "hurray! Another Pete book! My children will be so happy!"
Mind two says, "Christmas themed? Hmm. I dunno. This is starting to be a bit over-marketed."

So, I ordered the book with a bit of trepidation. The trepidation was all mine. My children did not care at all what the book was about other than it was another Eric Litwin book with James Dean's beautiful illustrations of Pete.

It came today. My children (both age 4) already love it. My daughter has declared it her favorite of the Pete books thus far (we'll see if she still feels that way in the years to come). My son is in love with all the new illustrations.

I'm a bit disappointed that a new video has not yet been released by Harper Collins to accompany the book as that has been a major part of their love for previous Pete books. Perhaps there will be one closer to the actual Christmas season. This is important as all Pete books have had songs that you sing parts of the books to. Without the video, it's hard to know how to sing the song. These sung words are really an integral part of children's love for the books. With no sing-along part, the books are still beautiful, but not the amazing experience they can be.

So there's that, aside from that, it's a sweet book. The basic plot is what you would expect from a "xxx saves Christmas" story. Pete replaces a sick Santa on Christmas Eve and gets the job done. The central aspect of this story is that Christmas is for giving, and that you give your all no matter how small you are.
All Pete books have a moral, this one feels a bit unfinished and hurried to me (my children do not agree).

What does not feel the least bit unfinished or hurried are James Dean's beautiful Pete illustrations. As usual they are absolutely lush, fun, imaginative and evocative.

Generally Litwin's amazing ability to inspire and create music that touches children combined with James Dean's painting prowess combine to create a full experience unlike other books for young children. If Harper Collins gets behind this book and Litwin creates a video with song to go with it, it will be as big a hit as the previous three Pete books.

Until they do that, I would hold off on getting Pete the Cat Saves Christmas unless you have diehard Pete lovers in your home as we do. If you're really looking to further explore the vein I would instead recommend The Big Silly With Mr.Eric, one of Litwin's music releases.
22 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2012
Eric Litwin came to Jackson, MS to the preschool to read some books and sing some songs. I initially loved the white shoes book of his the best, but I LOVED the new Christmas book, and he would have brought some with him to sell! Can't wait for Christmas to get closer so I can read it to my kids. Great vocabulary and rhythm.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2012
I am an elementary school librarian. Although I love the first three Pete the cat books, Pete the Cat Saves Christmas is my very favorite! Cannot wait to read to our children.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2012
(A Cross Post from Goodreads)

Frank Sinatra. Mariah Carey. Justin Bieber. N*Sync. Pete the Cat.

Now everyone has their own Christmas special, album, or book.

When Santa falls ill before the big day, who does he call? Pete the Cat, of course.

The fourth book in the Pete the Cat franchise is a reworking of the classic Twas the Night Before Christmas, but the book maintain's the Pete the Cat bottom line of appropriate responses to new challenges and a certain pluckiness that comes of celebrating one's. . .umm. . ."gifts."

Listen. . .the big kids out there. . .they like to learn the new songs. I catch them humming them on their way out of the room. Warms my heart. I'd like to think that some years from now, Pete the Cat will be on their own shelves that they share with their own readers because we introduced him back at SCHS in Room 407.

Now, I have an excuse to get that outfit for Room 407's Pete the Cat before the holidays!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2016
Very cute story of poor santa getting sick before Christmas and how Pete the cat saves the day!!! You can always count on pete to help. My children love this series and this book. The pictures are clear and story is easy to read and understand. I cant wait to purchase more books!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2012
All the "Pete the Cat" books are worth the money. They have about the right amount of writing per page to keep the interest of even very small children, yet are interesting enough for the older child. My 3 1/2 year old grand daughter has been able to memorize most of the books and takes great delight in "reading" them to her 2 year old cousin.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2015
Got this as part of my Xmas gift to my nephew Parker who lives quite a distance away from me and he absolutely loved it! I got to see the book and I love the story as well as the bright, colorful, and adorable pictures! It was worth every penny spent! My nephew adores the Pete the Cat books he's gotten from me so far, and that makes me a very happy aunt!:) Keep the books coming!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.