Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Pete 'n' Tillie
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Format: VHS Tape|Change
Price:$35.59+ $3.99 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 17, 2002
This is a warm, witty, ingratiating film that many viewers can identify with. It's about two not particularly compatible people (Pete and Tillie) who meet, marry, have a child, then attempt to make sense of each other and their unhappy marriage. They become strangers, torn apart as much by his marital infidelities as by their opposite outlooks on life. After ten years of a very shaky domestic situation they face one of the worst parental nightmares imaginable - the loss of their child to a terminal illness. The maddening pain of this event brings them together but, at the same time, highlights their very different philosophical attitudes. Walter Matthau in the role of the cynical, non-religious, philandering husband is given the wittier lines in the script which he spuns with impeccable timing and perfect ironic intonation. Carol Burnett plays the soul-searching, self-agonizing wife who needs to find the meaning of her son's death. Was it divine retribution? Some viewers feel that Matthau and Burnett deadpan their way through the entire movie. Their response very likely stems from having anticipated an uproarious domestic situation-comedy (something like an "I Love Carol"), which this film is definitely not. With the notable exception of one hilarious scene in which Tillie and a bitchy friend (played to comic perfection by Geraldine Page) have a brawl, this is essentially a tragi-comedy. Moreover, the two super charismatic stars of the movie empty themselves to play their rather ordinary characters with straightforward, self-effacing honesty. By 1972, when this film was released, Matthau was a celebrated oscar-winning screen character actor. However, Burnett's transformation from the slapstick queen of TV variety shows to the fine dramatic actress of subtlety and detail seen here is astonishing. Some critics and viewers were not prepared for it but quite frankly that was their problem, not hers. Burnett delivers a tearful scene (in which Tillie vents all of her anger at God and the Virgin Mary) with overwhelming conviction, yet her acting remains beautifully controlled. It is the most deeply affecting moment in the movie, one that will haunt viewers long after the end credits have passed. "Pete 'n' Tillie" was nominated for several Academy Awards including Best Screenplay.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2013
I have fond memories of this movie. My dad was probably one of the first buyers of a video tape machine. This was one of the first movies we taped. We loved watching it as a family. It's got great performances by Carole Burnette and Walter Matthau. Geraldine Page is superb too. Love this movie and it's great to have a copy I can watch whenever I want. Don't miss this one! (Great soundtrack too).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2009
This is a movie that NEEDS to be in DVD. Carol Burnett stretches her acting wings and I don't think Walter Matthau has ever been better. They are given a great supporting cast and a rather complex set of plot lines to weave and do so entertainingly. It's not that you'll say "WOW" at the end. It's just that you'll feel sad, happy, and satisfied all at the same time.

PLEASE Studio execs; are you listening? Can't you transfer this and sell it for $10.99 like the umpteenth version of Stripes?
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2012
Carol Burnett joins Walter Matthau in this love story of a 30ish year old woman who falls for an older casanova. She gives the relationship her all, he reaps and enjoys the benefits that come his way. This movie was made when Ms. Burnett was being hailed as the queen of comedy. Her variety show was a big success and eventhough this film is quite dramatic, Carol is delightful, and warm in her performance of Tillie. I was thrilled to finally see it's release on DVD. I truly recommend everyone see this movie.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2012
THE DVD WENT FROM ONE "JUMPING OVER DAMAGED AREA," TO ANOTHER! ONE MINUTE THEY JUST MET, THEN THE DAMAGED PART COMES UP, AND THEY ARE ON THE WAY TO THE HOSPITAL TO GIVE BIRTH! SIX TIMES THIS HAPPENED! AND, BECAUSE I FORGOT I HAD RECEIVED THE DVD TILL JUST TODAY, I AM STUCK WITH IT, AFTER PAYING FULL PRICE FOR A "NEW" ONE A YEAR AGO! YOU TAUGHT ME TO WATCH OR LISTEN TO ANYTHING I GET FROM YOU RIGHT AWAY, NOT TO PUT IT IN THE CABINET AND EXPECT IT T WORK!-JACKIE MUSGOVE
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2015
Have been searching for this film for awhile now. I saw this film when I was a young Lad and really loved it. I don't recall ever seeing this air for television since it's theatrical release. Watching it again brought back so many memories. It's a Drama with lots of humor. Carol Burnett does a fantastic job as does Walter Mathau. Geraldine Page gives a fine performance and earned her an Oscar Nomination for this film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2013
I loved this movie when it came out in the 70's and was so happy to watch it again. Walther Matthau is one of my favorite actors and doesn't fail to show this here too. Carol is also a really good actress. The story line is so true to the way things were back in the 70's.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2013
Pete (Walter Matthau) is generally uncouth and a bit of a scoundrel. Tillie(Carol Burnett) is prim and reserved. What they share is a world weariness, cynicism, and a love for engaging in verbal one-upmanship. Is this enough to sustain a lasting relationship? "Pete 'n' Tillie" isn't a perfect film by no stretch of the means. Though witty Julius J. Epstein's script seems self consciously so and suffers from a bit of a stagy feel. The film veers toward the melodramatic in spots but director Martin Ritt steers the film from being maudlin. The saving grace here are the performances none less so than Burnett. Known predominantly for her wildly popular and innovative TV variety show Burnett here is a revelation. In a powerhouse turn Burnett subtly suggests the changes in Tillie from shy spinster to grieving mother. Also noteworthy is the bit by Geraldine Page as Gertrude, Tillie's friend. The apoplexy that Page demonstrates when asked her age at a police station is classic and probably sealed her the nomination for a supporting actress Oscar. Can't overlook Tillie's classic query "Honeymoon's over, Pete. When are we getting married?"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2014
This remains one of my husband and my favorite movies from over the years. Can't beat the combo of Carol Burnett and Walter Mattheau. The situations in the movie are "Real to life!" And don't we just love the way they deal with life's twists and turns! HAd to include a copy of this movie in our own library of favorites so that when life seems to take a tough turn, the movie can be popped into the player, and Mattheau's naked bum at the piano bench can bring a smile!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2014
I had the same reaction after viewing this film as I did with Quiet Man. I merely said to myself "That was a beautiful movie". Both Walter Matthau and Carol Burnett turned in masterful, albeit low key performances. This is one that should stick in your memory for reasons of sheer simplistic beauty. Finally, the physical fight between Carol and Geraldine Page is a classic unto itself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.