Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


88 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful intro book!
This introductory field guide is much, much better than the old Little Golden Guide" that beginning Lepidoptrists (butterfly lovers) have relied on in the past. I wish I had had the new First Guide version a kid! It shows accurate color drawings of the most common species, along with the food plants and, in some cases, the other life stages such as larvae and...
Published on July 25, 2000 by Rabbi Yonassan Gershom

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Typical Peterson
Typical of all the Peterson guides. This one has all the information one normally needs. It also is arranged in sometimes frustrating sections which require one to go to several sections for a complete profile of the subject matter. I simply do not want to spend the time going back and forth in the book when I simply want basic information on one insect.
Published on August 23, 2006 by L. Graham


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

88 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful intro book!, July 25, 2000
This review is from: Peterson First Guide to Butterflies and Moths (Paperback)
This introductory field guide is much, much better than the old Little Golden Guide" that beginning Lepidoptrists (butterfly lovers) have relied on in the past. I wish I had had the new First Guide version a kid! It shows accurate color drawings of the most common species, along with the food plants and, in some cases, the other life stages such as larvae and pupae.
I especially like the fact that it includes so many moths -- not just the showy ones like Cecropias and Lunas that beginners dream about but seldom find -- but some of the little gray and brown ones, too, such as might show up any evening around your yard light. Plus, I finally found out that a grayish day-flying moth with a metallic-blue body that I see around here all the tiime is callled a "Southern Ctenucha."
As a Master Gardener volunteer, I currently recommend this to 4H-ers (and adults, too) who are just getting started in entomology. It's easy to use, and the light pocket size makes it nice for children to carry on field trips. Buy it along with "First Guide to Caterpillars" in the same series (which I have also reviewed here on Amazon).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Typical Peterson, August 23, 2006
This review is from: Peterson First Guide to Butterflies and Moths (Paperback)
Typical of all the Peterson guides. This one has all the information one normally needs. It also is arranged in sometimes frustrating sections which require one to go to several sections for a complete profile of the subject matter. I simply do not want to spend the time going back and forth in the book when I simply want basic information on one insect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kind of Disappointed, July 5, 2011
By 
meganOK (B'ville, OK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Peterson First Guide to Butterflies and Moths (Paperback)
I bought this for my almost 5 year old bug lover. She is always finding moths and butterflies and asking me what they are. This book has what look like drawings instead of actual pictures. It can be kind of hard to tell the name because they aren't labeled well. Sometimes it can be hard to tell which name goes with which creature. The pictures are very accurate to the actual butterfly and moth. For basic identification it's great, but if you own any Audobon Society book, you will be disappointed with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Best for casual naturalists, July 18, 2009
This review is from: Peterson First Guide to Butterflies and Moths (Paperback)
This is a useful guide for the naturalist with a mild interest in butterflies and moths, and it's very readable for adults and kids alike. Like other Peterson First Guides, it's compact and fits nicely into a pants pocket or the side slot of a backpack. The illustrations are sometimes more "painterly" than I would like for identification of similar or difficult species. I give it one demerit for that, and another for inexplicable lack of a scientific name of each listed butterfly (the scientific names are buried in the index alongside common names).

Butterfly and moth enthusiasts -- adults and young people alike -- would do better by sticking with the full guides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worthless, August 13, 2009
By 
M. Hughes (Winnebago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Peterson First Guide to Butterflies and Moths (Paperback)
The problem with buying online is that you can't see the item before you buy it. You can only go by the very little bit amazon allows you to view. In the case of this pamphlet, there isn't much to see at all. Poor, childishly sketched pictures, very few butterflies or moths included. I regret purchasing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great pocket guide, March 20, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Peterson First Guide to Butterflies and Moths (Paperback)
A simple, easy to take along guide. The photos, and brief descriptions make it easy to identify the Butterflies and Moths you come across.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Bit too brief, September 2, 2008
By 
Princeton Mom (New Jersey, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Peterson First Guide to Butterflies and Moths (Paperback)
I bought this when my daughter started expressing interest in butterflies. The pictures are ok. There is so little information. It is rather dull. Not sure if there is anything better out there, but this book is rather uninspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice small book, May 12, 2007
This review is from: Peterson First Guide to Butterflies and Moths (Paperback)
I like this butterfly book because it is very covenient to carry with me. It is also very full of information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For all Nature lovers:, February 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Peterson First Guide to Butterflies and Moths (Paperback)
The art work is very clear and the lay-out and information well organized and concise. I recommend for all nature lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommend it, November 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Peterson First Guide to Butterflies and Moths (Paperback)
Doesn't everyone need a butterfly book? This one is great! it's a wonderful way to look up and identify your butterflies and mother. Pictures are great also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Peterson First Guide to Butterflies and Moths
Peterson First Guide to Butterflies and Moths by Paul A. Opler (Paperback - February 20, 1998)
$6.95 $6.26
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.