Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Recess Monkey Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$13.15+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 17, 2012
The book was an interesting read, no question about it. And the material that went into it was certainly exhaustively researched. In fact, almost 'over-researched'. Sorting thru all the 'data' contained in the book was at times like reading a PhD thesis. The glaring 'achilles heel', in 'Petrus Romanos' is, to me twofold: (1. all the 'prophetic eggs' for the book stem from an extra-biblical 'prophecy' or 'vision' which is, at the very least questionable, made by an Iris Catholic monk over 800 years ago! From my viewpoint, the authors spend WAY too much time and effort attempting to validate this 'prophecy' (which as I mentioned may be little more than apocryphal 'folklore') in an attempt to give some weight and merit to their book. The 2nd serious 'hurdle' for 'Petrus Romanos' is that even though the authors make the disclaimer that 'nobody knows the day or hour' that the anti christ sets up his kingdom, or the 7 year tribulation period begins, this book DOES, indeed, point to either 2012 0r 2015 for the revelation of the False Prophet, Petrus Romanus, the final Pope. Combine that with the fact the authors point to other mystical belief systems (including the Mayan calendar and OTHER pagan beliefs),that point to 2012 as a 'pivotal' year for one epoch ending and a new one beginning, and one comes away with the strong impression that the authors are, indeed, attempting to do some 'date setting' AND, possibly, have written the book to 'capitalize' on the '2012 craze'. Also woven throughout the book are the author's research into the secret Masonic order, and their belief the Masons have infiltrated and subverted both the Roman Catholic church AND the United States government, at the highest levels. Many interesting observations are made concerning Masonic symbols on American government architecture in Washington, D.C., the many presidents of the U.S.who have been Masons, and even the Masonic 'pyramid' with the 'eye of Osiris' on the American $1.00 bill. We are getting into 'conspiracy hog heaven' in this part of the book, and, frankly, the attempt of the authors to link the Catholic Church with a 'New World Order' masonic plot, headquartered in the United States, to 'take over the world' did not 'jell' for me. I firmly believe that we are in the days of Matthew 24 and Revelation 13, and that the time is SHORT...but my advice for anyone who wants to know what the near future holds prophetically is read your Bible, and get to know it like you never have before, and then ask the Lord to show you what these things mean. "The testimony of Jesus IS the Spirit of Prophecy".
7171 comments|286 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2012
This world system, so antithetical to God's blueprint for humanity, is winding up for the consummation of history by every measure examined by students of Bible prophecy who hold to a pretrib, premillennial view.

Global politics, government, and socioeconomics are gushing in the prophet Daniel's end-times flood (Daniel 9:26) toward the end of the Church Age (Age of Grace). But no signal of the approaching apocalypse presents a more laser-like, focused view of the end-of-days dynamics than do religious rearrangements taking place locally, nationally, and especially worldwide.

The departure from biblical Christianity is so rampant and moving at such a furious pace in American neighborhoods and on a nationwide basis that even the most ardent, futurist student of end-times matters is sometimes stunned by developments. While the astonishing breadth and depth of material covered within this book take the reader into regions far beyond our local and national boundaries, the journey culminates in, I think, the reader achieving a much more profound understanding of where American churchianity stands within the doomed rush toward the harlot religious system of Revelation 17.

The story of St. Malachy injects intriguing speculations and possibilities into the world's rush into last-days ecumenism. The twelfth-century Irish bishop of the Roman Catholic Church, canonized by Pope Clement III in 1190, presented a most fascinating line of predictions that many believe were visions leading to the man who will be the final pope.

St. Bernard of Clairvaux was St. Malachy's biographer. Clairvaux wrote in his book, Life of Saint Malachy, that Malachy was said to have the gift of prophecy. It is claimed that St. Malachy predicted the exact day and hour of his own death.

Enter into the end-times turbulence Planet Earth is experiencing this most riveting volume, Petrus Romanus.

Authors Tom Horn and Cris Putnam have dramatically exposed to the light of examination St. Malachy's enigmatic prophecies about the succession of popes leading to the very last, Peter the Roman.

Hal Lindsey (author of The Late, Great, Planet Earth) wrote for WorldNetDaily (WND) upon the death of Pope John-Paul II, in 2005, regarding St. Malachy's papal predictions: "According to his biographer, St. Malachy was visiting Rome in 1139 when he went into a trance and received a vision. Malachy wrote down this extraordinary vision in which he claims to have foreseen all of the popes from the death of Innocent II until the destruction of the church and the return of Christ."

St. Malachy wrote briefly, in Latin, on each succeeding pope of the future, and then gave the document to Pope Innocent II, who had it placed in Vatican archives where it remained for several centuries. It was rediscovered in 1590 and published.

Lindsey wrote: "[Malachy] named exactly 112 popes from that time until the end. The interesting thing is that scholars have matched the brief 110 descriptive predictions with each of the 110 popes and anti-popes that there have been since Innocent II. Though they are a bit obscure, they have fit the general profile of each of the popes."

The bottom line is that the last two popes, John-Paul II and Pope Benedict XVI, fit the profile that running string of papal succession seems to accurately predict. Number 112 is supposed to be the pope who will head the Roman Catholic Church during the great time of trouble-the Tribulation, according to the Malachy prophecy. He will be, the prediction says, Petrus Romanus (Peter the Roman). Pope Benedict XVI is number 111.

Hal Lindsey wrote further: "Now, if St. Malachy is accurate, there will be only two more popes before the end of this world, as we know it and the Second Coming of Christ. I do know that the whole prophetic scenario of signs that Jesus Christ and the prophets predicted would come together just before His return are now in view. So what St. Malachy predicted is certainly occurring in the right time frame."

Neither Tom Horn nor Cris Putnam-nor I, as your reviewer of this book--claims that St. Malachy was a God-inspired prophet in the sense of an Old Testament or New Testament prophet. He was not. However, I will tell you without reservation that the little-known and sometimes previously undiscovered facts these researchers have uncovered and constructed into an enthralling picture of the one who will likely be the last pontiff are absolutely spellbinding.
138138 comments|265 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2013
I purchased this book, as the publicity left the impression that it would be about the prophesies of Malachy, which is of interest given the recent papal conclave. What I got was bait and switch! There were about 20 pages dealing with the Malachy propheies. The vast majority of the book is an anti-Catholic diatribe. It is confusing to follow as the authors jump from one topic to the next with little flow. between topics. The book is based on a lot of research, as they quote just about everyone who has had a beef with the Church in the past two thousand years. Yet, the scholarhip is an embarassment. There is little critical analysis. It is mish-mash of numerology, the crimes of some medieval popes, 2012 eschatology. There is little appreciation for the historical context. the material is internally inconsistent and often incoherent. Most of the book would qualify as hate speech. I feel cheated.
55 comments|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2012
Hi.

First, I am not affiliated with Raider's News nor have any connection with Tom Horn -- other than being a reader of his book and frequent visitor to the Raider's News website.

As to "Petrus Romanus," I give it my full, unequivocal "approved-you-should-read-it rating." I write this after having received it a fews days ago, read most of it from page one, and then skipped to the last chapter because I am impatient. (I now have gone back to the place where I jumped ahead.)

Few books I've read are (for me) world-view changers. I am 64 years old and I can think of less than ten books I've read that caused me to re-think how I see everything. "Petrus Romanus" is one of those books.

If you don't mind taking the risk of having your world-view shaken, then buy and read "Petrus Romanus."
44 comments|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2013
I have always been really interested in the subject matter "Petrus Romanus" seems to cover. This was just one of many books I have read about end times, Catholic popes, visionaries, prophecies etc. Sadly, I must say this one was really a waste of my time. The quality of factual research is absolutely appalling - there are far too many factual mistakes and omissions for this book to be taken seriously. One prominent example is the mis-quoted statement about "the smoke of Satan which has entered the Sanctuary" by pope Paul VI. Well, pope did say these words, but he did not refer to any conspiracy or satanic ceremonies in the Vatican, as interpreted by "Petrus Romanus", but to wordly opinions or intellectual novelties spread among the faithful and invading Catholic theology. These words were pronounced on 29 June 1972 during the homily on the feast of St Peter an Paul and are easily verifiable.
Another example is a theory about the poisoning of John Paul I, created by David Yallop in his "In God's Name" and mindlessly repeated by this book. What really surprises me is that the authors know about another writer, John Cornwell and his book "Hitler's pope", but have not mentioned his book disproving Yallop's theory: "A Thief in the Night" (http://www.amazon.com/Thief-Night-Life-Death-Vatican/dp/0141001836). Cornwell, in contrast to Yallop, did factual research, talked to witnesses and his theory is much more credible, although also not quite favourable for the Vatican.
Apart from being based on misinterpretations, this book is not even internally consistent. About one-third of the content is just Catholic bashing, mocking Catholic beliefs (very often misinterpreted), particularly the belief in saints, apparitions and visions. But then, in other places, towards the end of this book, the same apparitions are taken at face value. What's the use of accusing cardinals Ratzinger, Bertone and Sodano of trying to hide the third secret of Fatima from the public if the authors' position is that Marian apparitions are altogether false? If indeed they are, then those three cardinals (as John XXIII before) made a good job trying to take this "message" from the realm of sensationalism and religious naivety.
The book's predictions about the future pope, showing Tarcisio Bertone as one of the most probable candidates, are really just a laughing stock. Anyone in the know about Vatican matters would know at least a year before this book was published that Bertone's chances for papacy were weaker and weaker every day as his blunders and mimanagement emerged to the public awareness. Last week's conclave, choosing card. Jorge Bergoglio from Argentina, not even mentioned in "Petrus Romanus" shows how weak the authors' research must have been if they write a book about the expected next pope coming after Benedict XVI (and, presumably, the last one) and don't even see the candidate who came second in the previous conclave, after Ratzinger.

All in all, if one does not know the facts underlying the theses put forward in "Petrus Romanus", the book seems a good read, perhaps even credible. But if the reader is curious enough to check the facts, s/he will easily see that the facts are so chosen and so interpreted to prove the conspiracy theory, in contrast to Karl Popper's rules of falsifiability (strange enough, quoted in this book right at the beginning!). In other words, the authors did not analyse all available evidence in order to falsify their theory, but gathered evidence to confirm it, neglecting facts which did not match the theory. Such method can make for engrossing fiction, but has nothing to do with science.
77 comments|46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2012
I have read most of Thomas Horn's books. They are always thought provoking, well-researched and more than worth the price! This latest book is, without a doubt, the best book I've read on the subject of the end times and the players that are now assembling on the stage for this final period of human history. Rare is the book that makes me
wish I could keep reading well into the early morning hours, but this is such a book! I had heard about the prophecy naming the future Popes, but found little information concerning this. I was was riveted from the first
page! I read probably twenty five books a year on this subject and feel Mr. Horn is worth purchasing without
even reading the summary! Anyone who reads this will be able to make better sense of the many threads that are
coming together in our lifetime!
44 comments|72 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2012
As a retired Archbishop in the Orthodox Catholic Church who converted to the messianic jewish faith I would highly recommend reading this book to people of all faiths.Time is indeed short and everyone needs to know and understand what they believe and what they stand for.Soon everyone will have to choose.I pray you choose wisely.Kudos to Tom Horn and Chris Putnam for a well written and very timely book.
33 comments|48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2012
During an important visit to Rome in 1139 A.D., a Roman Catholic priest named St. Malachy supposedly received a vision that revealed a brief list of traits (some vague and some very specific and not so vague) about every pope beginning in his day with Celestine II and ending at the end of the age with the last pope who will be called Peter the Roman or Petrus Romanus. Can Christians believe these prophies? Could these prophecies be right or are they a fraud? Horn and Putnam know that Christians must stick to the Scriptures. But they also know that if the False Prophet is about to appear then the Antichrist is alive and waiting in the wings. So they have gone to great lengths to dig out the facts on St. Malachy's prophecies. Their book called Petrus Romanus is extensive, well-written and well-documented. It is the most comprehensive book on the subject that I have seen. Get it, read it and keep it on your bookshelf. There is a good chance that you will be asked about this and you will want to refer back to it.

Daymond Duck, pastor, author and prophecy conference speaker.
55 comments|138 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 5, 2014
This is a very interesting book, I give you that. Many of the concepts discussed in the book regarding the end of days were thought provoking. And the dates involved, with so much predicted to happen between 2012 - 2015, really makes you wonder if we are on the cusp of something happening. However, there were two problems I had with the book. First, it was all over the place. Instead of just sticking with the aspect implied by the name of the book, the authors go into so many issues that branch out so far from the main point that it seems the only reason for their doing so is to get more Catholic bashing in. Second, all the Catholic bashing. Their distaste for the Catholic church shines through often throughout the book. Many legitimate points they try to make sort of seem to be shaded by these constant attacks. I cannot recommend this book because of the complete lack of any objectivity whatsoever.
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2014
I think I have made a mistake in ordering this book as reading through the contents i find that it totally condemns the teaching of the Catholic Church which is not to my liking as it is entirely biased The writers do not concentrate on the topic but have made used of it as a means to criticize the Catholic Church and the Papacy. How can they say the Pope is Anti Christ when he upholds the teachings of Christ?
and mis-interprets the Teaching of the Catholic Church in regard to the Most Blessed Virgin and the saints.
The Catholic Church has never taught nor does it teach to worship the Blessed Virgin or the saints. They are given due honour as Mary being the mother of God and the saints who have lived exemplary lives are now enjoying the beatific vision of God. What do they have to say of the bodies of numerous saints which are in corrupt to this day such as of St.Bernadette to whom our Lady appeared at Lourdes?This is only a brief view point of mine in regard to this Book.
Ridley Casie Chitty
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse