Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVED EVER WORD OF THIS ONE
It was a great read and completely in keeping with all the other stories. I loved that Roit was an enormous Bear and that Nina was a Native American steeped the Bear legends.

The loving was hot and the story was a winner. I really like it and I highly, highly recommend it. Especially if you have read any of the previous ones, which gives this one its life...
Published on September 25, 2012 by Joyce J. Ruskuski

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Should have been better
This book has some wonderful elements- between Nina's Grandfather's shamanism, Cherokee legends of the Great Bear, and the alien shapeshifter who becomes a huge bear at will, it should/could have been a magical and mystical tale. It isn't. It had engaging characters, a great setting, and who wouldn't love a giant bear who can talk? I just wish it had been written with...
Published on October 18, 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVED EVER WORD OF THIS ONE, September 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Phantom Warriors 6: Riot (Kindle Edition)
It was a great read and completely in keeping with all the other stories. I loved that Roit was an enormous Bear and that Nina was a Native American steeped the Bear legends.

The loving was hot and the story was a winner. I really like it and I highly, highly recommend it. Especially if you have read any of the previous ones, which gives this one its life and its background for the series, although it does stand alone.

If you like this type of shifter gene you can't help but love Riot and Nina and there story of the flight to skies.

BUY. READ. ENJOY!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There's something about a bear..., October 1, 2012
By 
Solexa423 (Southern California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Phantom Warriors 6: Riot (Kindle Edition)
I never in a million years thought I would get into Shifter stories, in fact I used to avoid them at all costs... it wasn't until I read Laurann Dohners New Species series "Valiant" that I got hooked and I've been reading them ever since.

Our hero Ript is lonely, having been rejected by most females because of his massive size, gruff voice and the scars marring his otherwise handsome face and body. He beleives he's destined to be alone, his King things otherwise and sends him back to earth in search of his mate.

He's sent to Alaska and eventually comes upon a woman Nina who is out to save the bears from Poachers, she's small in stature but strong in determination and he instantly drawn to her, when he saves her from being attacked he knows she's the one, he just doesn't know if she will accept him.

I enjoyed this story because the roles were reversed, the hero Riot while we know he's handsome and heroic doesn't believe that he will find the love of a woman because of his outward appearance... it takes a special women to show him that she loves him just the way he is.

Enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Should have been better, October 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Phantom Warriors 6: Riot (Kindle Edition)
This book has some wonderful elements- between Nina's Grandfather's shamanism, Cherokee legends of the Great Bear, and the alien shapeshifter who becomes a huge bear at will, it should/could have been a magical and mystical tale. It isn't. It had engaging characters, a great setting, and who wouldn't love a giant bear who can talk? I just wish it had been written with more sense of myth and magic. Worth reading, but not what I hoped for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice, sweet, not deep but fun!!!, October 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Phantom Warriors 6: Riot (Kindle Edition)
The plot was a little contrived but this was surprisingly enjoyable anyway. The characters are sweet especially Riot who thinks himself too big and awkward to find a mate. The role reversal insecurity is a nice touch as is the shifter bear from Outer Space. I say nice because it is reasonably well written but it still fails to gather momentum because it is a little superficial in the unfolding of the plot, predictable really.

However, it is fun and very likeable and likeable is good and exactly what we need at times so worth the effort especially since it was free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet story, October 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Phantom Warriors 6: Riot (Kindle Edition)
Short but thoroughly enjoyable.  two lonely people being given a chance together, so different but the same where it counted, in their hearts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my truth!, October 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Phantom Warriors 6: Riot (Kindle Edition)
Riot is lonely, having been rejected by all females because of his massive size, gruff voice and the scars marring his otherwise handsome face and body. He believes he will be alone for his lifetime, his King thinks otherwise and sends him back to earth in search of his mate.

He's sent to Alaska and eventually comes upon a woman Nina who is out to save the bears from Poachers, she's small in stature but strong in determination and he instantly drawn to her. He saves her from being attacked he knows she's the one, he is unsure if she will accept him.

I enjoyed this story because the roles were reversed, Riot doesn't believe that he will find the love of a woman because of his outward appearance... it takes a special women to show him that she loves him just the way he is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting spin on the shape-shifter, October 27, 2012
By 
Sandy S. (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Phantom Warriors 6: Riot (Kindle Edition)
PHANTOM WARRIORS: RIOT (Phantom Warriors #6) by Jordan Summers

PHANTOM WARRIORS: RIOT is the 6th novella (August 30, 2012 release) in Jordan Summers' Phantom Warriors novella series. Phantom Warriors is a race of alien shape-shifters from the planet Zaron. Without enough women for mates, the Phantom Warriors have been sent to Earth by King Eros in search of suitable mates. As a member of Claw Clan, Riot is one of the largest shape-shifters on Zaron-his other form is the bear.

When his previous encounters with Earth's women were not successful in finding a mate, Riot knew the King would not give up so easily. Determined that each of his warriors would find his match, King Eros ordered Riot back to Earth and he wasn't to return without a female. But his sheer size and power frightened most of Earth's females and it was becoming difficult to get anyone to stop long enough to talk. But when he found a young woman running for her life, Riot knew that maybe he had found the one woman on earth that would be his mate.

Nina Whitetail is a veterinarian who has taken on a crusade to save the black bear from the hunters and poachers in her small town near Olympic National Park. On the eve on her best friend's wedding Nina and Kim (against better judgment) took off into the forest armed with wire cutters hoping to dismantle some of the bear traps used to ensnare the animals. But Nina would become the prey when the hunters discovered that Nina was the one who tampered with their traps.

Meanwhile Nina's grandfather, a Cherokee Shaman and Elder was dying. His cancer had progressed so that he only had a few days to live, and Nina's relationship with the old man was very close. But Mr. Whitetail had a vision and told Nina that one day she would meet the Great Bear and the Bear would take her to the stars, from where she would never return. Thinking her grandfather's cancer had finally claimed his mind Nina chose to take the vision as the ramblings of his ravaged brain. But when she is finally rescued by a monstrous sized talking bear Nina soon realizes that she has either lost her mind or her grandfather's vision has come true.

The PHANTOM WARRIOR is a series of short stories and novellas. An interesting premise with a mix of both paranormal and science fiction, that takes a different look at the shape-shifting storyline. If you like the shape shifter genre, you will probably like the Phantom Warrior series. Jordan Summers tells a tale similar to many paranormal storylines, but adds her own twist with the addition of an alien animal shifter.

see all of my reviews at : thereadingcafe.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a real good read, October 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Phantom Warriors 6: Riot (Kindle Edition)
this is a heart tugging story that had me in tears in many parts of the book, i would definally read the rest of the series. it had a good flow and wasnt too long nor too short for the type of story it was, although the only thing that really took it down a notch was the over sensitive warrior with his mate, the over insecurites for a hard warrior, but it was still a very good read. :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars phantom warroirs : riot, October 22, 2012
By 
M. Luster (Springfield, MO USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Phantom Warriors 6: Riot (Kindle Edition)
great book, very different and suspenful. will by the rest of the series. would recommend to those that like supernatural.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I`m sorry, this was ridiculous, October 22, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Phantom Warriors 6: Riot (Kindle Edition)
Amazon recommended this book because of my previous purchases and it looked like a great tale so I bought the book without checking reviews or anything. I didn`t realize it was book number five or six in a series. That made the first couple of chapters a bit hard to understand because there was no explanation as to what universe we were in. I wasn`t too worried, though, and after a while one could guess the parts one would have known if one had read the earlier books in the series.

This book had all the elements of a great story except from good writing and that made me almost sad. Imagine what this book could have been if the author had managed to write characters with flesh and blood - not to mention real emotions. Instead if was so schematic I could almost see the IKEA guideline "insert A into B and turn three times". The book also had way too much telling and almost no showing. She says she is sad. He says he is interested. She says she is afraid. He says he is angry. There was no life at all. No love. No fear. Nothing.

I found myself skipping through this book and rewriting it in my head. It`s really a shame because the universe was very interesting. It was just not written in an interesting way.

I can not recommend this book at all, I`m sorry to say. I hope the other books in this series are better but I`m not going to read them and find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Phantom Warriors 6: Riot
Phantom Warriors 6: Riot by Jordan Summers
$2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.