Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful illustrations but factual errors
Please be advised that though you may find the illustrations helpful and entertaining, some of descriptive pharmacology contains fatal errors. For example, on page 119:

"Cocaine can induce seizures as well as fatal cardiac arrythmias. IV diazepam and propanolol may be required to control cocaine-induced seizures and cardiac arrythmias."

Propanolol is...
Published on July 29, 2007 by Brian Lee

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Adequate, but Long and with Errors
I am a third year medical student and purchased this book as a first year to study for board exams. This book has pretty pictures, but over-simplifies and does not contain all the information that is in the board exams. Also, I found several inaccuracies in the text. As boards approached, I purchased Katzung and Trevor's Clinical Pharmacology, which is excellent, with...
Published on August 13, 2007 by Joshua Matthews


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful illustrations but factual errors, July 29, 2007
By 
Brian Lee (Baltimore, MD) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pharmacology, 3rd Edition (Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews Series) (Paperback)
Please be advised that though you may find the illustrations helpful and entertaining, some of descriptive pharmacology contains fatal errors. For example, on page 119:

"Cocaine can induce seizures as well as fatal cardiac arrythmias. IV diazepam and propanolol may be required to control cocaine-induced seizures and cardiac arrythmias."

Propanolol is CONTRAINDICATED in cocaine-induced cardiac arrythmias because of coronary artery vasoconstriction. Responsible health-care providers need to know this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book!, October 3, 2006
By 
ELIANA (New York (NY)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pharmacology, 3rd Edition (Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews Series) (Paperback)
This book is amazing..Its so easy to read and so easy to understand. Goes through the chapters smoothly, providing all the information needed. Its especially helpfull to students but also can be used as a reference book. Most importandly, the illustration is impressive!!The tables, drawings, sketches and little pictures make it easier to memorize importand concepts and basic information and thus can make pharmacology fun!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Adequate, but Long and with Errors, August 13, 2007
This review is from: Pharmacology, 3rd Edition (Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews Series) (Paperback)
I am a third year medical student and purchased this book as a first year to study for board exams. This book has pretty pictures, but over-simplifies and does not contain all the information that is in the board exams. Also, I found several inaccuracies in the text. As boards approached, I purchased Katzung and Trevor's Clinical Pharmacology, which is excellent, with much better questions, and all the important details. Don't be discouraged by the length, it is a fast read and will prepare you very well for boards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lippincott's Pharmacology, February 18, 2007
By 
Amazon Customer (Cleveland, OH United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pharmacology, 3rd Edition (Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews Series) (Paperback)
An excellent overview of commonly used drugs, organized meaningfully and with (generally) useful illustrations. I bought it for Step 1 board studying, but if you're in medical school, buy this your first year - it's an excellent reference and I wish I had had this when I was going through my core classes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, primary or review text, October 5, 2006
By 
This review is from: Pharmacology, 3rd Edition (Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews Series) (Paperback)
Lippincott Pharm is a fabulous book for medical students. It has the basics clearly outlined and nice tables to help you remember them. The text is brief and clear. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that it is a bit dry and can be hard to get through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Illustrations and a Helpful Pharmacology Overview, April 10, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pharmacology, 3rd Edition (Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews Series) (Paperback)
LIR Pharm seems to be one of those books that everyone uses in medical school. It's really not short or quick to read at over 500 pages. But the fact that the authors keep all of the chapters at about 10-15 pages makes each one a fairly easy and digestible read. As others have already said, the greatest strength of the book by far is the excellent illustrations. I think the book is worth buying for the illustrations alone, especially since they are in color in the third edition. Also, I really loved the little cartoon people that they use for the figures that show the side effects. However, I don't think this book is detailed enough for a medical school pharmacology class. (Well, at least it wasn't for mine!) What I found to be really helpful was to read the chapter in this book first, and then read the corresponding chapter in Katzung or Goodman and Gilman.

One thing about this book annoyed me a lot, and that was the huge number of typos that are present throughout. You would think that surely by the third edition, the editors could find them all and fix them. Most of the time, the typos were merely annoying, but there was one typo on page 237 that was outright wrong. It says that danaparoid is a mixture of the sulfates of heparin, dermatan, and chondroitin, but it should be HEPARAN, dermatan, and chondroitin. Danaparoid doesn't contain heparin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pharmacology book, March 9, 2006
This review is from: Pharmacology, 3rd Edition (Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews Series) (Paperback)
It is very good at making difficult concepts easy to understand. I strongly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good book for a review, July 27, 2006
This review is from: Pharmacology, 3rd Edition (Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews Series) (Paperback)
But not a very deep insight look at drugs. Very good for side effects and used it a lot for the anti-neoplastic part of pharmacology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews: Pharmacology, March 26, 2008
This review is from: Pharmacology, 3rd Edition (Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews Series) (Paperback)
An excellent quick review. This book is stream lined, easy to comprehend and fairly good with the number of drugs covered. It should be coupled with a more comprehensive text. I would have had a much more difficult time with my Pharmacology class without it. There is not enough chemistry, but then again it is a review. Overall - well worth adding to your library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Med. student, March 13, 2008
This review is from: Pharmacology, 3rd Edition (Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews Series) (Paperback)
I used this book to prepare for my Pharmacology exam in university,it's a great book, my pharmacology course based on this book so it was very helpful.Afcourse it's not enough,for a med.student who is looking for pharmokinetic's,that's why i bought 2 books in one time: Lippincott's "Pharmacology 3th" and Katzung "Clinical pharmacology".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Pharmacology, 3rd Edition (Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews Series)
Pharmacology, 3rd Edition (Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews Series) by Mary Julia Mycek (Paperback - August 18, 2005)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.