Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The World is Ending... Got Ammo?
Coco (Daniel Hendler) and his pregnant wife Pipi (Jazmin Stuart) live in an apartment building in Argentina. They have a life pretty much like every one else. Coco is rather annoying in a lazy, have your wife do everything for you kind of way. They have the typical married couple spats. One day, they go grocery shopping together to stock up on groceries. While there, they...
Published on October 22, 2011 by Ellen P. Lafleche-christian

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad film
Phase 7 is not a horror film but what would happen if an outbreak was to happen outside and you have to stay in an apartment complex where you live and what the residents would do to each other to survive. Definitely worth checking out.
Published on November 1, 2011 by specialkrp


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The World is Ending... Got Ammo?, October 22, 2011
Coco (Daniel Hendler) and his pregnant wife Pipi (Jazmin Stuart) live in an apartment building in Argentina. They have a life pretty much like every one else. Coco is rather annoying in a lazy, have your wife do everything for you kind of way. They have the typical married couple spats. One day, they go grocery shopping together to stock up on groceries. While there, they see a huge rush of people running into the store to shop. One the way home, they see signs of chaos in the streets but they are more concerned with their petty bickering than what's really happening. They return to the building and their apartment unknowingly while the world around them falls apart. While making dinner, the phone rings and they're told to have one person go downstairs to the lobby.

When they arrive, they are told that the entire building has been quarantined because of a deadly virus that is sweeping the world. Men in hazmat suits outside the building inform them should stay in their apartments and avoid contact with neighbors. No one can leave the apartment building. As expected, some people have more or less resources stored for this emergency and no one is allowed to go out and get more food, etc. Because Coco and Pipi have just returned from the store, they have more supplies than many.

Neighbors start to turn against each other because some have food and supplies and some don't. The situation is made even worse because they have no access to internet and their phones are not working. There is one visit by the Ministry of Health who has no idea how long it will last and says people are dropping like flies.

Pipi doesn't take any of this seriously and offers out their supplies to neighbors. Coco is much more intent on taking inventory and being careful about what they have and don't have. Light bulbs burn out and they have no extras on hand. There are no razors to shave with. There is no interaction with the outside world except for television news reports of violence and crime. Speculation begins to happen as they start to become paranoid about whether or not someone in the apartment might be infected by this virus.

Coco and his neighbor Horacio band together to share supplies. Horacio shares a video that explains that Phase 7 is an attempt to control and reduce population in order to maintain the status quo. Neighbors band together to try to steal supplies and protect what's theirs and individual factions form inside the apartment building. Phase 7 is the story of what happens when chaos ensues inside the apartment building.

I think this is a fairly realistic representation about how things may happen in a real apocalypse. There are several references to Bush's speech about forging a new world order to give this an added feel of realism. The movie contains strong language and a fair amount of violence and blood. The movie is entirely in Spanish with English subtitles. Special features include deleted scenes and English dub option. If you like apocalyptic movies, I recommend you check this one out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark, but Entertaining..., July 24, 2012
Phase 7 is a survival/black comedy film. An epidemic has occurred and an apartment building is quarantined until further notice. Consequently, paranoia slowly begins to build and the tenants turn against each other. I really enjoyed Phase 7.

What did I like? The mixture of survival and dark comedy works well in this movie. I laughed plenty of times and it didn't try hard to be funny. The acting was fine, as well, and I really enjoyed the music. I personally thought it was shot very l well; particularly, I enjoyed the scene where they have a shootout at the parking garage and they only have a green glow stick to illuminate their target. By the way, although it may sound similar because of the different summaries floating around, this movie is not similar to [Rec]; they are both in Spanish and take place in apartment buildings, but those are the only similarities, in case you're wondering.

What did I dislike? The pace started to slow down towards the end, which wasn't necessary. Also, Coco and Pipi were annoying at times. Some of it was a little illogical and it doesn't use its characters to the fullest.

Overall, I recommend Phase 7. It's a dark and entertaining film. If you're interested, Phase 7 is available on Netflix Streaming as of 7/24/12.

Phase 7 has strong blood and gore. No sex or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad film, November 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Phase 7 (Amazon Instant Video)
Phase 7 is not a horror film but what would happen if an outbreak was to happen outside and you have to stay in an apartment complex where you live and what the residents would do to each other to survive. Definitely worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Paranoia, Survivalism, and the S.O.D.!, April 27, 2012
<strong>Fase 7</strong> (Nicolás Goldbart, 2011)

Any movie that opens with its protagonist wearing a Stormtroopers of Death T-shirt is pretty much guaranteed to get a pass from me. Any movie like that that's been marketed to me as a new <em>[REC]</em> I'm going to check out immediately. Now that I've watched it, I'll tell you that the <em>[REC]</em> comparison begins and ends with the conceit that the characters are quarantined in an apartment building. No zombies to be found here, folks. Not that that makes it any less watchable. In fact, I enjoyed it more than either <em>[REC]</em> entry we've gotten so far, zombies or no zombies. It's fast, witty, and a great deal of fun.

Plot: Coco (<em>The Lost Embrace</em>'s Daniel Hendler, the S.O.D. Fan) is a typical lower-middle-class layabout, a little spacey, laid-back, a "can't we all just get along?" kind of guy. He's trying to shake himself into a more connected existence, though: his wife Pipi (<em>Ciudad del Sol</em>'s Jazmín Stuart) is pregnant, and he's trying to get his head around the idea that he will soon have a kid. It doesn't seem to be working; in the opening sequence, he and Pipi are making a grocery store run, and both of them seem entirely oblivious to the fact that everyone around them is panic-buying. Once they get home, we find out why: there's a very nasty flu epidemic going around, and the government is making moves to start quarantining people. "For the flu?", I hear you asking. Well, this isn't Wayne Simmons-variety flu, but it's pretty nasty. The government has a threat-level-style infographic that pops up in PSAs, ranking the flu threat from Phase 1 to Phase 6, and as the movie starts, they've already got it jacked up to Phase 5. (Given the movie's title, it shouldn't be a spoiler that it's at Phase 6 within the first few minutes.) The govenrment goons, in biohazard suits, show up at the front door of the apartment building soon after and cover the whole place in plastic sheeting. We find out that this is a relatively new building, and there are in fact only five inhabited apartments, and the family that lives in one of those seems to have already headed for the hills. The other apartments are inhabited by Guglierini (<em>Empty Nest</em>'s Carlos Bermejo), his wife, and an older invalid, presumably his mother (both uncredited); his friend Lange (<em>Imagining Argentina</em>'s Abian Vainstein); a crazy survivalist, Horacio (TV character actor Yayo Guridi), who has taken a liking to Coco since both of them moved in; and Zanutto (Guillermo del Toro regular Federico Luppi), the head of the building's Tenant Association, the prissy guy who will do anything to preserve civility among the tenants. It isn't long before tempers fray. In fact, battle lines are being drawn before the biohazard suits have finished taping up the plastic--Guglierini and Lange are both convinced that Zanutto is out to get them, and draw up a plan to get him first, while Coco, attempting to keep the quarantine from the already stressed-out Pipi, and Horacio start taking inventory of their stuff and hunker down to wait things out. Needless to say, if they managed to do so without conflict, this would be a very short movie...

At heart, this is a movie about Coco learning to be the kind of guy who can, in fact, step up and take responsibility for his forthcoming major life changes. In movies like this, the scriptwriter and/or director often forgets that sort of thing, or shuffles it into the background in order to shoehorn in another scene full of special effects or add another subplot about how crazy the world has gotten. Goldbart, working from his own script, keeps the focus solely on Coco and the trajectories of his relationships with Horacio, Zanutto, and Pipi; we are never allowed to forget that this whole setup is here as a kind of initiation rite for Pipi. The movie's tension comes from whether he will be able to pass whatever test is in front of him, be it handling a crazy tenant with diplomacy, determining when it's safe to leave the apartment building to try and scavenge supplies, etc. It's a plausible trip, though you will likely find yourself wanting to shake some sense into Coco more than once; he does not want to give up his stoner-kid persona, and he has to be dragged into adulthood kicking and screaming. This is somewhat mitigated by Goldbart's directorial skills, which are more than competent, coupled with excellent acting by everyone involved, even if they're only in a single scene, and a haunting score by Guillermo Guareschi (<em>The Paranoids</em>). Take note of that name, you will likely be hearing it a lot more in the future.

It's a fun enough movie that I didn't even miss the zombies. *** ˝
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable flick, March 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I had seen previews of this movie and couldn't decide if I wanted to give it a try. I'm glad I did.

The story starts with a couple grocery shopping and then a flood of people enter and start grabbing everything. They make it home without knowing what was going on all around them.I don't think this was meant as a too serious End of the world film because it isn't. Some of the acting was almost over the top but over all they did a good job.

This isn't a horror story or a Rambo story. Its a simple little film of the people who live in an Apartment building who are closed off from the rest of the city because a virus is running amuck and there are deaths all over from it.

From the husband who really isn't sure of how he should act, the couple of low life neighbors who decide to take supplies from an elderly gentleman ( who happens to be a big game hunter) to the next door neighbor who appears to be ready for anything.

This is a fun little movie worth buying and watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic film, tense, and hilarious, January 3, 2012
By 
Aggressive Arms (Philadelphia, PA USA) - See all my reviews
I saw "Phase 7" last year at the Philadelphia Film Festival's "Danger After Dark," a short series of genre films. It was my favorite from that lineup and one of my favorite movies from all of last year. The plot is simple -- after the outbreak of an epidemic, a goofy, clueless young guy and his pregnant wife are quarantined inside their medium-sized apartment building -- and so are the occupants of about a half-dozen other apartments. The film is fairly low budget, but doesn't look cheap, except during the violent scenes, which is fine because a bit less realism makes it easier to swallow anyway. But I love the film for building its story on this question: What happens if the paranoid nut in the apartment next door turns out to be the best friend you could have? Coco is a lovable clown and the film is funny and gripping at the same time. Anyone who isn't turned off by reading subtitles should check it out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars MATILDA, YOUR FATHER IS A BIG..., October 15, 2011
This is an Argentine movie. I watched it in English with English subtitles. Coco and Pipi, a young couple are stocking up in the grocery store. While they are checking out, their conversation is mundane and ranges from his shirt and only buying one light bulb. Meanwhile people are in a panic, pushing carts into the store. Sirens are going off. They live in an apartment building.

As it turns out there is a deadly virus being spread throughout the world. 7 nations have been infected. When 2 people from the apartment building contract the disease, the authorities quarantine the building. The residents stay mostly in their apartments, with the men coming out at times. Horatio believes in conspiracy theories and contends the virus was created to reduce the world's population. One neighbor is sick, but does he have the disease? Two of the neighbors want to isolate him in a different apartment...oh yes he has stockpiles of food. The outside world doesn't answer their 911 calls. The neighbors form alliances and battle each other while the world outside falls apart.

Unlike "Quarantine", there are no rabid creatures. There is no real horror aspect. The English translation was smooth and natural. At times the movie is a drama and sometimes it is a dark comedy.

PARENTAL GUIDE: F-bomb, no sex or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Zombie movie without the Zombies, June 26, 2014
Funny. Great acting. Wish the subtitles were more accurate but it is one of these movies that you just relax and watch, and not try to figure stuff out. A real break from Hollywood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 3 1/2 Stars - Above average black comedy - very black, June 9, 2012
Disclaimer: I viewed this as a streaming rental and cannot comment on the audio or visual quality of this disc. My review is concerned with the entertainment value of the film only.

In this Argentinian black comedy, a young married couple - Coco and a very pregnant Pipi - are quarantined within their apartment building along with several other residents when a vicious viral plague sweeps through the city. As more and more time elapses, some of the residents begin to plot against an older neighbor - claiming at first they think he has the sickness, but then letting slip that they are after his supplies. Meanwhile, Coco is taken under the wing of the man living next door, a bizarrely well-equipped fellow named Horacio, and incrementally he begins to change from a bumbling, ill-prepared city dweller to someone who might stand a chance against the world as it is changing. Together, he and Horacio defend their territory against their murderous neighbors, but the biggest test may come when they are the only ones remaining.

As I say, this is supposedly a black comedy, and while I agree, it is extremely black, and I also think it shifts gears toward the end of the film and tries to play it straight. That detracts from the overall entertainment factor of the film, although I think that is only one of several flaws. One of which is the many plot holes in the story that don't seem quite so glaring as I'm sitting and watching, but which jump out after thinking about it later. Another is the character of Pipi, Coco's wife, who is one of those shrill, shrewish women who constantly undermine their husbands, and for whom the rule of thumb was designed.

Still, for all its faults, PHASE 7 succeeds more than it fails. There are several absurd situations that make me chuckle even as I think of them now, and one scene that utterly stunned me for a moment, it was so unexpected. I watch a lot of films, and it's rare that one can surprise me so completely. If you are a fan of apocalyptic films, especially those that concentrate on a small group struggling to survive in cramped quarters - and don't mind subtitles - then I'd say PHASE 7 is for you. It isn't the best movie you'll ever see following that script, but it ain't bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty funny and pretty run of the mill, January 17, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Phase 7 (Amazon Instant Video)
The movie is worth a rental. There is some suspense and there are some laughs. All in all though the movie is quite forgettable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Phase 7
Phase 7 by Nicolás Goldbart
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.