Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phil Collins at his best!
For the long time fan of Phil Collins' solo work, this Blu-ray is a collection of his best music from over thirty years. For the music fan who happens to like some of his solo work, get this! Phil is at his best performance, opening with a drum solo that only he can get away with. The entire 2 hours, 16 min. of this concert took me back to seeing him perform live on...
Published on March 29, 2012 by Kathy

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Terrible audio mix
Im giving this disc a 3 stars review mainly based on the quality of the audio mix... the engineer on this show must have been drunk or something. In the first song (something happened on the way to heaven) the horns are barely hearable which is ridiculous considering they are one of the most important parts of this song, then on "Against all Odds", Amy Keys starts singing...
Published on June 14, 2012 by Diego A Massanti


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phil Collins at his best!, March 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Phil Collins: Live at Montreux 2004 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
For the long time fan of Phil Collins' solo work, this Blu-ray is a collection of his best music from over thirty years. For the music fan who happens to like some of his solo work, get this! Phil is at his best performance, opening with a drum solo that only he can get away with. The entire 2 hours, 16 min. of this concert took me back to seeing him perform live on this tour. Phil didn't rely on digital enhancements to his voice, what you hear is him, voice cracks and all. The backing band and vocals bring a full and rich sound to the music, compared to performances of his earlier tours. One case in point, In the Air Tonight would start out with the drum machine; this concert, the buildup to that ever familiar drone of the drum machine was simply foreplay. Watching this, it's sad that the man will never tour again. Enjoy your retirement, Phil. You've earned it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Terrible audio mix, June 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Phil Collins: Live at Montreux 2004 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Im giving this disc a 3 stars review mainly based on the quality of the audio mix... the engineer on this show must have been drunk or something. In the first song (something happened on the way to heaven) the horns are barely hearable which is ridiculous considering they are one of the most important parts of this song, then on "Against all Odds", Amy Keys starts singing and the mic is off for like 10 seconds, etc. This show is full of audio engineering mistakes and problems and the overall sound quality is far from Good. Other than that the disc is great as a casual watching, but do not expect this Blu Ray to amaze you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Phil Collins is great, audio isn't, March 31, 2012
By 
HLN (Orlando, FL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Phil Collins: Live at Montreux 2004 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I am so disappointed in this BD. The DTS-MA audio is terrible. Sounded like a very bad mix. The audio engineer may have taken a nap during the show. The post production for the audio is just unacceptable. The drum mix is just flat with no punch at all, especially the opening sequence where 3 drummers were going at it. In a live concert, in my opinion, the kick drum is so very important; it needs to be punchy and felt in your chest and stomach. If it is flat, it drags the whole show down with it. Maybe I am a bit technical since I know a thing or two about mixing and drums, but I cannot recommend this BD to anyone. No wonder it is $16 dollars. Phil, I cannot believe you would release such a bad mix BD and you are one of the great drummers. I still enjoy the mega hits show. An example of a good drum mix BD is Toto, Falling Between The Lines concert. That drummer and the sound that came out of that kit, is fantastic. Hit Man David Foster and Friends (the first BD) is another example of a great mix for concert BD. Just my 2 cents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it is impressive !!! , A must have, February 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Phil Collins: Live at Montreux 2004 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I follow Phil Collins since "Selling England by a pound" when he and Genesis were pioneers in the rock progressive era.I was thirteen, and a week-end a good friend of mine brougth a strange record named only Jazz-Rock and another of a British band called Genesis ,the rest is history, Two years later I was in my first Jazz-rock Concert: Blood Sweat & Tears in Caracas. That night I heard for my very first time Spain from Chic Corea performed like a masterpiece by BS&T. Today I have to say that the emotion that I felt when I watched this Blu ray have brougth me back those moments when I was teenager .Phil I was in your concert in 2000 something in Puerto Rico and 20,000 plus of your fans, and The second best concert in my life ...The third best was Iron maiden en vivo in 2011

Iron Maiden: En Vivo! [Blu-ray]

Ok....If you buy this Blu ray you're getting 2 masterpieces, that's the reason of my intro . First 1996 concert is a refill of the 2004, but really is the best performance of both . It is extraordinary that a concert played in 480p resolution but with a soundtrack in DTS-hd master audio 5.1 has such perfect sound. This is a Extraordinary Big Band jazz-rock concert that brings back a summary of almost the best of the best Phil's career .My favorite track: "los endos" has everything to be called a MASTERPIECE . Five Stars. Please don't skip any track, everything is perfect.

I love the direction of Quincy Jones, David Sanbourn "special" sax, the Daryl's guitar, and Luis Conte percussion. Please somebody in Eagle vision : If this performance was recorded in HD, remake it in 1080 .it would be wonderful. "Merci beaucoup"...

Now 2004 .....drums , drums and more drums a incredible openning and the most impressive HD 1080p resolution and excellent DTS-HD master audio 5.1. everything else is almost perfect:The best "easy lover",separate lives","in the air tonight""true colors", You can't hurry love" & "two hearts"... Another 5 Stars.

Update: about the sound failures or "engineering problems::

Choice 1: try conecting your BD player direct to your receiver via hdmi, and to get video and sound in the Tv a hdmi cable from receiver output to TV input, then in menu disc use the alternative DTS hd master audio .
I tested and the quality is excellent.

Choice 2: Try conecting your BD player to you HDTV via HDMI and then from your tv to your receiver via a fiber optic cable or Toslink.
Set the option DTS HD master audio in the menu audio of the disc. the sound is Beautiful.

Your sound will depend in this Disc and any other concert from the quality of your receiver and speakers. My test was conducted in both Scenarios to be sure that I was ok to write my technical update.
Both tests were performed with an Onkyo 7.1 tx SR605, one Infinity video one center channel, 4 front & surround Jamo speakers, 2 rear Polk Audio bookshelf type, a 1 Parasound subwoofer and a "Ëpsilon" subwoofer powerwed by a Rotel amp.

Video sources used:

choice 1

Sony BDP-S590 3D Blu-ray Disc Player with Wi-Fi (Black)

choice 2

Samsung BD-D5500 3D Blu-ray Disc Player (Black) [2011 MODEL]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars five stars for the big band concert, the one that Phil plays drums for the ENTIRE performance!, September 26, 2012
By 
Jason P. Pumphrey "the movie & music man" (Falls Church, Virginia United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Phil Collins: Live at Montreux 2004 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
When I heard this was gonna have his Montreux big band performance from 1996 (cunducted by legend Quincy Jones no less!), I knew this would be in my concert collection!

This concert truly shows what incredible drummer Phil Colline really it, he uses sticks, brushes, and tympani mallets druring the show.

A true fact is Phil can't read music, but another drum legend (the late Buddy Rich), could'nt either.

As for the other concert from 2004, it's not bad, but Phil only drums on few tracks and lets Chester Thompson do most of the drum duties.

Here's the track listing for the 1996 big band concert, Phil plays drums on ALL tracks on this concert:

Two Hearts
That's All
In The Air Tonight (guest, David Sandborn (originally a member of The Buttefield Blues Band) on sax)
Invisible Touch
West Side
Against All Odds
There'll Be Some Changes Made (guest, the legendary Tony Bennett)
Milestones
The Los Endos Suite (drum/percussion solo)
Always
Do Nothing 'Til You Hear From Me
Sussudio

any fan of big band should enjoy this concert!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great concert. Sound engineer could've been better, July 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Phil Collins: Live at Montreux 2004 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a great concert to own. It is well worth the price. The only complaint I can come up with is one shared by others on this product. The sound engineer must've been asleep during the concert or when putting together this disc. Volume of the horns is poor on "Something Happened on the Way to Heaven" and could be better throughout. Otherwise, this is a great concert and Phil Collins provides masterful entertainment as always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Same concert, different cover, March 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Phil Collins: Live at Montreux 2004 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I bought this hoping to hear something new, but it is really the same concert as Paris concert. Whatever "big band" new stuff as advertised is not there. Phil is always great, just didn't need two concerts with different names and same content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing audio video experience, December 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Phil Collins: Live at Montreux 2004 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
1080p video is clear and sharp. Data HD-Master audio is perfect. I'm not a live recordings fun, but performances like this one are better than studio ones. This blueray is a must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Video is fine, what happened to audio?, June 5, 2012
By 
John L Herring (Suwanee, GA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Phil Collins: Live at Montreux 2004 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I already own "Phil Collins: Finally - The First Farewell Tour" on DVD. I was hoping to get an improved experience on both video and audio considering "Phil Collins: Live at Montreux 2004 [Blu-ray]" is Blu-ray and contains DTS-MA. Although I'm happy with the viedo improvment, the audio of LPCM and mix of DTS-MA is pretty severly flawed. The LPCM seems very "compressed" in that bass has little "punch" at all and highs somewhat attenuated. The surrounds on the DTS-MA seem to be about -1dB to -2dB off from where they should be. In other words, it almost sounds like just a stereo mix and using a simulated surround setting on the A/V reciever (I verified I'm using direct bit stream decoded by the A/V reciever and no post processing. My system is calibrated using a quality sound meter and Avia calibration disk so, the reference levels for the speakers are set properly). If they would just redo the audio, maybe drop the LPCM from the disk to allow more room for DTS-MA and then remix the DTS-MA I would give it 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Phil Collins: Live at Montreux 2004 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Perfect entertainment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Phil Collins: Live at Montreux 2004 [Blu-ray]
Phil Collins: Live at Montreux 2004 [Blu-ray] by Phil Collins (Blu-ray - 2012)
$19.98 $13.13
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.